We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Velaux, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and we've been delighted. The "getaway" bungalows are nicely located with a view on the beach which 50 meters away. The gardens are very big and well maintained.
One should know that this hotel is a bit far from the animated spots of Koh Tao which is perfect if you want rest. The restaurant was a bit disappointing as the choice was not so large and prices a bit more expensive than in other places in Koh Tao (and no other choice if you want to stay in the hotel). The hotel offers 3 shuttles a day to bring you in the center town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear both,
thank you for your review of the haad tien Beach Resort,
the gardening teams do a great job for us to maintain such a large open space, the resort is 15 minutes away from "mae haad" and an additional 10 minutes to "Saree beach",
the chef changed his menu from the 20th of this month with additional items to create a larger menu, along with our seafood and meat selection for the evenings.
though our service and quality of food is of a good standard, prices of course are different from a small restaurant in Town. though i have paid similar prices in koh Tao as well.

shuttle service will be looked at again.
thank you both once again, Best regards, the Staff Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    430
    236
    130
    86
See reviews for
242
883
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

If you want some peace and quiet, this is a good place to go, on Koh Tao.
The resort is at a beautiful bay, has a nice beach and only a few bungalows, so it is never very crowded. We had a hideaway villa (I think it was number 107) and I loved the fact that it was more secluded. The villa was clean and nicely decorated with dark wood and white linen. We had a nice view, because our villa was on a hill, so we could still see the sea between the palmtrees. I think our villa was less suitable for people with a walking disability. Even though this is a more expensive option on Koh Tao, we did not regret our choice. The resort is stunning, there is a nice pool, and you can have dinner near the beach, overlooking the sea.
We saw black tip reef sharks while snorkeling (sometimes you have to swim a little bit further to see them), and that was awesome. Unfortunately the sea was a bit choppy when we were there, so the visibility under water was not great. Also, it would be nice if they would extend their shuttle bus service, because that's limited to a few times a day.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hertster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Both,
thank you for the wodnerful reveiw on haad tien, yes you were in villa #107 and does have a view towards the bay through the palm trees, just a short walk down to the beach.
the sharks and baracudda along with turltes are still being seen daily a wonderfull part of nature on our door step.
we are considering to add another shuttle time.
thank you both once again, Best regards, the staff and Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Haad Tien Beach Resport hotel is a very nice place to 'recharge the batteries' , a quiet place, niece and clean beach, a lovely garden with swimming pool and pool bar, the restaurant although simple built had its charme and very much adapted to the bungalow style and the surroundings, where we had breakfast only, because we were most of the time exploring the island by longtail boat or bus. The bungalow we had was lovely, clean room with a nice view, as we were located a bit higher than the other bungalows... very friendly personal....the trip from Samui by catamaran can sometime be a bit rough when a bit stormy, but its worth going to this lovely Island...

Room Tip: The bungalow we had was located a bit higher, it was quiet and we had a nice view from our terrace/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
thank you for your delightfull review
we strive to achive guest satisfaction at every corner here at the haad tien, the teams who takes care of the gardens and around the pool are an asset to us and shows in their care and attention.
thank you both once again, hope to see you both soon.

Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is relaxing and nice. It is tucked into the side of the hill and the pool and beach area is quaint. The food at the pool bar and restaurant was also good. The villa style rooms are really fun and also very nice. We took a few hikes and the front desk was helpful with directions, since it isn't so clear on this island. Overall we had a good experience here.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Libbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
thank you for your reveiw,
we have passed on your comemnts to all departments, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
hopefull we can welcome you abck one day
Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Before travelling, I was acknoledged by some of reviews regarding the construction noise. So I contacted the hotel via the published email on their website. Out of my expectation, i received the reply the 2nd day by a manager and told me my villa "Getaway" would be far away the construction.

And, YES, after a welcome drink and check-in by a Thail receiption( she was very warm and very nice) we were led to an adorable villa with good sea view near the pool far away from noise. The room was very clean and nice without any insects and we slept very well as the air-con was not noisy at all.

The following few days we enjoyed every minutes of the beautiful clean beach and the white flour like sand. That was amazing! We did not want to leave the beach and we almost missed the trip to Nanyuan island for diving. It was really my mistake only stayed 5 days in this hotel. The breakfast resturant seaview was very beautiful.

The swimming pool is also very good, just a little bit small; but actually people were all in the sea or near the seaside.......just a few people stayed in the pool.

The staff at the bar side, one boy named Miu or Niu, is super freindly and supportive; he really served in a professional way to help customers. With his great services we ordered a lot of smoothies during our stay althoght the price is very high. He is outstanding, the other staff at bar side are also fine.

The boys worked for the hotel shutle bus were also very nice and helpful. one of them speaks good English, he was very thin, helped us to rent a taxi boat. The house keeping were very good, but they speak very limit English.

Of course the hotel also have some cons:
--As another review said, the receiption girls are not happy. I really felt it when we check-out (i could describe the two ladys faces if the hotel Manager want, you could email me), but we really chose to ignore them as we did not would like to destroy our happiness.

--There are quite a lot of mosquitos at evening started around 6pm at the pool bar. The hotel should brought some solutions. We left the bar and did not eat there jsut because the mosquitos. If keeping like this, you will lost business in the bar.

---The breakfast could be variety with more choices.

All in all, The beach is amazing!
the hotel service is considered as a wonderful quality! we will definitely back again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhenzhenyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Both,
thank you for the review, very much apreciated, our team and staff at haad tien try their best to give a warm feeling upon arrival, and throught the guest stay, mister Miew who works at the beach bar i belive is who you are talking about,i will discuss with him in regards to your feedback.
the shuttle bus team member is khun Mo the tall thin gent, and yes does speak very good English, we are wroking on a training program for the coming low season months to help our staff develop their skills further.
breakfast has been adapated again by the chef with additional items and more rotational food to give that extra choice.
i would like to hear more in regards to the front office team, my email is john@haadtein.com
my appologies for this as it should not happen, then again its been mentioned a few times now.

for the mosquitos we work with the local government to spray the resort twice per month, thanks foir the heads up.
thank you both once again, looking forward to welcome you both back.

Best regards, the staff and Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Just had a weekend here, from the hussle of busy Phuket, this was a real pleasure, very relaxed, great staff, very tentative, looking to book again in three months, thanks to front desk team very welcoming.... See you soon

Room Tip: Ask the front desk what to do, they have plenty of options
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HealthVisionAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you for your feedback and delightfull comments, we have discussed your feedback with all the managers who will pass this onto their staff.
looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

As a frequent visitor to Samui, I didn’t hesitate when some friends with years of experience in the hotel business recommended Haad Tien Beach Resort on Koh Tao after a stay during Christmas. I booked a Hideaway Villa for my February break, and was greeted by smiling staff.
They gave us a full introduction to their facilities, and escorted us to our room, where we found the décor pleasant, yet minimalistic for a resort of this calibre.

The restaurant offered great food choices, but some items were a bit expensive. Still, the quality of service was wonderful, and the staff were very helpful in caring for our kids.
The beach was fantastic and well kept by the staff, even on windy days, when they had a full team cleaning the rubbish and seaweed.

The free shuttle bus running three times per day was great, though a return shuttle should be considered for late-night transport.

The manager was visible at all times, talking to his guests and giving advise on what and where to go in and around Koh Tao.

The grounds are well kept and the gardeners pay attention to every detail. The rooms are well maintained, and when we had a small shower problem, it was rectified in less than one hour. When I saw feedback from others complaining about the noise level from the development next door, all I can say is it cannot be heard inside the resort.

The Haad Tien is a wonderful place and I would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful feedback, chef is now working on his new menus for lunch
and the beach bar, our staff try their uptmost to give their all to the guests at all times, beach is part of our culture to ensure its kept clean and tidy at all times, all garbage is recycled thefore
worth the effort.
we will consider a late shuttle bus down the line, we have shown your feed back to the gardening and engineering teams, thank you once again,
looking forward to welcoming you back very soon, the staff and Managment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
2.2 mi away
No photo provided
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
866 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing