We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Koh Tao Star Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koh Tao Star Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Alan and Heidi are two of the best hosts I've come across in my travels. They are extremely helpful and can tell you where to go, what to do, and also invite you to goings-on when there's fun to be had. On our first meeting, Alan came and picked me up from my temporary lodging and carried my bags up to the apartment. On the trip down to rent a bike we took the long way and he pointed out the various places and things I could do on the island. During my stay I would see Alan and Heidi and have nice conversations with them about what went on during the day or things I could check out later.

The property itself is beautiful. It is elevated on a hill and faces the ocean which makes for fantastic views. It is immaculate, cleaned every day, and has all the amenities you would need. In fact, Alan put in an awesome stereo and entertainment system which allows you to watch almost any movie/show/music you want. It's quiet, clean, and a great place to relax after you've been diving all day.

They provide a cell phone for your stay in case you have any issues. Also, Alan will drive you to and from town if you're just doing some scuba training.

PRO TIP: Visit their website. It has most of the information you will need if you're looking into staying here. IF you are doing more than just scuba, I suggest you rent a bike. HOWEVER, you must, absolutely, positively be comfortable driving up and down steep inclines as the property is on a hill. We're talking greater than 45 degrees.

You will have an amazing stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
137
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had stayed in 5 star hotels in different areas of the world and Star Villa is by far my favorite place. Heidi and Alan's services and their attention to details won me over. They give you a cell phone to use during your stay, they have a brilliant set up for tv and music entertainment and their humor made dinner so fun. As for location, there really can't be better than this place. I think one of the most beautiful views on the island. There are a lot of stairs but it kept us in shape. The rooms are huge and its very clean. We will be staying here again, for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ddeen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Myself and my boyfriend visited Koh Tao for two nights which certainly wasn't long enough. Not only did we want to spend longer at this incredible and beautiful island, but also because we wanted to spend longer at Star villa. The owners Alan and Heidi could not do enough to help us. They picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry port and provided regular taxis into the town centre as the villa location is quite remote. However, this isn't a problem as they can take you where you like and provide you with a phone and taxi number in case they aren't available. The remote location was due to the fact the villas are located within the mountains. The steep 5 minute drive up narrow lanes is an experience in itself and extremely worth it when you reach the top for the spectacular views. Alan and Heidi were also keen to show us great places on the island and invited us to eat out with them, other guests and their friends. They cater to your every need and breakfast is ready and brought to the balcony whenever you like.
The villa itself is clean, well decorated and comfortable. It is also kitted out with wifi, surround sound and a movie database. You don't need to leave the apartment!!!
What a stunning villa with gorgeous views and wonderful hosts. Visiting is a must - we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We returned to Koh Tao and Star Villa for a second time and loved it just as much as the first. Whilst this time was an entirely different holiday to our first stay, our honeymoon, this time we travelled with our toddler!!

Returning to Heidi and Alan's accommodation was like returning to see friends. Heidi and Alan are never far away should you need anything, they are so generous with their time to ensure everything is as you like it, it really is their wish that you have the best holiday on Koh Tao.

Star Villa does not usually allow children under 10 I think it was but made an exception for our 17 month old. The accommodation as described by Heidi and Alan isn't toddler friendly but they did all they could to make it that way and Harley certainly had fun charging around the balcony after their dogs!

This place is a little piece of paradise on Koh Tao, close enough to all amenities on the back of a bike (unless you are fit, getting down the hill is steep but easy, coming back up requires a degree of fitness). We feel that this only adds to the charm of Star Villa, set in stunning surroundings full of trees and looking out on to the beautiful ocean.

Our favourite time of day was when we'd put our baby to bed and we got to relax on the beautiful balcony with a G and T watching the amazing sunsets!

We cannot recommend Star Villa enough, to us there are no negatives. Heidi and Alan will be about as little or as much as you would like, you will love the seclusion of this place and whilst there isn't a pool, the ocean with so many beaches to chose from is just crying out to be explored.

We had actually booked a second apartment as we wanted to have half the holiday on lower ground purely with our toddler in mind. On seeing this other accommodation complete with pool we decided immediately to extend our stay at Star Villa despite having to pay for both. We felt that the view from the balcony at Star Villa couldn't be competed with!

Thank you again Heidi and Alan for your beautifully thought out 'Star Villa' and for your kindness and generosity in both our stays, we hope to see you again, this time without our toddler!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happywanderingHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I spent a excellent time there with my wife during our honeymoon. We rent the penthouse for 2 nights. room's big, VERY CLEAN, and the AC worked fine. In summary, Everything is good!!

For services, It's our first time visit thailand, Alan and Heidi are good and professional, especially the breakfast, though it's not included in room rate, but it's good, very good.

I must say it's the top level villa in koh tao.

something bad? NO! If I must say something bad, there's only one suggestion that please don't hold the customers' passport, for insurance, passport copy or cash is ok:)

in the end, say thanks to Alan and Heidi again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My partner and I stayed at Koh Tao Star Villa in January. We had been in a 5 star resort in Ko Samui previously and believe it or not preferred Alan & Heidi's place to stay.

We loved the ride in the jeep and Alan and Heidi couldn't have done enough for us.

We were so pleased with this gem of a place that we even asked if there was any chance we could stay longer and cancel our next pit stop but unfortunately they were fully booked (and I'm not surprised).

I will be recommending Koh Tao Star Villa to any of my family or friends who are thinking of visiting Koh Tao as they could not have been more hospitable and the rooms were very spacious and had everything needed.

If you are going with children or elderly persons then this is not the place for you but for everyone else, don't be put off by the fact you can't walk to the beach - it's much safer than any other accommodation we came across and Alan gives you a mobile phone on arrival and pretty much acts as your very own personal chauffeur :)

Thank you so much - your villa really made our trip what it was - amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just come back to the UK after a fantastic 6night stay at the Koh Star Villa. I travelled with my husband and friend and we rented out the Penthouse apartment. Prior to leaving for Thailand, We kept in touch with Alan, who was super quick to reply to all my questions. We had never visited Thailand before, so it was all new to us. They were at the port with a sign with our names on, ready to great us. The Penthouse apartment is quite something, you feel like you are up in a tree house. The view is very special and we have great memories of just sitting out on the terrace, watching the boats with a couple of beers. The fridge was always stocked up for us, meaning we didn't have to bring water up from the town every day. It was absolutely immaculate, and had everything we needed to make us feel at home. I think we ordered breakfast nearly every day, bacon omelettes with beans, excellent!! We had a mobile phone with the villa which proved very handy for getting about the island. We used Bon's taxi services for getting to all the beaches and bringing us back up to the villa at night.
Alan and Heidi are perfect hosts, very friendly and down to earth. They did everything to make our stay comfortable and were always on hand for advice on where to eat and visit. The free lifts down to Sairee were brilliant. We would stand on the back of their jeep, ducking under the palms and power lines as we travelled down the bumpy road. We actually looked foreword to it every morning! The dogs were another highlight, they would waltz in un announced when we opened the doors and plonk themselves on the floor next to the dining table. I really missed my dog back home, so we loved having them around the grounds.

One of the other things we lived about Koh star Villa was their green credentials. If you believe you can go through life being wasteful, then Koh Tao is not the place for you. Watch your water usage, recycle everything and don't use the lights and aircon if you aren't in the room, pretty simple stuff and not a "draconian rule" at all.

We absolutely loved our stay on Koh Tao, it's a very beautiful island with a special feel; Heidi, Alan and the dogs are the cherry on top. Can't wait to come back as a group of 8 next year and hire out the whole building! Thank you for the incredible stay, Kylie, Tom and Tom :)

Room Tip: Penthouse is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indimaguire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Star Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Star Villa

Property: Koh Tao Star Villa
Address: 11/18 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 138 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Star Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the jungle clad hills above Sairee Beach, Koh Tao Star Villa offers unique accommodation on Koh Tao. spacious, modern, fully furnished apartmens with western standard bathrooms all designed with the ecology of the island in mind. Enjoy beautiful sunsets from your terrace and enjoy free use of our games room and BBQ area. And this very peacful setting, is only 3-4 minutes by bike or ATV from the centre of Sairee Beach - truely a great combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Star Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing