We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in Koh Tao”
Review of Koh Tao Star Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Tao Star Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Koh Tao was the final stage of our Honeymoon in Thailand and it was an amazing place!
Alan kept us well informed about our stay in advance of our arrival and was there to pick us up from the Ferry.

On arrival at the Villa, our appartment had been decorated with flowers and balloons which was fantatstic. The villa itself, is high spec with all mod cons and is a comfortable hideaway within walking distance of the beach (take a 4x4 at night). The fridge is well stocked with every drink imaginable and the kitchen it equipped with all utensils you'd expect at home. The view from the patio terrace was breath taking which made the sunsets even more special on this beautiful island. Our only regret was not spending more time at the villa.

Alan and Heidi provided all the information we needed to explore the island and were excellent guides. We sampled the finest Thai cuisine, snorkelled in an isolated beach spot and chilled out together later on Sairee beach watching the fire dancers. We also met a fantastic couple staying in the other appartment who we also met up and socialised with.

What can we say apart from thanks a lot guys

Bal n Mandy
Manchester
UK

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here in April amidst the chaos of volcanic ash clouds and riots which was surely forgotten. Even before our stay we knew our stay here was going to be a good one as the communication we received was second to none, Alan was very courteous, prompt and considerate when helping us with our plans which had to be changed due to the flights cancellations in Europe.

When we arrived Heidi and Alan picked us up from the pier, shown us where, what, who and how, pretty much a tour guide in itself. We were asked what we wanted to get out of our holiday and how they can help us acheive our desired outcome, which we certainly did. One particular recommendation by the lovely couple was to visit their friend Dave who worked at the Sairee Hut Scuba Dive centre on Sairee beach, we did the Open water diving course. It was an excellent recommendation, Dave was an ace instructor and a pleasure to talk to, it was amazing and would certainly advise you to do the same, get it filmed too.

Accommodation itself was superb, top rate, like brand new, top of the range fixtures and fittings, good fans and air con, nice shower, fridges topped up, every service available and a beautiful sunset. Just a little walk away from the beach and local amenities which lost it a star, this however is also a positive as its very peaceful and quiet.

We loved our stay, and thank you both very much. x x

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryD-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed for a week at the beginning of May and Alan and Heidi couldn't have been more helpful; meeting us at the ferry and helping to sort out rental bikes and our diving. Their recommendations were always excellent and we both had a great time - even though time flew by. Would have loved to have stayed for longer and still smiling as I write this review. You can stay in places closer to the beach in Koh Tao (it's about 4mins to the beach by motorbike), but then you would miss out on breathtaking sunsets from the balconies and being able to relax any time you feel like it. Being out on the dive boats and being able to point out "the big villa on the hill" as where you are staying was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Good73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

This place is the most amazing place in Koh Tao!, Most amazing place in Thailand!, may be the most amazing place in the WORLD!

The hosts-Alan and Heidi are genuinely the nicest people we have ever met. They went above and beyond what you would expect at a hotel/resort.
Heidi had told us that anytime we needed anything we just head up stairs to their place, not once did we feel uncomfortable doing this. (so we were there EVERY night having a drink & watching the sunset haha)

We got to the villa, had a chat with them on our gorgeous balcony and they hooked us up straight away with our dive instructor.
It was unfortunate we did spend more time at the villa, as we were diving everyday.

We got the 1 bedroom apartment for 3 nights that is extremley well priced (especially for a home away from home) .
The most important thing about a hotel-we think is for it to be clean-The apartment is totally spotless.!
Another good thing we found, is that during the night if we had all the windows opened we didn't have to use the air conditioning at all! the breeze is wonderful!


I could go on and on about all the good things about this property, at the end of the day, you really have to see it to believe it yourself!

If, you go to Koh Tao, Alan & Heidi's place is a MUST STAY!

We try to come to Thailand every year, Koh Tao Star Villas will be on our itinerary every year we are back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ertanksusanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2010

It's hard to list all the great things about this place. Let's start with the owners Alan & Heidi: these people are wonderful. Never have I met such enthusiasm in helping and making a guests stay memorable. Everything was perfect, and if something was missing, these guys would make it happen. All in all we felt more like visiting a second home than a hotel.

The rooms are nice: a good TV with plenty of channels, great AC with low noise level, but still efficient, kitchenette has everything you need and last but not least: the view is absolutely breathtaking both in day- and nighttime. Also the huge space makes living here very comfortable.

The island itself is a lovely place. Propably the best snorkeling- / diving waters we've visited. Wonderful local food on the island (krua thai, kayam, su chili, all in Sairee village).

We will surely visit this place again, the sooner the better.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

In a beautiful setting this is certainly one of the nicest spots. The view was simply awesome.

We traveled through Thailand for two weeks and the Koh Tao Star Villa was the last spot we stayed at. It was the perfect spot to end the trip. Very nice new amenities, clean comfortable rooms and a nice evening breeze. Alan and Heidi are great hosts and I would expect new changes coming down the line that will make the place even better,

Stayed: April 2010
Thank chuckyuesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We stayed at Star Villa end April /beginning May when all the "problems" with Thailand were at their peak. We did not stay in Bangkok but travelled onto Koh Samui and there was no hint of any trouble. We never even felt uneasy let alone scared.

We were collected from the Port and taken to Star Villa, into a home away from home. Fully equiped with everything you would need. Spotlessly clean and with all the amenities that you could wish for.

We were ferried from the villa to the beach area whenever we required and were gived a wealth of information about the island.

Heidi & Alan are there to recommend anything from a suitable restaurant to a massage parlour. It helps greatly when you are in an unknown Country.

The hospitality was beyond reproach and we would recommend this place to anyone visiting this area.

Had a great time and we are sorrry that the Iceland Vulcano hasn't erupted sufficiently to make it impossible for us to leave. ha ha.

Great Country, Great Place, Great People.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdarcy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,600 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,313 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
952 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#8 of 157 in Koh Tao
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Star Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Star Villa

Address: 11/18 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 157 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £48 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Star Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the jungle clad hills above Sairee Beach, Koh Tao Star Villa offers unique accommodation on Koh Tao. spacious, modern, fully furnished apartmens with western standard bathrooms all designed with the ecology of the island in mind. Enjoy beautiful sunsets from your terrace and enjoy free use of our games room and BBQ area. And this very peacful setting, is only 3-4 minutes by bike or ATV from the centre of Sairee Beach - truely a great combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Star Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing