We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden pearl close to the center but on a very beautiful quiet hill!!”
Review of Koh Tao Star Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Star Villa
Certificate of Excellence
South Holland Province, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden pearl close to the center but on a very beautiful quiet hill!!”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed in Koh Tao Star Villa in december 2013 and were there for Xmas. The positive reviews lived up to our expectations! We had a really good time and the hosts Heidi and Alan run the villa with their hearts...and together with several lovely animals from 'the hood'. The villa is luxurious and beautiful, a real nice place to relax and it has a great view. The hosts give you good advice where to go and where to eat. And they drive you up and down the hill in their fourwheel drive, a really cool ride! If you plan to go to Koh Tao, go to the Star Villa!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olof1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
139
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a family of 4 with two teenage daughters. The jewel of Koh Toa welcomed us with amazing hospitality from Heidi and Allan. The penthouse was superbly finished with all the amenities one could wish for. Our hosts ensured we went to the best hidden gems on the island and arranged or fetched us when ever we required their assistance.

We can not recommend Star Villa highly enough as it provides everything that you'd wish for on a relaxing holiday including superb views and facilities. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KHD_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This place is absolut 5 star! Awesome view and Heidi and Alan (owners) are perfect hosts to give you 'the island experience' you are looking for. They even provide you with a Phone and carservice.

Warm regards,

Nathalie & Michael (Netherlands)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michaellippens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Have stayed at star villa before. We had such a great time and service before,we thought we would go back. It was sooooo nice to see it was just how we remembered it..stunning!! little bit of luxury in the middle of the jungle! and still with such great standards and the very friendly,helpful staff/owners,who care so much about the island. Nothing is ever too much trouble for them (heidi and alan), They realy made us feel like part of the family and at home. The little extras provided always adds to the stay,free taxis twice a day are great, provided us with the mobile phones to call them with. Beach towels are also provided on request.Great take away book is provided,we sampled lots of local resaurants and all very tasty. The games room provided us with lots of entertainment to pass the time while we waited for the rain to pass and relaxed. We also like to use the sun loungers on the balcony,the view never gets boreing. There are steps up to the villa,but there we re also many lovely things we have seen while walking up them, wild life and plants etc. We always seem to take lots of pictures while we are staying at the villa.The rooms are exactly as you see them on the website. Drinking water provided and you can purchase alcoholic drinks on site. A washing service is also provided. We enjoy the island so much when we holiday there,but this place always tops it off..quality in every way.

Room Tip: we have stayed in the pent house before and this was just lovely. We stayed in a smaller appartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingnut_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We booked the whole villa for 8 adults and a child. During the total 2 days stay, the host Heidi and Alan showed us how a wonderful holiday can be. The villa, somelike a english-tai mixed style country villa, was well built and decorated. It is so warm and comfortable, we feel like stay in our relatives' house.

The host are really helpful. Besides the on-call free shuttle for two times a day, they also provide beach towels, hair dryer, oven and low-price drinkings including beers and wines. They collected a food delivery information book and provide us a local-call mobile phone which has been installed their number and driver's number. These all helped us a lot.

We were not so lucky to see the sunset and the wind was real big. All this didn't harm the environment, we really enjoyed sitting in the corridor drinking a cup of tea and doing nothing.

It's so grateful for the host to bulit such a nice place and we are lucky of choosing here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

if you are looking for a good place that is peacful and away from all the "hordes", this is the place for you! a quiet place with lovley people and very nice owners... thank you very much for a wonderfull stay Alan & Heidi!!!

Sigmund, Dvorah & Moshe

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the-one-who-got-away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Koh Tao Star Villa is located on the island of Koh Tao, around 2 hours by ferry from Koh Samui. We were met at the jetty by Alan & Heidi, the owners .
The villa is located on the hillside above Sairee Beach. It’s quite a climb to the Penthouse where we stayed - I counted around 36 stairs - but the view from the top is spectacular.
The penthouse is spacious and the living room and each of its two bedrooms room has a television with a media player providing endless movie and television channels which can come in handy for the children during wet weather. It is decorated in an eclectic European style. One bedroom has an ensuite bathroom and there is another bathroom. Each bedroom has a queen bed, air conditioning and ceiling fan. The beds have sheets but no blankets are supplied so it’s recommended to use the fan at night as it can get chilly in the mornings. It would have been preferable to have twin beds for our older boys but we found that most accommodation places are the same and offer a second room with a queen bed share. On saying that, we were given the option of a fold out bed for an extra 400 Baht per night if we wanted. The kitchen is well equipped with a full size fridge and everything that is required for preparing meals, although there are home delivery options from local restaurants and Heidi and Alan are able to provide you with breakfast. We can recommend Heidi’s omelette if you would like breakfast delivered to your villa.
On arrival Alan ran through a list of instructions and numerous ‘rules’ for the villa including the need to be careful with the use of water and electricity. Alan and Heidi are very particular about the upkeep of the property and the villa is immaculately clean and tidy. This is in some ways is refreshing, but on occasion it was a little little hard to relax knowing that the villa had to be kept a certain way and fearful that we would be (gently) scolded if we forgot to turn lights off or secure the latch on the folding doors. There is a pool table at the property available for the use of guests, but this had to keep it covered when not in use and the pool balls had to be put away in a box each time. When our 11 year old forgot to do this a couple of times, this lead to further unease with Alan and threats of banning him from playing for the rest of the trip.
A mobile phone is provided to you for contacting Heidi and Alan should you require assistance with anything. Free taxi service is offered to Sairee Beach and return, twice daily but it is excluding meal times 6.30pm to 8.30pm as this is their own dinner time. Alan suggested we get a motorbike which he organised with a local dealer and it was a fantastic idea. Great for going on small trips to the shop if you forget something. There is also alternative transport in taxis for 300 Baht per trip. We used a taxi driver named Goh on a regular basis. He was so helpful and reliable every time we needed to go anywhere. He can also help arrange a long tail boat trips or a fishing boat for the day. Ask him where he gets his Samosa’s, they are very good!
In summary, the Penthouse at Koh Tao Star Villa is a well equipped, and comfortable place to stay, with a peaceful feel and beautiful outlook. It is suitable for two adult couples or families with quiet, very well-behaved kids. We wouldn’t recommend it for families with boisterous children.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxjax1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanCassarKohTao, Owner at Koh Tao Star Villa, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to write such a comprehensive review.

You are 100% correct; Star Villa is a peaceful, quiet place away from the hub hub of Sairee beach. Indeed we pride ourselves on offering such a retreat with excellent accommodation and service, and we try our best to provide this same environment to all our guests. As such, we would agree with you wholeheartedly that Star Villa is suitable for adults or ‘families with quiet, well-behaved kids’, it is not very well suited for ‘families with boisterous children’ or ‘high energy’ children as you described your boys to me whilst you were here. This is one reason why we feel that Star Villa is not suitable for children under the age of 10 – we considered this to be a suitable threshold.

Regarding the pool table (and indeed all the facilities on offer in our games room); we try to provide all our guests with the same experience. To that end, we ask a very simple thing: please leave the equipment as you found it – we like to think that this is not a difficult request. This also helps to instantly identify if anything is missing as happened once when one of the pool balls went missing after your lads had been playing pool unsupervised. Obviously they did not return the balls to the proper place and therefore did not realise that they had lost one of them (mmmmm…) and indeed still denied knowledge of it afterwards. We were very disappointed that we had to intervene and threaten them with this course of action – it was not really our place to do so, but on behalf of our other guests, we had no choice. Also, it worked!! So then they continued to enjoy using the pool table for the rest of their stay. The normal minimum age to use the pool table is 16.

It would seem that the natural cooling elements of our design may have been working too well whilst you were staying with us – for this we apologise. You must understand though that for most visitors to Koh Tao being hot is the issue, not being cold. That said, we always tell our guests on more than a few occasions – ‘if you need anything, please ask’ or ‘is there anything else you need?’ If you had asked us for blankets, we would have been more than happy to provide them to you.

For the benefit of future guests, we would just like to say that the beds in the Penthouse are king-sized not queen-sized.

Yes, our apologies for the slightly long ‘customer orientation’ or ‘intro’ to your apartment. We have tried to skip this in the past but guests end up missing out on so much and spend a lot of time working out how to do things, when a simple show and tell covers everything they may need to know. Our gentle reminders to keep the glass doors pegged back help to prevent the doors slamming shut (or open) in a strong wind which can result (as it did just recently) in the glass breaking. Fortunately on this occasion the glass shop had stock of the coloured glass so were able to replace it the next day. But sometimes this is not the case. And I am sure you would rather spend your hard earned money on yourselves than on replacement glass.

Thank you again for staying with us and we are glad you enjoyed your Koh Tao holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,468 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Star Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Star Villa

Property: Koh Tao Star Villa
Address: 11/18 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Star Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the jungle clad hills above Sairee Beach, Koh Tao Star Villa offers unique accommodation on Koh Tao. spacious, modern, fully furnished apartmens with western standard bathrooms all designed with the ecology of the island in mind. Enjoy beautiful sunsets from your terrace and enjoy free use of our games room and BBQ area. And this very peacful setting, is only 3-4 minutes by bike or ATV from the centre of Sairee Beach - truely a great combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Star Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing