We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing resort with friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haadtien Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing resort with friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Two of us stayed at the Haad Tien beach resort in Feb 2012 for 4 nights. The big draw for the resort is the private beach which is fantastic. The beach is spotless and the water is lovely. We ate at the hotel restaurant 3 of the 4 nights and really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and very good food. The breakfast buffet is excellent. As mentioned there is a shuttle in and out of Mae Haad twice daily which is very useful since it is not really walk-able.

We were most impressed by the staff at the hotel who did their best to ensure we enjoyed our stay. They recommended trips we could take and made the bookings for us. We had left the island and were on Koh Phangan when my friend received an email from the hotel saying they had found a necklace and ear rings she had mistakenly left behind in the room. The hotel arranged to post the jewellery on the next mornings ferry to Koh Phangan - which she was very grateful for. We were very impressed with the extra effort the staff had made to return the belongings.

Very relaxing, secluded resort with great staff. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are well equipped with air conditioning and a balcony but are a little small. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    409
    214
    124
    79
See reviews for
220
831
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Having read reviews on this hotel before we booked, we were really impressed with what other people had to say and the web site showed a fantastic resort....we were not disappointed!! this resort is located on a beautiful beach in Koh Tao. It was private, tranquil, and everything we could possibly want and more for a truly memorable stay. The staff were friendly, the room was spacious and had Mosquito nets around the bed, which were a nice added bonus. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and the choice was brilliant. The room as cleaned well and the staff left towels made into swans and elephants which was a nice touch. It was our anniversary weekend, and they left fresh flowers in our room which was also a nice touch. The hotel provided transport into the nearby town a few times a day which was an added bonus, although we got a taxi back as the last one they provided was 9.30pm. You can get a taxi for around 300-400 baht back to the resort. My only complaint...we should have stayed longer than the four nights we booked!!! Thanks to everyone who made our stay very special.

Room Tip: For our budget, we chose a hideaway villa which was perfect....some villas can go quite steep, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Haad Tien is a nice resort. It's isolated, and the ride getting to and from town can be very uncomfortable. I imagine it would break my elderly parents. The reviews are correct...clean rooms, good breakfast, nice happy hour, private beach...

But there was something missing, for sure. It's like this place was too sterile for koh Tao's personality. The resort doesn't have personality at all. I agree, it would be perfect if we had kids, and is well suited to families who want to dive rather than enjoy the rif raff in town.

A few issues: no umbrellas on the beach. You have to take shade under a giant shrub. Also, there's no breeze in shark bay, so the insects are awful. They are a force. Spa prices at Haad are just insulting. They're triple the price of the Thai standard prices...and that's with the hotel discount. The hotel plays the most depressing music, too. I didn't hear bob marley once.

We moved into town yesterday, to stay at the simple life. The people watching is great, it's closer to the dive scene, fun shopping, ladyboy shows. If you want to have some fun with the Thai island culture, then stay in town. If that has no interest to you, stay at Haad Tien.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

Highly recommend Haad Tien if you are looking for a gorgeous private and quiet holiday place to stay! Immaculate accommodation, rustic surrounds, stunning beach with brilliant snorkeling right off the beach. We had the BEST stay and really could have stayed a LOT longer. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the pool villas!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFixes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at Haad tien for 4 lovely nights at the end of April. We booked a Hideaway villa - and were very please with the location, and the ocean view from the balcony. The rooms were large, well air-conditioned and spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating throughout the stay. Great cocktails at the pool and restaurant bar - even better at happy hour when they are only 100 baht! Spent the days by the pool and snorkelling straight off the beach, with courtesy shuttles into town a few times each day - handy if you want to pop in and grab anything.
.
The restaurant was excellent - great traditional thai food. The buffet breakfast was great each morning.

All in all a great stay for couples or families. Amazing beach, relaxing atmosphere, and great staff. With check out time at 12 noon - and our ferry not departing until 3pm, we were offered another room to freshen up in before we departed -- nice touch! And then when we arrived at the pier - one of the staff stood in the ferry line to check in for us, while we could rest in the shade, again - great service.

Thanks Haad tien for a great holiday - we'll be back!

I can't understand any of the negative reviews from previous reviewers. Why complain about having a small room - when clearly you booked the smallest room, and then didn't want to pay to upgrade. If you want a large room - book one in the first place - two words "whinging pom".

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genski001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Haad tien is the only hotel of the shark bay beach. The hotel is very design. The staff very friendly. There is a free shuttle from and to the pier daily. The rooms are nice (just missing body lotion and ear cotton buds ;)
The restaurant is good (service a bit slow).
The beach is nice and wasnt crowded at all.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I cannot understand the gripes of the previous reviewer. This resort is not supposed to be a 5 star resort, it is a lovely boutique style resort in a perfect location on it's own beautiful beach. We stayed for only four days and wished it could have been much longer. We stayed in a hideaway villa, which was very close to the beach and pool and had seaviews, so we were very happy with this. We could have paid a lot more for one of the ocean front villas, and actually preferred having our villa in a more secluded spot up the hill a bit.

We loved the whole atmosphere of the resort, very laidback and casual. The trip into the resort on the bumpy road added to this, it is only about a 10 minute trip anyway. They also provide a free shuttle service a few times a day to get into the town.

We loved the villa, although I must admit it was rather on the small side. It was spotlessly maintained and the girls would also leave the fresh towels made into cute elephants or swans etc on your bed, which added a lovely attention to detail. We looked forward to arriving back to the villa to see what they had made your towels into that day! We had a lovely king bed, and the room was airconditioned. One thing I would have liked though is a roof on the front veranda. They provided you with a couple of chairs and a table on the veranda, and for one day it rained almost all day, so there was nowhere to sit outside.

The pool looked lovely, although we didn't bother using it as we prefered to swim at the beach, the water was very clear, and you could snorkel right off the beach and see heaps of fish. Happy hour at the beach bar was a wonderful time of the day as the sun set. Breakfast was great, with plenty of choices. We also ate at the restauarant a couple of times, would highly recommend the BBQ fish. The staff were always very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank where2go-next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.4 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing