We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This resort was perfect. We stayed here for 6 nights during our honeymoon and it was perfect. Even the occasional thunderstorm did not ruin this experience. The room (hut) was lovely. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and reasonably priced in the restaurant and we ate there at least once a day. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank neddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

thank you both for a wonderful review, delighted we were able to charm you during your honeymoon, its the ideal location on koh Tao, with a beach front of 350 meters, white sandy beach.
and of course the storms that came those three days were impresive to say the least, mother nature at her best, both during and after the storms, after pure sunshine!
thank you both again and hopefully we may be able to welcome you back in the near future!
Best regards the staff & Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

582 - 588 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

Awesome spot...beautiful setting. Treat yourself and get you a hut with your own pool. :) They upgraded us! The staff was very helpful and always had a smile on their faces. Food was very nice and plenty of it. Snorkeling a step away...very safe for all levels.
Hit the Dives Wishes II dive shop on site. Good folks with a very relaxed attitude. They make sure you miss the crowds. Fast boats with a small groups...makes for a very good atmosphere.
.

Room Tip: Whatever you can afford...go for the private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, it was our pleasure to offer the free upgrade.
chef and his team do a great job on the food now with variety and quantity.
the haad tien beach is the best on koh Tao with over 350 meters of beach front, well cleaned and maintained by our staff all day.
Tom and his team at Dive wishes do a terrfic job even though they charge a premium due to the personalized service of up to 8 persons only compared to 20 or more on the dive tours.

thank you both once again, hope to welcome you back in the near future.

The staff & Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Haadtien Resort

Every room is in a little bungalow that has an interesting mix of scandinavian and asian design. The rooms are spacious and very clean. You get 2 bottles of complimentary water everyday and coffee in your room. Beach towels are available as well as clean towels in the bathroom.

Arriving at the Haadtien felt a bit like arriving in a boot camp. We got very strict commands were to sit, what to do. As well as the introduction to the room felt a bit like this but I assume that is just related with the cultural differences and not meant to be like this.

The most friendly and nicest experience was at the pool bar. The pool itself is ok but wasn't our favorite. We don't like black pools on general. Since there weren't any chaise lounges at the beach and we didn't wanna lie in the sand, we decided to stay at the pool most of the time. We were also told not to carry the chairs to the beach. So if you wanna lie on the beach, you should bring a beach mat with you or inflatable sun mattresses.

We never ate in the restaurant even though it is a beautiful place. We only had food at pool bar and this was quite good and the prices are decent. The cocktails are also very good, so try them at the blue hour.

The staff at the pool bar and at the breakfast was extremely friendly and lovely people. However the staff at the reception should try to improve their friendliness and also being helpful in terms of giving you recommendations what to do, where to go and especially how to go somewhere and how to come back. We made use of the hotel taxi but the driver couldnt explain us how to come back to the resort, so we tried to find a taxi in the village after dinner, which was a huge scam cause the driver wanted 300 Baht and there was no other taxi around. We recommend to rent a motorbike if you wanna be flexible.

Besides this the receptionists didn't make any extra mile when you asked them a question. I don't think this was related with their abilities to communicate in English. They also never said hello or goodbye when you walked bye. We just weren't used to that in Thailand, so maybe that's why it stuck out.

The breakfast is pretty good except for the coffee but you can't expect European standard coffee in Thailand anyways, so stick to tea :-)

The Haadtien has a pleasant level of guests coming from Europe and Asia. Primarily French and British have been to the hotel, which was very nice and laid back. No disturbance by crazily drinking people or any loud music.

We stayed in the Haadtien after a wonderful time in Ko Phangan at the Santhiya Resort and were quite spoiled with the level of service and the beautiful environment we experienced there. The price level was almost the same, so maybe we were a bit too spoiled when we arrived at the Haadtien.

However we also noticed that Ko Tao is a lot more expensive in general compared to Ko Phangan. Ko Tao is mainly serving divers, backpackers and a few resort resort tourists but that's pretty much it, so it was hard for us to understand where the high prices are coming from. We were driving around a bit and the island has a few nice spots even though the highest attraction lies within snorkeling, kayaking and diving...it's an island for under or in water people :-)

The Haadtien has definitely a great design factor and is located at the most beautiful beach on Ko Tao. If you care about design and less about superb service then this is the right place for you.

Overall I must say that we had a nice stay and if we would come back to Ko Tao, we would also come back to the Haadtien. The owner created a nice place with a few things to improve but I am sure he will :-)

Room Tip: We had a Hideaway villa which was nice but next time, we would go for a bigger bungalow. The A/C was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berberprinzessin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Many thanks for the pleasant review, not sure where the scandinavian design came in though but thank you, have passed on your feedback and compliment onto our pool bar and breakfast teams,
in regards to having sun loungers on the beach they are not allowed as such we provide folding chairs along with some rattan beds, the aim is to preserve nature and the beach itself.
in regards to additional rattan chairs have been ordered.
we have palced a card in the room expaling the beach and what can be done from a resorts point of view, we must follow the code laid down to us as well.
shame you did not try the main restaurant the quailty of food is great and the service is delightfull,
our market mix is world wide, we cater for all nationalities.
there are many factors making Koh Tao a bit more expensive for all good and commodoties to be brought in.
thank you both again, our apologies we did not deliver the service where it mattered i will look at this factor,
the woner will be delighted in regards to your comments on his resort,

Best reagrds, the staff & Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

After lots of research we settled on Haad Tien for our stay in Koh Tao and I'm incredibly happy that we did. It was everything we expected and more in terms of location, cleanliness, friendly staff, and an authentic local experience. Based on the reviews we went to Dive Wishes on the resort itself and were very impressed with the experience there as well. Overall we had no complaints and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

thank you for the great review, we are also happy you did your homework and loved the resort when you stayed with us, its a pice of paradise, we have informed the staff of the review, in regards to their freindlyness and attention to their guests, we strive to work with them to achive
customer satisfaction.
the manager at Dive wishes sends his regards on his review as well.

we are all looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards the staff & Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our stay at the Haad Tien Beach Resort was near perfection! The staff was wonderful, the rooms and atmosphere were beautiful. The beachfront was clean and stunning and the outdoor restaurants/bars were excellent. All the food and drinks were delicious and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the mornings. We stayed for 5 nights and really felt like we had experienced a luxury holiday but with a very laid back atmosphere. The spa was basic but the massage therapists were amazing!!!! I can't stress this enough, I have had many Thai massages but this place had the BEST massages I have experienced.

Also, the dive shop "Dive Wishes" which is located on the resort premises, was fantastic. The dive instructors were super friendly and helpful and the shop manager Krista was awesome! She helped us with everything that we needed including a dive refresher course, plus additional trips. My dive instructors Aj and Dimitri were both lovely guys and really took the time to ease me back into the water after a long break from diving. The dive groups were so friendly and the instructor to student ratio was 1:2 for both of the days I was diving. We did a trip to Sail Rock which included 2 amazing dives, as well as a stunning sunset snorkelling trip on our final evening in Ko Tao. It was an amazing trip and we couldn't have asked for better service/experiences. I will definitely be returning to both The Haad Tien Beach Resort and Dive Wishes in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

tahnk you for the great review, very much apreciate your feed back towards our staff, rooms and the atmosphere, we strive to achive the best for our guest, we cant reach this all the times, we belive we have exceded most of your expectation during your visist,
we will build a new spa for the girls with more rooms for all weather, have passed on your review to them both.
passed on the feedback to the chef and his team in regards to his food and buffet breakfast,

Krista and her team at the dive shop are a great team, they cater for smaller groups and as you mentioned their ratio to customers is what fits and this gives you a more personalized dive and attention, they send their regards.
hope to welcome you back in the near future.

best regards the staff &7 Managemnt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A few weeks ago my family and I went to Koh Tao on vacation. We have 2 younger children so we always require a bit more flexibility when traveling. The resort itself was top notch. Very clean, good service, and the rooms were simply beautiful. We found the prices at the restaraunt a bit expensive, but all in all it was still worth the money. After spending a few days unwinding around the pool, which was absolutely stunning, we decided to take the kids on a half day snorkeling trip which was completely organized by the on-site dive shop called Dive Wishes & More. We had SUCH a lovely time. We rented the underwater digital camera that the shop rents out to customers, and had the time of our lives! The trip was on a very cozy speedboat which suited our family perfectly. The English speaking Thai captain was fantastic- very friendly, we went to all the best snorkeling spots, and the photos turned out great! It was truly an unforgettable experience and the kids just loved every moment- exceptionally family friendly. The Dive Shop also offers private trips, diving courses, and will organize and accommodate basically any sort of water activity you'd like to take part in. Excellent customer service. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenC97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

many thanks for the great review on haad tien and our dive shop Dive wishes,
we have passed on your feedback to all our departments, in regards to the resort, being clean, good service and the rooms being beautifull.
talk to Tom at the Dive shop, sends his regards and thanks you as well for diving with them, they do make a great team as they limit their trips to how many people makes this a better experience for all,
thank you all once again from the staff & Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Just got back from my honeymoon in Thailand and stayed at this resort, specifically for the diving. My husband and I are both amateur divers and we were so well informed by the staff at Dive Wishes II! They were very knowledgable and professional and the Dive Shop Manager, Krista takes such pride in her job and genuinely cares about each and every one of her guests. Thank you so much to the entire team at Dive Wishes II for the phenomenal experience that my husband and I will never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustCallMeGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

thank your the wonderful review, glad you both enjoyed your honeymoon, its an ideal location
to enjoy such a wonderful ocasion, the dive shop Manager Tom sends his regards and thanks you as well for the feedback on his shop manager Krista.
as they limit their divers they offer a more proffesional dive and more attention towards their customers.
hope to welcome you both back very soon to the haad tien.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
297 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club by Haadtien
Beach Club by Haadtien
#20 of 50 in Koh Tao
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £76 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing