We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Haadtien Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ban's Diving Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$53
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
In Touch Resort & Restaurant(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$26
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aminjirah Resort(Koh Tao)(Great Value!)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,669)
Filter reviews
1,669 results
Traveller rating
669
496
257
146
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
669
496
257
146
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barcastaway villashark bayprivate beachmain restauranthaad tien beachamazing beachfree shuttlewhite sandday bedour honeymoonbeach frontpool villabeautiful baylow tideclear waterthai food
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 1,669 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We found Haad Tien through a blog on Koh Tao, and searching Trip Advisor also saw it ranked as one of the top resorts on the island.

We stayed for our honeymoon and were quite pleased. They offer pickup and drop offs to the docks and in-town daily (although there was little reason to leave to grounds). Rooms were spacious, clean, and quiet. We were upgraded due to construction next door (thank you!). The pool was refreshing, the bay is mostly private with a few resorts sharing, but mostly out of sight, and diving boats further out to sea. You van rent snorkel gear, kayaks, or sit on the shaded lounge chairs. Breakfast was included, while lunch and dinners were tasty and affordable. While the days of a cheaper Thailand are long gone, Haad Tien offers the new wave of 5-star amenities you'd find around the world with affordable pricing.

Relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spitzmpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Khun Spitzmpc

Thank youy for your delightfull reveiw, during your honeymoon at haad tien,
we area 4 star resort though you mentioned 5 star thank you we try our best to achive the guests expectation.

please do keep in touch, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards, the staff and Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This place is definitely the best in Koh Tao if your criteria is a resort that has direct access to the beach. This resort has a wonderful surrounding as it is surrounded by plentiful coconut trees just like we are living right in the coconut plantation.
During check in, we were greeted with a cold wet towel and a welcome drinks to freshen up. When we entered the room, wow.... value for money was our 1st impression. It was clean and new. The same like the photos in the website. The aircond was also very new. It was a great place for honeymoon if you wish to have a heavenly environment.

The bathroom
No shower cap and hair dryer. The shower area has no hand shower. However, it was very spacious and clean. Love it overall.

At breakfast
The sea facing restaurant was wonderful. We had our breakfast with a good view and can laze around in breeze of the sea while eating. The food selection was so so but the coffee and tea selection was various ie. Cappucino, Expresso, Cafe Latte, Mocha, tea in a pot with many flavors from black tea to peppermint.

The beach
The beach area was nice. The water was clear, however the sand was soft and too fine that makes the water cloudy whenever we walk on it. The beach chair was not in place.

The pool
It's super nice view just like pool in coconut plantation with sea view and pool chair. Good to relax or read a book.

Transport
The resort provides 3 times scheduled free transfer to the town everyday. Besides, to travel around the island you can rent a motorbike or ATV.

Others
During night time the surrounding was very quiet and we felt creepy while walking back to our room. It'll be good if the management can get more light at the pathway and outside the room. The resort also provide very efficient free wi-fi at its property.

Overall, wish to go back if we ever visit Koh Tao again. Love this place very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie_ng9668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Angie Ng

Thank you for the review and the clear and positive feedback, shower caps we will be adding these upon request, though the room does have a hair dryer it was in a cloth bag in the woven basket.
regarding the night time walkway lighting, we will address this point.
we are looking forward to welcoem you both back in the near future, do keep looking at our web iste for promotional deals in the upcoming months.
Best regards, The staff and Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The Haad Tien does an extremely good job of over-selling itself and it is not worth the money. The impression given by the hotel's website is totally misleading. We booked a Haad Tien Villa, thinking that bearing the name of the hotel itself, this villa would be a good option. The reality was that our "villa" was no more than a basic flat-pack wooden hut. If IKEA sold such a hut, you could probably assemble it yourself within a day; the photos on the website do not at all convey the poor quality and basic nature of the room. There are of course construction works going on next door although these did not interfere with our stay. The view out to sea is marred by a huge, ugly container ship sitting in the bay right outside the hotel - I don't know why it is there, but it is unfortunate because it totally spoils the view.

Our stay got off to a bad start when we arrived in a somewhat chaotic fashion with a group of 10 others in the reception for the check-in process. There was no opportunity to ask for any information and we were readily bundled off to our hut - or we would have been, had there been enough staff on hand to take us to the hut instead of leaving us hanging around for 10 minutes whilst other people's luggage was hauled around. This was not acceptable, neither was the cold and unfriendly attitude of the staff upon our arrival.

First impressions did not improve when we arrived in the wooden hut itself. When you enter the room you are met with a small mountain of negative warnings and ridiculous notices - don't set the air conditioning to below 19C because ice will form; don't adjust the air flap on the air conditioning unit; don't swim at the left hand side of the beach because there are black sea urchins; so-and-so will incur a deposit or additional charge; don't flush anything down the toilet; don't move the pool loungers to the beach, etc etc - none of this sets the right tone. You have to leave the air conditioning on all day because the wooden hut will heat itself to a nauseatingly hot temperature whilst you are out all day and also be quick to close the blinds at night if you have the lights on - there is a gap between the doors which is big enough for insects to enter into the room at night. All around the hut there were the remains of building works from the construction of the hut itself - plastic pipes, concrete blocks, general mess - not what you would expect. The staff at the beach bar are not attentive and there is zero service on the beach itself - the absence of comfortable loungers is not acceptable and there is nobody from whom you can easily order refreshments whilst on the beach. The beach bar also ran out of fresh coconut, which seems pretty odd for a food that is so ubiquitous in the island. The swimming pool looks nice but because it is made from black rock it becomes too hot during the daytime before it promptly closes at 6.30pm. The hotel also had no UK plug adaptor to lend to us. None of this is what you would expect from a resort which advertises itself in this way. There is no atmosphere in the evening so the hotel does sensibly provide a shuttle service to the town, which was much appreciated.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay because Koh Tao is a beautiful island - we explored it thoroughly and we didn't spend a huge amount of time in the hotel. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean but then again you would expect that. Our overall impression is one of disappointment because although this hotel has a lot of potential due to its location, the wooden hut was not good enough and the service is insufficient for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badger885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear Both,

Thank you for ther review and your direct feedback, the haad tien villa are very good value for money, and do not look like a hut though they are designed to be minamilistic and to blend in with nature.
the huge barge was to bring water to the resort as the rainy season has not arrived, it was there for two days, the bay is large thefore ample view to be seen.
soem days we do have 10 or more rooms check in, and most geust prefer to go to the room first, our staff are only a phone call away or drop by when you go breakfast - they are very open to answer any questions our guest have.
unfortunately we have to add the notices some are there to help the geusts, what if you stood on the sea urchin, and no card to expalin you would sue the resort for not having them, this is why most hotels/ resorts today need to back up small issues to counter such actions.
also to inform the guest to assist where they can such as not dropping paper down the toilets then a toelit is blocked we get blamed again.

there is no card saying dont set the air con below 19 degrees and ice will form, i have not written such a card
dont adjust the air flap again we dont mention this, belive this is false information, and we dont so and so will incur a deposit or additional charge, no where in the room this is stated.
pool loungers belong at the pool as indicated and we offer rattan sunlounger for those on the beach,
we offer a mosquito nets and there are draft and insect excluders under the doors,
we do have adaptors at the resort in many forms, not sure why you were not given one.
the pool has to close at 6:30 by international rules and we have to follow,guest can swim at their own discression.
certain days we do run out of food, this will depend on the amount brought in the main coconut plantations on Tao are for the industrial market and not for drinking , too bitter.
thank you again for your points and we do take them seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Large property with lovely rooms. Ours had an outside divan-style area to lounge about in. Great pool, quite quiet early in the morning if you would like to do some laps. We wished our washroom had been separated from the main area by more than just a curtain, but that's our only real complaint. Food is resort-priced and not as good as good as in town. Also comes with an auto 10% service charge fee and 7% tax. Nice that they offer a free shuttle into town at 820, 2 and 645 and back from town too.

Don't understand the negative reviews on this place- we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Akinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Both,

Thank you for a wonderful review, and positive feedback towards the haad tien, our staff and managers are allwasy there to asnwer or help the guests at any time.
we hope to welcoem you both abck in the enar future.

Best regards, The Staff and Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed with our teenage daughters in a Castaway Family Beach Bungalow. The bungalow itself was beautiful, more like a 5 star hotel room inside. However we discovered that although we had 'private' property signs on the beach and on the path T the fron of the property, poeple persisted in walking right past the front door to gain a short-cut to the beach! If we didn't drop the blinds we had to be on the look-out when getting changed or showered. In the end, this ruined our stay. We complained to the Manager who responded immediately, he said he was aware of the problem, people were blatantly ignoring the signs but he didn't want to put rope boundaries around the bungalows. Even when we were sunbathing in the 'garden', a French family took great objection to being told it was a private. You just don't need or want hassle on holiday and we were disappointed because its expensive and it shouldn't be an issue. The Haad Tien also advertise the beach as private to the resort. It is not a private beach and it is open to anyone. I felt let down by both of these issues. On a positive note, my husband had the best Seabass dish we have ever tasted in the restaurant - cooked to perfection with a superbly balanced sauce.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 203
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Griffies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Dear All,

Thank you for the review, as we discussed very diffcult to control the people who venture onto the beach, they are very rude to say the least as you have seen, our apologies though we do our best to ensure the guest have a wonderfull stay with us.
we mention a semi private beach, all beaches in Thailand are crown property,
our apologies ocne again for the beach.

chef is delighetd your husband had the best sea bass, we offer great fresh seafood nighlty.

thank you all once again.

Best regards, the staff and managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews