We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lost in Paradise”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Haadtien is the paradise! We only stayed for 3 nights and we really with we could stay for longer!

Rooms: My friend an I stayed in Getaway Villa, which was a handsome looking cone shaped hut, with almost 360 degree of glass walls all around. You can have a full view of the slope, the trees, the swimming pool, and the sea down the beach. (And of course you can shut the blinds easily, so no concerns needed about privacy.)

Environment: All the architectures in the hotel including the reception and dining area are so delicately designed that everything mixed with the nature perfectly. (I think the hotel is basically desgined for couples rather than friends. It’s a bit too romantic!!) The beach is wide enough and the view is beautiful. The sand is the finest I’ve seen in Koh Tao and Koh Samui. But there’re scraps of corals and shells rushed from sea on to the beach, so be careful when walking bare feeted.

Location: Situated at Shark Bay, the hotel is a little remote from the downtown area. But the hotel arranges 3 shifts of free transportation to/from downtown, so it’s not a big problem (and Haadtien’s truck is really cool!). And being far from the crowded area ensures its tranquility, especially at night. (Indeed there’s some construction going on at the neighboring property, but as Haadtien has a very large territory, most of the places are not affected by any noise. And the construction is said to be finished near year end.)

Service: Honestly speaking, the staff members here are not the most warm and humble ones we’ve seen in Thailand. Some of them look a little too serious sometimes. However, they responded to our requests most promptly and efficiently and with no hesitation, which we felt very grateful.

Overall, we strongly recommend this hotel for families, couples on vacation or diving trips. You’ll love it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JIPING X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Adams X

Thank you very much for your delightfull review, the whole team at Haad tien is thrilled by making your holiday so special. reviews like this are a great motivation for all of us.
we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincererly,
John Morris Willaims
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    432
    236
    130
    86
See reviews for
246
883
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

From when we booked beautiful Haad Tien to host our intimate and relaxed wedding John and the team were nothing short of helpful and accomodating.

After a few hitches contacting reception at the start, emailing our questions and ideas to John from Australia was a breeze and communication was always prompt. John understood our vision and had no issue with adapting his suggestions to work with our budget and ideas.

We were smitten with the gorgeous spot we'd found for our ceremony and on the day John and his staff cleared and set aside the area early, leaving plenty of time for us to decorate at our own pace.

We felt reassured that details discussed prior would be taken care of on the day and it was truly brilliant to relax and spend memorable time with friends and family knowing that logistics were sorted. John was available to assist with anything additional we required and had some great suggestions of his own.

Returning late after a special and tiring day we were touched to find a thoughtfully and beautifully decorated villa, complete with complimentary bubbles to finish the night off.

Haad Tien was just the place for our momentous day. Stunning, serene and relaxed good service. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rolynley26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Roland & Lynley

Good morning from the haad tien and koh Tao, Thank you both for a wonderfull review
it was a pleasure to be in touch from the very start with your requests, for us this is a special day for you both, i belive we did exceed your expectations and having you all here for that very speical day was an honour. please pass our regards to all.
looking forward one day to welcome you all back in the near futures.
Congratulations once again!

Best regards,

John
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

At the first look this hotel is just a luxury piece of paradise : beautiful bungalows in wood arranged under the palm trees of a small paradise cove , a nice bar close of a beautiful black stone swimming pool on a small wild beach, .... As you see only on the postcards ...
But you will realize soon that the Haad Tien is a scam ... you pay for the best, you have the worst.
Just after I stayed at Santhiya Koh Phangan on ... quite the opposite .. attentive service staff friendly and smiling doing his best to please you ...
But a four star service has a price....At Haad Tien only the bill is expensive ... the rest is cheap. The staff is unprofessional....
Arrived on the island do not expect that the hotel will come to pick you up on the harbour as agreed: you will have to call and wait an hour to see a kind of cattle truck to pick you up ... when the hotel has many modern 4 wheel drive; sitting on an uncomfortable bench with no seat belt, your luggage has thrown even the floor... 15 minutes of road with no safety at all
As soon as arrive you should deal with the unpleasant reception staff , who begin by asking you to pay the entire stay in advance, I 've never seen that in the high standard hotel industry .
The hotel is totally isolated , so you are quickly caught up in the restaurant of the hotel : fat and repetitive meals , very expensive for Thailand.
Breakfast is the moment when the leftovers are flowing ... no small profit.
Bar and restaurant staff do not speak English and have never worked in a luxury hotel, it can be guessed at first glance .
Housekeeping is specialized in very fast and superficial cleaning...
They have no idea about what service means.... especially in restaurant where you will used to get your main course before your starters, and if you have a meal with someone, you will never get your meal together...

It was really a very bad experience for us , and for sure i will never going back there... especially as they are building all around the hotel several blocks to increase the room capacity of 100 rooms... The beach is already too small for all the guest i can not imagine when the new building will be opened....
Definitely a bad choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank travelisfunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Sad to see this email once again, this is a third time since March when you stayed with us.
that you have continued your Reviews, when in fact only one review per property is allowed.
the last was removed, unfortunately Trips did not remove this one!
things have changed at the haad tien sicne then,since then and time moves on!
the past week a new English Chef is on board, spa Manager, executive housekeeper, cheif engineer, two internship students and a few new waiters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stopped on Tao within 4 days, from a bottom 2 days - in Haadtien Beach Resort, Getaway Villa . It is the isolated hotel in wonderful bay. Very beautiful, well-groomed territory, excellent beach with snow-white sand. We very liked a villa, and the black pool. reception staff are friendly and cheerful, Happy hours in the bar too pleased :). Very nice place for a breakfast. The food at restaurant is very decent too. Certainly, we will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Khun Elena,

Thank you very much for your thorough review , The whole Team at haad tien is thrilled by making yoru holiday that more special. reviews like this are a great motivation for all of us.

we hope we will be able to welcome you back in the enar future to our little bit of paradise.

Best regards,

John Morris Willaims
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband, I & 15 year old daughter loved the set out of this resort. It is over priced for Thailand but after researching it was our pick as we liked the timber style bungalows. The villas are spaced out well so you get privacy, peace & quite. Initially I booked the castaway beach front villa but changed to a private pool villa after reading the bathroom didn't have a door as my daughter wouldn't have coped with no privacy. Glad I did as the pool was lovely at night. We didn't use the main pool but it looked nice & not crowded. The pool bar serves well priced drinks & food is good ie club sandwich or fried rice. The breakfast is adequate (omelette nice) however the breakfast staff are not attentive at all. We coped with the building noise but not with the lack of smiles and lack of service from the wait staff. Yes it is a buffet but the plates pile up and they walk past your table & pretend not to see them. We loved this resort for its beautiful clean private location. The pool bar staff are fantastic & friendly! They do ask any non guests to remove themselves from the beach lounges. I can't see this place being the same when the hotel rooms open up. It will lose its old time thailand look & feel. Pricey but glad we went this year!

Room Tip: Not a resort for young children however okay for teens especially having the private beach for snork...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GetawayJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear All,

Thank you very much for your review and hoensty, we are delighted you enjoyed the haad tien, though a few points in regards to the service staff not smiling, we have done some training and additional changes to ensure they smile.
Reviews like this help us move forward, though if there is a problem we would like aqlso to discuss on site, and be proactive towards our guests.
Thank you all once again

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent four lovely days here. It is pricey but we got a great deal from the hotel directly the undercut all the other sites and made it affordable. I agree that it's not 5 star and watch the new developments. Lots of new rooms being built but not at the 5 star level so the place could be spoiled by lots of noise and too many people. We liked the peaceful atmosphere. As the other reviews commented. It's isolated and trips to town are expensive. Why would you leave! Excellent clean beach with lovely staff and good prices at the bar! We had a great stay. Rooms are nice but not flash!

Room Tip: Pay the extra to be right on the beach! We spent hours from our comfortable beds outside looking ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Khun Jude W

Thank you for a wonderful review and a positive feedback, we are known as a 5 star resort,
when the next resort is completed end of the year this will not affect much on the beach, the resort next door has its own pool and dining areas,
looking forward to welcoem you both back in the near future.
Best regards, the staff and managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caerleon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 9 nights and booked a castaway bungalow. Overall we had a great time and thought the bungalow was lovely. It is very isolated, but that makes it a special place. The further you go out snorkeling the clearer the water is and there are some very colourful fish out there. The beach is stunning. If you need a break from your busy lives this is the place to go.
There are a few things that need to be sorted firstly a proper door on the toilet. Also the staff at breakfast were never very attentive and spent more time looking at their mobile phones. It really does need a manager to sort that out. When we booked there was no mention of the building works and whilst we were at the far end of the beach, it was really noisy at breakfast. The increase in accommodation will I think spoil the resort.
Steve and Caron

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank caronh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Steven and Caron

Thank you both for a wodnerful review and cosntrcutive feedback, well noted in regards to the mobile phones,we shall address this right away, should not happen.

you mentioned the cloth door, as in my previous replies we are looking into another type of door.
looking forward to welcome you back very soon,
Best regards, the staff and Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
869 reviews
1.4 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing