We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive shop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I visited Koh Tao with the sole intention of diving as much as possible. The Haad Tien's associated dive shop was recommended to me by a friend as so I did two courses with them. While the price is higher than some of the other dive locations on the Island its well worth it. The speed boat greatly reduces transit times to dive sites, and the small group size makes for a much more enjoyable experience. The dive schedules were well organized and ran like clockwork during my courses. The three dive masters/Instructors that work for the shop ( Thor, AJ and Damien) are very professional as well as being really personable and a lot of fun. All the equipment was top notch stuff and in excellent condition. The shop manager is great and will work with you to find times etc that work for you, so the courses can be fairly flexible. Overall a great dive experience, recommended to others.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank kyle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

thanks for a great review on the Dive wishes dive shop, correct they offer a personalised dive experienced with a small charter service with their own speed boats, Tom and his team send their regards and a thank you for the review.
please vists the haad tien and Dive wishes again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
There are newer reviews for Haadtien Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were in the haad tien for 6 nights. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but we do have some mixed feelings. We first booked through bookings.com, where we chose the cast away villa (the ones at the beach) but the hotel manager told me that there was construction work going on so we may not want to stay for the planned 8 nights. I was very pleased that we were informed of the construction work going on. We agreed that we would book 2 nights in the cast away villa and could extend our stay as we wished. However, when we arrived, they could not find our reservation and it was not possible to get the cast away villa. We ended up in the haad tien villa which was nice and ok but for a price of only 500 BHT less we felt that we were overpaying for what we got. The last 2 nights we could stay in a pool villa, same price as the cast away villa which was nice.

Overall, we found the pricing policy very intransparent. You are probably better off if you book through the internet than directly with the hotel. Had we had the original prices with the cast away villa it would have been really great but with the price that we paid we thought it was a bit overpaid for what it is. Nice style of the villas.

Beach is very nice and secluded, pool ok.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank M_OnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Many thanks for a good review, and staying with us at the haad tien.
thank you for brining to our attention the loss of booking upon your arrival,
we have re looked at our pricing policy.
thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Just a quick note to thank the management and staff at the Hadd Tien Beach Resort for a wonderful stay. We stayed in room 212 which was right on the beach. It is the type of place where you open the door in the morning, you are hit with fresh beach air and if the weather is good, a glimmering blue sea.

We enjoyed the beach bar great cocktails at happy hour and good Thai snacks (Phad Thai, Spring Rolls, Red Curry etc) , main restaurant great seafood from the grill like Snapper and Andaman Lobster, and pizza to die for. Actually our favourite was the Sea Bass.

They food was well presented and tasty, although a bit pricy - but well worth it as the portions were good. The sunken pool at the beach bar fits in well too.

The main highlight is that the resort is a chill out location with 350 meteres of clean white sand. We would have stayed longer if we good.

A special thanks to reception too and Khun Jaeb, who really helped us plan our week getaway. Nothing was too difficult for these guys, and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Both,
many thanks for a wonderful review, room 212 is an exceptional villa right on the beach with a clear view of the bay and distant Islands, your feedback towards our beach bar staff and their magic cocktails brought a smile to their faces, chef gave a smile as well thank you.
Jaeb has moved on since you were here, all our reception team try their best to accomodate and assist the guests.
hope to welcome you all back very soon

Best regards, The Staff & Managment
please book through haadtien.com only this is our official web site

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We spend our last trip after escape phuket island, it was a real place for your peaceful time we were at the resort most of the time of our stay. the food was great location is perfect for a holiday.

there is no rain we were there and so much enjoyed, John the general manager was very helpful any question or assistant you would need during your stay.

The bar was also great they do have plenty of cocktails selection you would able to spend all day at the bar.

Room Tip: just lay down on the beach
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Both, Many thanks for a wonderfull review, we are delighted that we were able
to assit you, we have informed the chef of your feedback as wella s the team at the beach bar who are a delight to work with,
looking forward to welcoming you both back in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We just had a fabulous few days here.The rooms are lovely, and the beach spectacular. The bar staff in particular were wonderful - very friendly and creators of awesome cocktails. Eating at the bar is a relaxed option, better than the restaurant.
One warning - ONLY book through the hotel via email - don't use an alternative company who masquerade as the hotel - they messed us around and booked the wrong room for us - though the hotel were great and sorted it out.

Room Tip: If you can splash out, splash in to one of their pool villas - heaven!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear Both, thank you for a wonderful review, and delighetfull feed back towards our bar staff the cocktails, agree there they do make a mean cocktail, we will pass this message on to them.
in regards to the masquerading web iste, for all those who need to book please book only through
www.haadtien.com this is our only website, Do Not Use HAADTIEN.NET, Tthis does not belong to us.

Thank you both again for the great review, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future
Best regards, the staff & Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This resort was perfect. We stayed here for 6 nights during our honeymoon and it was perfect. Even the occasional thunderstorm did not ruin this experience. The room (hut) was lovely. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and reasonably priced in the restaurant and we ate there at least once a day. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank neddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

thank you both for a wonderful review, delighted we were able to charm you during your honeymoon, its the ideal location on koh Tao, with a beach front of 350 meters, white sandy beach.
and of course the storms that came those three days were impresive to say the least, mother nature at her best, both during and after the storms, after pure sunshine!
thank you both again and hopefully we may be able to welcome you back in the near future!
Best regards the staff & Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Awesome spot...beautiful setting. Treat yourself and get you a hut with your own pool. :) They upgraded us! The staff was very helpful and always had a smile on their faces. Food was very nice and plenty of it. Snorkeling a step away...very safe for all levels.
Hit the Dives Wishes II dive shop on site. Good folks with a very relaxed attitude. They make sure you miss the crowds. Fast boats with a small groups...makes for a very good atmosphere.
.

Room Tip: Whatever you can afford...go for the private pool!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review, it was our pleasure to offer the free upgrade.
chef and his team do a great job on the food now with variety and quantity.
the haad tien beach is the best on koh Tao with over 350 meters of beach front, well cleaned and maintained by our staff all day.
Tom and his team at Dive wishes do a terrfic job even though they charge a premium due to the personalized service of up to 8 persons only compared to 20 or more on the dive tours.

thank you both once again, hope to welcome you back in the near future.

The staff & Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
908 reviews
0.6 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £81 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing