We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koh Tao Star Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Star Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Penthouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed in Alan and Heidi's beautiful penthouse on our first trip to koh Tao and every trip after will be spent here. Unfortunately we only stayed for 3 nights and this was nowhere near long enough. If your thinking about staying here than look no further because you shall not find anywhere that comes close to the service you will receive here. As you have probably read in other reviews Alan and Heidi are lovely and offer a great service along with beautiful apartments and amazing view! We have recommended to friends and hopefully will be returning in the near future

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstyrichie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
137
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We have just left Koh Tao, satisfied that we did indeed find the best accommodation on the island! Heidi and Alan have created something so lovely, stylish and comfortable and nothing is too much trouble for them. If anyone has any doubts about the location, forget them! You will not have a more unique place to stay with views that are breathtaking! And Alan and Heidi provide transfers up and down the hill (and taxis are available) Everything they recommended to us proved just right, from the days we spent at Tanote Bay, snorkelling and relaxing, to the dive outfit, Roctopus, to the brilliant restaurant hints... our 5 days were perfect!! Thank you both. We hope that we can return in the not-so-distant future! Steve and I still haven't got over the pastry with candle for Steve's birthday, and our delicious cake for our anniversary... SO kind!!! You made these celebrations so much more special.
By the way, have a look at the website, it is informative and honest...and it was lovely to turn up and find everything looked exactly like the pics there! Rarely have i enjoyed spending time in our accommodation, rather than it just being a place to lay our heads.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jax_46Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Koh Tao star villa has an amazing view over the sea at sunset. The rooms are very clean, with nice design and lots of amenities (i.e. tv and films from all over the world). The hotel is situated on top of a hill so the beach is not immediately accessible, however Alan and Heidi generously provide 2 taxis a day to the beach. We had a really great stay and felt very welcome by Alan and Heidi who really go out of their way to make their guests feel at home.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody, and if we're lucky enough to return to koh Tao we will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I just spent a few nights with Alan and Heidi (March 2013) and can't wait for the next time I have a chance to do so again. The villa is immaculately kept, spacious, and with all the amenities you need. With the stunning view of the ocean overlooking Sairee beach, I had a hard time motivating myself to get off the porch and down to the beach, it would have been easy to just enjoy the view and quiet villa setting my entire time on the island. But what I appreciated most was Alan and Heidi's welcoming spirit and feeling like they were genuinely happy to have me as their guest. Riding around in the back of the truck pretending to be a local expat, talking about life on the island, and meeting some of their friends over a dinner out in the town really rounded out what will be an unforgettable experience. Thanks again Alan and Heidi. I hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickGault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed at the Star Villa for 6 nights in Feb 2013. We were very happy with our choice and enjoyed a great level of service from Alan and Heidi, the British expats who own and run the villa. We decided not to stay near the busy seafront on Tao in order to get away from it all, but were also keen to be close enough to Sairee village in order to undertake our open water diving course during our stay. The Star Villa offers the best of both worlds - it's less than a 5 min drive from the centre of the village, yet is up in the hills in the very centre of Tao, surrounded by jungle on all sides. The view from our balcony was fantastic, with a panorama all the way down to the sea - it proved to be a great position for watching sunsets. The location of the villa allows to you to feel completely secluded from the crowds in the town, while only being a short drive away (which Alan and Heidi are more than happy to make for you a couple of times each day).

We stayed in one of the apartments, which consisted of a living room/kitchen, bedroom and bathroom. The accommodation was clean and well stocked; the bed was comfy and and there was plenty of hot water in the bathroom. There was a media hard drive in the living room with literally hundreds of movies and TV shows available, so there is no chance of getting bored of an evening. We found that we didn't use the kitchen as we had originally planned as there are a number of pretty good restaurants in Sairee village who will deliver up to the villa. The accommodation was very quiet, and we hardly noticed the other occupants in the neighbouring flat and penthouse above.

English breakfast options were served on the balcony from Alan and Heidi and were consistently hearty. They made us feel extremely welcome during our stay, and we were constantly impressed by their flexibility for giving us lifts up and down the hill, which made getting to other places on the island very easy. Alan also picked us up from the ferry pier when we arrived, which eliminated the need to get a taxi upon arrival. We were provided with a local mobile throughout our stay which allowed us to update Alan and Heidi of our plans whenever needed. We were given lots of recommendations from them as well with regard to eating out, planning our days and selecting a diving school (we chose Roctopus, which we can also highly recommended - conveniently located right at the bottom of the hill which Star Villa sits on). Star Villa made our stay while we were on Tao, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again upon returning to the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJBCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our travels through Loas and Thailand saw us staying (a group of 5) in a number of villas and hotels, however it was only when we stayed at Koh Tao Star Villa that we realised what we had been missing out on! Everything was perfect. Alan and Heidi were in close contact with us before we had even arrived, which made our arrival really smooth and stress free. During our stay everything was 10/10 - felt like a second home and Alan and heidi more like friends helping us out. Being experienced locals, Alan and heidi are really well connected on the island and offered unparalleled advice on anything and everything Koh Tao. My only regret about going to Koh Tao is not staying longer at Koh Tao Star VIlla. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yiiimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our stay at Koh Tao Star Villa was the highlight of our 3 week holiday in Thailand. We only booked for 3 nights planning to move on to Koh Phangan and Koh Samui before returning back to the UK. We liked it that much that after only being there for perhaps 3 hours we were enquiring if we could stay for the remainder of our holiday. Sadly they had no availability but they were very helpful in assisting us find and plan alternative accomodation for the remainder of our trip.

All in all Koh Tao Star Villa is a fantastic place to stay. Allan and Heidi are excellent hosts. They are very friendly and provide you with all the facillities and information you require to have a fantastic time on Koh Tao.

Me and my partner have reccomended their place to several of our friends back home who are planning to visit Koh Tao in the future and we ourselves are certian to return as Koh Tao was the favourite of the islands we visited and a large part of that was down to the wonderful service Allan and Heidi provided.

Thanks

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnW1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 137 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Star Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Star Villa

Property: Koh Tao Star Villa
Address: 11/18 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Star Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the jungle clad hills above Sairee Beach, Koh Tao Star Villa offers unique accommodation on Koh Tao. spacious, modern, fully furnished apartmens with western standard bathrooms all designed with the ecology of the island in mind. Enjoy beautiful sunsets from your terrace and enjoy free use of our games room and BBQ area. And this very peacful setting, is only 3-4 minutes by bike or ATV from the centre of Sairee Beach - truely a great combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Star Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing