We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, let down by service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haadtien Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, let down by service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

I am baffled by this place. The location is amazing, beautiful sea front cabin, we went for castaway as it is right on the beach ( there is a lot of construction going on so be warned especially near the hideaway villas) first impressions were great, the villa is well positioned and clean.But The service is poor even by western standards. The restaurant is expensive and I have my doubts about how qualified the chef is ( I'm in the restaurant business). The beach bar is nice and the food ok but it is overrun with flies( I notice an electronic fly zapper in reception for the staff but none at the bar for the customers) I don't blame the staff for the lack of customer service I blame the management, we were never made to feel that we were valued customers or that any more than the minimum was being done( breakfast is a prime example of this as it is basic to say the least) The management need to get a grip on this place before it becomes paradise lost. They should visit other resorts to see how it should be done. Very poor indeed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    409
    214
    124
    79
See reviews for
220
831
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel is breathtaking. The beach bungalows are designed in a stunning fashion with a big balcony to chill in the evenings. The location is very convinient with a short ride from the pier. The hotel can organise all water activities with supreme convinience. The only thing which was sub par was the breakfast buffet but nothing that I would complain about. All in all it was a great stay

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

It is a very beautiful boutique hotel. The wooden villas are built within coconut threes and they are very elegant. The hotel is situated in shark bay and is a super spot for snorkeling, the corals are incredibly beautiful. the only problem seems to be the flies and mosquitos as they are both very frusturating, especially when you start eating your food, your are surrended by flies. A part from this small problem, the rest was fantastic. the hospitality in the reception was a bit disappointing compared to the rest of the hotels we stayed but still we have not experienced any problem. we would recommend this hotel both to couples and families with small kids.

Room Tip: all villas are very well situated, no big difference among them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EceEnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had high hopes for the Haad Tien after having seen it on the internet some months before we arrived. We had been in contact with Jan and secured a very good discount if we paid a deposit up front.

On arriving, we quickly learned than Jan is not located in the resort, the staff never said where, but we got the impression that she could be on Samui or even Bangkok!!

The first think that we noticed was that the hotel is completely run by women, the men seem to do the menial labour-intensive work. We arrived on the morning of my birthday so when we got to reception they had a bouquet of flowers for me and sang happy birthday, which was a really good welcome to the resort. They had also spelt out 'Happy Birthday Peter' in flower petals on the end of the bed. We were then shown to our rooms, we went for the most expensive room type which were beach front villa (Castaway).

The room was small for the price we were paying and you quickly realise that the square meter-age they advertise on their website includes the outside deck. The deck also has a 6ft x 6ft day bed on it. Inside the room (its is only one room) there is a large king-size bed, flat screen TV, two sinks, a shower room on on the left and a toilet on the right. The toilet is not enclosed and the only thing that saves your embarrassment is a sheet curtain that you pull over when you're in there. The shower room on the other side of the twin sinks is nice but dark and you stand directly on the wooden floor, the water escapes between spaces in the floor boards.

The new infinity pool was amazing and a welcome dip in the afternoon was called for as the ocean was so warm it was like stepping into a bath. Beside the pool they have a beach bar which will serve you drinks and a limited food menu. The other end of the resort has a restaurant which is not bad and not too pricey. This is where you have your breakfast each morning also, the breakfast is not great and has same thing everyday but it'll set you up for the day. Don't sit on the sofas on the outside of the restaurant as they attract flies.

The views we had of Sharks bay were amazing to say the least but the resort is very isolated, this had been relayed to us before we booked though. To get to the towns you must take the hotel taxi or free shuttle, as the shuttle only runs twice a day they force you to take the taxi and try charge THB800 for the privilege. We bargained them down to THB400. Sairee Beach is a good laugh but full of back packers. Don't believe a word of anyone telling you Ko Tao is very quiet and nothing to do but dive as we spent 4 days there and there is loads to do and plenty of night life in Sairee.

Peter Fallon

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pocketpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Im sorry to say we came here for our honeymoon and were dissapointed, my new husband got food poisioning, there are construction works going on, so while he was recovering we had the constant noise of heavy machinery, even next to the resteraunt at breakfast time. The cabin we stayed in was poorly constructed like a garden shed walls with gaps in the overlaying wood so geckos and mosquitos came in, it also meant it was poorly insulated against the noise of construction. Some of the staff were friendly, the beach was nice. Overall i would not reccomend staying here. I am suprised by the four star status here, perhaps we were unlucky with our villa and the time we visited (and the food poisioning!)

Room Tip: Our villa was set away from the beach on a steep hill...avoid if poss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait / Wroclaw
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Amazing place. very clean and neat. Service is great and people are so nice. Friendly atmosphere. Perfect place to chill out :) We loved the private beach and inSea beach bar. cheers!

Room Tip: Getaway villas are perfect for couples.. if you want something bigger go for a family villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pawel_and_gaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

My wife and I recently spent two perfect weeks of our honeymoon at the Haad Tien. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we couldn't have been happier with our surroundings and the way we were treated.

We stayed in one of the Castaway Family Beach Villas - blissfully close to the clear waters of the private beach, all necessary mod cons, serviced/cleaned each day, and a very effective air conditioning system.

The facilities at the resort were great - particularly the black infinity pool with views over the beach. And the beach bar, which served pretty good food and chilled drinks, was used often! Oh, getting a daily message is highly recommended - as is chartering a boat for a tour of the island and some snorkelling.

I should note that, whilst on Koh Tao, we had the opportunity to check out some of the other highly rated resorts on the island. In our opinion, the Haad Tien couldn't be beaten. In fact, we were only due to stay at the Haad Tien for one week, but quickly returned when we got to the second resort we had planned to stay at.

As is often the case, it was actually the staff that made our stay so enjoyable. They're a credit to the place. Always smiling, always helpful and friendly. Indeed, for our last night's stay, they arranged a candle-lit pathway from our villa to our own private table on the beach. Such a nice thing to do for us.

There really is much we'd suggest to improve the place. The wine is very expensive, but that's probably the same everywhere. And care should be taken not to build too many rooms/villas on the resort in the future. Right now, it feels perfectly secluded and private, whilst having everything to hand if you need or want it. They should keep it that way!

Room Tip: We booked really early and managed to get a good discount as a result.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.4 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing