We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Priceless beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Barcelona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Priceless beauty”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Haad Tien is one of those resorts that leaves you breathless: Pure beauty in all aspects. The location on one of the best beaches of Koh Tao is spectacular. Expect to see some beautiful sun rises! The beach front villas have private terrace/garden with direct access to the beach. Rooms are comfortable and decorated with good taste. The resort blends seamlessly with the island landscape and pays respect to the environment. Staff is friendly and small problems were solved fast and with a smile. The restaurant and beach bar offer a good variety of dishes. You have to endure a 1,5 hour boat trip by fast ferry that can be bumpy in winter time. Spend an additional 100 THB and take a seat on the upper deck. Let Thailand surprise you and you will have a blast!

Room Tip: Not al beach villas may have uninterrupted sea view. Rooms 212 and higher do for sure. Rooms 217 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartholome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear both,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review, we are all thrilled by making your stay with us so special, reviews like these are a great motivation for all of us.

we hope we are able to welcome you both back in the near future?

Best regards,

John Morris Williams
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    419
    230
    130
    84
See reviews for
228
859
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The resort is super peaceful and the views are marvellous. They have super friendly staff and the rooms are soooo comfy and relaxing. Going there was the best rest we had during our trip.
The beach is wonderful but the only complaint I would have concerning it is that it's very small and there are a lot of trees on it, so spots are limited in the sun! Breakfast is varied and super good, mix of western and thai food. You can also rent movies at the reception for a lazy night in.
The pool is also beautiful. Overall, the complex is beautiful and you will never want to leave those bungalows!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgbrodeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Vgbrodeur,

Many thanks for a wonderful review and great feedback, we do our best to ensure our guests are made very welcome at the haad tien, our staff are very happy to read such feedback and gives them a push to achieve more.

we hope to welcome you both back in the near future.

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayern
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Haad Tien for the second time. Expect a beautiful setting with lovely beach houses, a picture perfect beach & pool area: five stars for everything that does not habe to do with the food and service. Service & food are far from what you'd expect in terms of quality, friendliness & passion from a self-acclaimed luxury resort with according rates; our impression was that the haadtien is not willing to invest the remaining 20% of effort, passion & dedication to it's guest to make this place a perfect place to spend what is supposed to be the best days of the year. In summary, if you're just looking for a beautiful place, the haad tien is a great place to stay at Ko Tao; if you're looking for an end-to-end experience we recommenf to check out other places.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank micha333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sir!

Thank you for the review and your constructive feedback, we do run a good ship here and the services are up to standard, though we did not meet your points in the food and service side,
i must apologies for that part, we have spent and are still investing in quality staff and Management to take things one step up the ladder, even though i must congratulate our staff as well over the festive period where they did nothing wrong and exceeded guest satisfaction.

our apologies once again for the loss of attention.
Best regards,
John Morris Williams
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The Haad Tien is a small, non commercial resort located on a beautiful beach. Staff are good, but not necessarily up to 5 star standards if that is what you are used to - but this isn't a 5 star resort!
Having said that, the staff are eager to please, but don't always achieve!
The manager (John) was fantastic, very personable, nice guy, and genuinely interested in making sure we were enjoying our stay - he was always visible (something that others have mentioned in previous reviews).
We stayed in a Castaway beach villa with our own sunbeds on the edge of the water. If you want to relax in a luxury shack on the beach, this is the way to do it. We saw a number of the other rooms, including the Pool Villas, which were amazing.
Be aware the beach isn't private (as they aren't in Thailand), but the staff do their best to maintain your privacy. The beach is very small - especially when the tide comes in.
You can snorkel off the beach, once you get outside of the roped off swimming area there is a Corel reef, it is very damaged in areas however pick the right time & you will see sharks & turtles - we went out most days, at varying times, and saw them more often than not. Head out to the middle of the bay as you will see very little in the swimming area. Snorkel for 10-15mins towards the mooring buoys as this is where you will have most luck - although it's a fair swim!

The restaurant is ok for the times when you don't want to go offsite.

This resort isn't one of the cheapest, but it was a favourite of ours & we will return, just hoping that the beach doesn't become too full following the development in the area.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KateCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Khun Kate,

Many thanks for the wonderful review and direct feedback, feedback like yours helps us develop further, our guest satisfaction and service.
correct we are a 4 star resort, not 5 we preffer to remain as a top 4 star, some of your points are correctr the staff do try their best and we have added more additional internship studnets who have background in service to help our staff along and of course our guests who may need some help.
with the new development next door we would be able to close off the access from that location making our beach more private,
for myself i love to be around for our geust i make friends and the enjoyable part is to assist and be seen its very important.
we are all looking forward to welcome you both back in the near future,

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The villas and bungalows are extemely nice, and together with restaurant and beach bar and pool located just by the fantastically white sand beach. Within just a few swimstrokes there's excellent snorkelling with plenty of fish - and easily spotted black tip reef shark. No need to go on snorkelling tours, as this is all here... (other tour operators' dive and snorkel boars come here and anchor further out). Good breakfast (even if presentation could be nicer), proper coffee. Now, as this is positioned as an upmarket resort there are a few things to improve. 1. more throrogh cockroach cleaning/spraying 2. speed up beach bar lunch service (go to less than 45 mins...) 3. improve internet access stability 4. change beds (far too firm for my I think 'normal' preference).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alwaysexploring110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Alweays Explore,

Many thanks for your wonderful review and direct feedback, much apreciated, with these comments we are able to move forward and imporve, at breakfast we use Bonn cafe and a natural coffee bean grown in Thailand, we offer regular, espresso and latte along with capuccino,
there will be during the eyar a change to the buffet layout and style this we have seen and discussed for a while now.
our pest control is monthly and HK team does clean each room daily then sprays to reduce the creatures of the surounding natural environment.
for the beach bar, again a plan is to expand both the seating area and ther kitchen to facilitate our in house geusts, hard to serve all when they come at the same time this is a point we have seen during our busy periods, adding more staff has reduced, the solution is to have the additional space and kitchen to make a faster service.
Internet this is beiing looked at hopefull this year a more faster and effectrive service can be introduced, though due to the signal coming from the main land some days we do have a slow down in the conections, our apologies there.

hope to welcome you back in the enar future!
Best regards,

John Morris Williams
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

You have to experience it for yourself, beautiful chalets, amazing beach and pool. Staff were all friendly and food was fantastic. Only down side was the dive centre being more expensive then the other operators in town. But we hired scutters and had easy access to the rest of the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 818jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Both,

Thank you very much for your thorough review, the team at haad tien is delighted and thrilled by making your holiday special.
reviews like this are a great motivation for all of us.

we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The place is wonderfully fit in the nature and you really feel you are in paradise. All the credits for the architecture of the place. Beach is perfect as well as the pool. The small huts are well maintained and all in wood.
If you search for peacefull holiday then you find the perfect spot. On the other hand the whole island is very interested and full of good restaurants and beaches. But you would not find better beach than in the Haad Tien resort.
We were two couples staying there for 5 nights even though we have been warned by the manager that it may be too long stay because they are bit isolated and the island is small. They also told us in advance they have the building site so it can be noise from time to time during breakfast. It was so nice from then to tell us so but believe me 5 days is not enough if you really want to enjoy and the noise was very far from the beach, pool aria and hats. If I would have chance I would go back to this paradise again for sure.

Room Tip: We slept in hidaway villas as the manager suggested. It is the cheapest villa but with most privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Both,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we are delighted that we were able to make your stay memorable and special. a review like this gives us the push to try harder and improve our standards.
hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.4 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing