We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Just returned from this truly awesome place. My wife and I had a peaceful and relaxing holiday here. The place itself is fantastic, located beautifully on a white beach which is a lagoon by itself. On the other side are coconut trees, slightly hilly in certain places and absolutely spectacular. We booked the castaway cottage on the beach and were rewarded with a fabulous view of the sea right at our doorstep. Room are not very large but adequate and very well equipped. Again wonderfully designed in wood. The service and food were also awesome and we will be going there again very soon.

Keep up the good work guys!!

Room Tip: Choose rooms according to your requirement. They are all good. Book in advance and they will give th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muralis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Thank you both for a wonderfull review, we are delighted that we met your expectations
and looking to come back in the near future, do drop us an email if we can be of assistance.
Best regards the staff and Managment

only book through our haadtioen.com web site

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
There are newer reviews for Haadtien Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

Based on the description we expected to find ourselves on perfect beach with cristal clear water in close to nature though comfortable villa. In practice: yes there is some interesting underwater life on corals in this bay just few steps deep but right half of the beach which is recommended for swimming has a combination of sharp coral fragments and finest coral flour sand which is very unpleasant to step upon and as you make your steps in water coral flour comes up and the water around you becomes like milk – no visibility of fish or other creatures, plus difficult to figure out whether your feet are safe to stand there at all. Left side of the beach – the sand is more favorable but there are boats parked and hotel management warns you that there are black urchins on the bottom so you must be careful there. But OK, it’s not a snorkeling hotel after all. Talking about villas comfort there was 1) no noise insulation thus we’re waked up at 5am each night by horrible cicadas yelling. We’re not very sensitive and took care of tiring ourselves each day so we did sleep but cicadas plus air con can give you hard time. We also had 30cm gecko singing his loud songs for 5-6 times during the night. We’ll count it as being close to the nature. 2) The shower behind the glass door we can write off to honeymooners but what is difficult to explain why designer decided to place the loo behind light curtain – it can create certain difficulties for any sort of partnership, I’m afraid. The grounds are beautiful, swimming pool OK for beach hotel, good pool bar with fair food and snacks. But general feeling we left with was the property was not neat enough – bad WCs by the pool (may be some guests have to compensate for lack of loo comfort in their own villas?), smelling, poorly maintained, quite strange for this level of property; lots of flies! on our food for breakfast/lunch/dinner, far too many flies. Breakfast is average with some casualties though – god knows for how many times they keep melting and freezing back portioned butter, during peak time staff is not quick enough to refill the trays. Soft comfort seats with bay views are all stained and again recall cleanness question.

So it generally depends on what you expect from your holiday but if you look for snorkeling arrangements it’s too isolated from main town with respective booking offices, for honeymooners I can also hardly imagine it can fit. We did not quite get the concept of what’s offered at given price level to be honest. May be koh Tao in general is just for 2-3 days snorkeling stopover and you should not dig it any deeper but then again there are more convenient and better priced options closer to main town. We’ll not come back there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chernox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Many thanks for the review, in regards to the quality of the beach and the coral in front of the resort, certain times of the year the tides are a lot lower than other months , then again when the pictures were taken it was high tide with a great beach, we still have a great beach and great snorkeling and diving out there with a varieity of fish and of course the blck reef tipped sharks.

the villas have been designed with a crusoe style design, apologies in regards to the tooke and gekoes waking you up, this is nature and we live amonst them, we try to remove all that try to reside in the villas.
we have taken a look at the sanitary of the villa and all has been rectifed, Flies have been addresed and again certain times of the year they are more than other times, as fort he breakfast and the butter we are now looking at refrigerated counters to compensate for being in the open, all our cushions are cleaned and washed monthly under a cleaning program, the resort is only 15 minutes away from the center and we supply free shuttle bus to and from.
thank you again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This review is about the Dive Wishes shop attached to the Haad Tien resort. I was recommended to go this dive school by a friend, and I am glad they did! The shop,service and staff were all of the highest quality, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time there.

First - the price. Yes, it is more expensive than the other places, but you pay for the quality. I was able to have 1-1 tuition for my dive courses, and the small groups allowed for a lot of flexibility in dive sites and time in the water. They were also able to create bespoke diving expeditions, something I feel a larger operational would be unable to do. Due to the smaller nature of the shop, there were extremely flexible in how the ran things, and always ensured that you got the maximum amount of time possible in the water. All the Scuba and snorkelling equipment is there to use, and the speedboat made for a rapid trip to your dive location.

The staff (AJ, Damien, Krista, Thor) were all highly professional, and showed an enormous amount of professionalism and enthusiasm, which only added to the overall enjoyment of the trip. My personal thanks to Thor for being my instructor and being of the highest standards when in the water, and also knowing when have fun. All the instructors and the manager were able to cater for almost any needs, and went out of their way to ensure a good dive trip was had by everyone who went there. During my week there I heard not one bad thing said against the shop or the staff.

I would highly recommend this dive shop to anyone who wants to try diving, the experience was wonderful and I can;t wait to go back on my next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for a great review on the Dives wishes dive shop, Tom and his team send their thanks
we have passed this information on to them, they have a more personalised service than any toher operators on koh Tao as you mentioned.
please consider to stay with haad tien next time and enjoy the best of both worlds.

please use haad tien.com as to book a vacation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I visited Koh Tao with the sole intention of diving as much as possible. The Haad Tien's associated dive shop was recommended to me by a friend as so I did two courses with them. While the price is higher than some of the other dive locations on the Island its well worth it. The speed boat greatly reduces transit times to dive sites, and the small group size makes for a much more enjoyable experience. The dive schedules were well organized and ran like clockwork during my courses. The three dive masters/Instructors that work for the shop ( Thor, AJ and Damien) are very professional as well as being really personable and a lot of fun. All the equipment was top notch stuff and in excellent condition. The shop manager is great and will work with you to find times etc that work for you, so the courses can be fairly flexible. Overall a great dive experience, recommended to others.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank kyle h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

thanks for a great review on the Dive wishes dive shop, correct they offer a personalised dive experienced with a small charter service with their own speed boats, Tom and his team send their regards and a thank you for the review.
please vists the haad tien and Dive wishes again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We were in the haad tien for 6 nights. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but we do have some mixed feelings. We first booked through bookings.com, where we chose the cast away villa (the ones at the beach) but the hotel manager told me that there was construction work going on so we may not want to stay for the planned 8 nights. I was very pleased that we were informed of the construction work going on. We agreed that we would book 2 nights in the cast away villa and could extend our stay as we wished. However, when we arrived, they could not find our reservation and it was not possible to get the cast away villa. We ended up in the haad tien villa which was nice and ok but for a price of only 500 BHT less we felt that we were overpaying for what we got. The last 2 nights we could stay in a pool villa, same price as the cast away villa which was nice.

Overall, we found the pricing policy very intransparent. You are probably better off if you book through the internet than directly with the hotel. Had we had the original prices with the cast away villa it would have been really great but with the price that we paid we thought it was a bit overpaid for what it is. Nice style of the villas.

Beach is very nice and secluded, pool ok.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank M_OnTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Many thanks for a good review, and staying with us at the haad tien.
thank you for brining to our attention the loss of booking upon your arrival,
we have re looked at our pricing policy.
thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Just a quick note to thank the management and staff at the Hadd Tien Beach Resort for a wonderful stay. We stayed in room 212 which was right on the beach. It is the type of place where you open the door in the morning, you are hit with fresh beach air and if the weather is good, a glimmering blue sea.

We enjoyed the beach bar great cocktails at happy hour and good Thai snacks (Phad Thai, Spring Rolls, Red Curry etc) , main restaurant great seafood from the grill like Snapper and Andaman Lobster, and pizza to die for. Actually our favourite was the Sea Bass.

They food was well presented and tasty, although a bit pricy - but well worth it as the portions were good. The sunken pool at the beach bar fits in well too.

The main highlight is that the resort is a chill out location with 350 meteres of clean white sand. We would have stayed longer if we good.

A special thanks to reception too and Khun Jaeb, who really helped us plan our week getaway. Nothing was too difficult for these guys, and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Dear Both,
many thanks for a wonderful review, room 212 is an exceptional villa right on the beach with a clear view of the bay and distant Islands, your feedback towards our beach bar staff and their magic cocktails brought a smile to their faces, chef gave a smile as well thank you.
Jaeb has moved on since you were here, all our reception team try their best to accomodate and assist the guests.
hope to welcome you all back very soon

Best regards, The Staff & Managment
please book through haadtien.com only this is our official web site

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We spend our last trip after escape phuket island, it was a real place for your peaceful time we were at the resort most of the time of our stay. the food was great location is perfect for a holiday.

there is no rain we were there and so much enjoyed, John the general manager was very helpful any question or assistant you would need during your stay.

The bar was also great they do have plenty of cocktails selection you would able to spend all day at the bar.

Room Tip: just lay down on the beach
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konjing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Both, Many thanks for a wonderfull review, we are delighted that we were able
to assit you, we have informed the chef of your feedback as wella s the team at the beach bar who are a delight to work with,
looking forward to welcoming you both back in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
251 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
907 reviews
0.6 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £81 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing