We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst hotel EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The worst hotel EVER”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because the hotel was recommended to us. Even so the hotel is quite new almost everything is in bad condition. The staff isn't friendly at all but very good in making jokes about almost everybody. As they are currently building a new beachclub it is very noisy and a rotten smell is everywhere. We would never come again!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Franka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Kamolnetr, General Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Franka,

On behalf of the HaadTien Beach Resort, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review. You will be happy to know that we are currently in the process of refurbishing the interior of the bungalows with an expected completion date of this coming November. We apologize if you perhaps took our teams friendly joking about personally, I am certain that this was a misunderstanding but do apologize if you were offended.

The smell that you have described was due to an inefficiency located on the Beach Club side of our resort which is entirely separate from HaadTien. The Beach Club is a newly opened property and we are constantly doing quality control checks to ensure that defects such as these are taken care of efficiently. Since your review we have installed a new filtration system which has completely rid the resort of the unpleasant odor.

I would like to thank you again for your review.

Best regards,
C. Kamolnetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    553
    415
    227
    128
    83
See reviews for
226
851
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

The beach club is the new section of the resort. Brand new with great naked wood decorations. I got a beach sea view room. As soon as we got into the room the smell in it was disgusting. The have a BIG problem with drainage!! You can smell it almost from the lobby.
We tried to sleep there one night but the smell was so strong I felt sick to my stomach.
The second day I asked for a villa in the old part of the resort. The gave me a decent discount to move to a villa (in the middle of the jungle, super old, dirty surrounding, mosquito net on the bad with many holes)
The check in was kind of unfriendly and smileless. It was better when we moved to the villas (but just the check in)
The breakfast was quite good.
The beach in front of the resort (which is the same for the clients in the villas) is very small but worst part is that the 60% of it is fulfilled with boats for the excursions, so actually all the clients have to share a the small remaining 40% of it.
If and ONLY if they would fix the drainage problem bringing the disgusting smell I would recommend the beach club! The villas are overpriced and very old!
Such a shame... The look of it is really adorable...

About the location it's around 10 minutes by taxi to the port (around 5€) and 15 minutes to sairee beach which is where a little night life happens (around 8€ by taxi as well)

The resort has a fair offer of group free transfer to sairee.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Kamolnetr, General Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Leenos,

Thank you for your review! The Beach Club is our brand new offering on the resort we aim to be as eco-friendly as possible and stick to a minimalist theme. The smell that you mention was a defect that was so unfortunately being handled the week of your visit. We can reassure you that the problem has since been completely solved and the foul scent is no longer present.

The HaadTien Beach Resort is our signature resort. Our resorts are both proud to boast one of the only private beaches on the island and the bungalows were intended to surround you with nature, alas creating the ‘barefoot luxury’ that we hoped to provide you with the experience of.

Regarding the comment about the traditional Thai long tails parked in the bay, a select few of them belong to the resort whilst the remainder are outside boats who conduct snorkeling trips around the island. Shark Bay is absolutely beautiful and well known for the black tip reef sharks that it is home to, thus visitors often wish to quickly stop in the bay to snorkel around on their trip. Otherwise, the beach and large snorkeling area is kept private for our guests.

Kindly thank you again for your review and we do hope that you will return to visit us someday.

Best regards,
C. Kamolnetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We came with our teenage children in order for one of them complete hid diving course. We found the hotel through the internet and were impressed with the bungallows. When we arrived we discovered that the resort is pretty far away from the center which could have been ok uf shuttles offered were more regular. The management has to get a grip on services offered for guests -the arrangements are not complete and too many mistakes were made. Otherwise if you're looking for a quiet yet pricy vacation this is the place for you

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendorim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Kamolnetr, General Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Bendorim5,

Thank you for your comments, they are important to us! Glad to hear that your son enjoyed his diving course. As you witnessed, we have a state of the art dive centre (Reef Dive Centre) which is equipped to meet the needs of divers of any level. HaadTien is secluded and set in the southern tip of the island on Shark Bay- we are one of the only resorts offering a private beach- but we do offer 3 shuttles into the nearby towns and a taxi service is readily available should guests wish to go outside the resort outside our scheduled hours.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
C. Kamolnetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel can't be faulted! The staff were all friendly and helpful, spoke great english, best western food in the whole of Thailand and the some of the best snorkeling in the world!.

The room was high spec, hot water, A/c luxury living. The resort was a lot bigger than we expected some 100+ huts and now a hotel too. However the resort was quiet and peaceful to our surprise. We stayed in the Haad Tien villa and highly recommend it, just a short walk from the beach and more private than the beach villas which would have people sitting outside off all day.

The staff were great, we hired a canoe with no fuss, the staff even let us get one out early without charging extra. We recommend canoeing over to shark island, its quite a paddle so get the man to do it ;), tie the canoe up and get your snorkel on for some amazing marine views. If you don't fancy the canoe then be sure to swim that bit further out from the beach front to see the reef sharks which were amazing and about 6 circled around me (by the big roped boats but try to stay clear of the smaller boats taking people out for snorkeling trips as they scare the sharks a bit further out).

The food was great for us western diets, it had great icecream milkshakes and "the best pizza ever", according to the wife. Can't fault this place, it really made our honeymoon complete!

Thank you all.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Kamolnetr, General Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Andy S,

We hope you have had a safe trip back home. Thanks so much for your outstanding review and we are so glad that you’ve chosen to share your Honeymoon with us. We strive to create a full sensory experience that is truly rejuvenating and relaxing for our guests during their holiday with us.

We continually train our staff to exhibit the true and very real Thai hospitality that this beautiful country is so well known for. This includes hospitality, grooming, English lessons, presentation, manners, etc. We are so delighted to hear that their hard work is paying off.

Please contact us when you come back for your next visit so that we can reserve your favorite room for you! Thank you kindly for the review and we truly hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
C. Kamolnetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

This place is in a fantastic location, literally on the best beach of Koh Thao. The bungalows are awesome, even if not of extreme luxury but very well suited to the environment, The views from the Getaway Villa that has almost 360% full glass view, if you open all the curtains, is breathtaking. The sea is crystal clear and if you swim about 100 hundred meters from the coast with a mask, most probably you will be able to see impressing sharks but don't be afraid, they are vegetarian.
Food is standard, pricier than at town but very nice to sit in the restaurant besides the sea. Getting to Sairee beach can be done with the shuttle that goes 4 times a day but usually need to come back by taxi that is relatively expensive (400-500 Bath) because the shuttle times are not so convenient and they are coming back from the pier and not from Sairee. It would be nice that the hotel will add a shuttle leaving from Sairee at ~23:00.
It is a good compromise between being a little bit far (20 mins taxi) from the center where action is going on, that you will surely want to go if you will want to eat good food at very cheap prices (you shouldn't miss Su Chilli - look at the board on the wall for the Top 10 dishes and you can't fail) and just going around in the cute pedestrian. Of course if you are into diving, you have dozens of places around there - Bans is recommended. Also, for the ones looking for some more adrenalin, I recommend the Free Diving course at Apnea Total.
I will definitely come again when I'll have the chance.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RobinBraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Kamolnetr, General Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear RobinBraun,

Thank you for the excellent review, we really appreciate hearing feedback from our guests as it only allows us to improve on areas which need to be further developed.

Glad to see that you’ve had an encounter with the reef sharks of Shark Bay, they truly are just like puppies! Nothing to be afraid of! We are also happy to see that our villas have met and exceeded your expectations. We refurbish them yearly to ensure they are of the highest standard for our guests.

We have recently opened our own on-site dive centre, Reef Dive Centre, which is located behind inSea restaurant; there is no need to even have to leave the resort to meet your diving needs!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Best regards,
C. Kamolnetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

we had a great time at the head then. we stayed in one of the family villas, with a little plunge pool. Very luxurious, great team of staff, food excellent. the position of the hotel is outstanding on beautiful shark bay. My only reason for not giving this 5 stars is that given that Ko Tao so vulnerable environmentally would have been great to see/hear more about how the hotel is working to protect the environment more. Eg the reef just off the beach is basically trashed...

Room Tip: family get away villas set back so quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Kamolnetr, General Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Joanna,

Thank you for your response with such positive feedback. The opinions of all of our guests truly matters so that we may adjust to improve. HaadTien has a lovely setting, a picture perfect backdrop for any holiday-goer. We are pleased that you’ve enjoyed the ‘barefoot luxury’ that we’ve set out to create solely for your enjoyment.

About the house Reef in Shark Bay, it’s a shame that you didn’t have a moment to have a chat with our staff at our on-site dive centre, Reef. The dive centre, as well as the resort, are both very environmentally conscious. HaadTien will eventually use renewable energy sources and we currently collect rain water for filtration as our source of water supply. Reef works closely with a marine conservation group based on Koh Tao which is associated with the Thai government in the Department of Marine Conservation. Unfortunately, the entire island suffered from coral bleaching in 2010 which is the source of the damaged coral. Since the water temperature has since regulated itself, the coral will slowly regrow. We have also joined GreenFins Thailand and we have imposed a fin ban in the bay where the water is not too deep- this prevents unaware travelers from standing on the coral and thus further damaging it. We are also building our own artificial reefs on-site which are deployed into the bay to further help it prosper. I hope this reassures you that something is being done to rectify the house reef.

Thanks again for your comments, we hope to see you back at HaadTien in the near future.

Best regards,
C. Kamolnetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The place is beutifull. In our rooms we had a very bad smell of sewage and most of the time the service was poor.If someone still wants to stay at this place it will be much better to stay at the bungalos erea and not at the beach resort which has the very bad smell of sewage.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nirkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Kamolnetr, General Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear nirkap,

Thank you for your review. We sincerely apologize that you have had a poor experience at our resort.

We do continually train our staff to exhibit the true and very real Thai hospitality that this beautiful country is so well known for. This includes hospitality, grooming, English lessons, presentation, manners, etc. We will continue to do so in the future to ensure that the standard and quality of service to future guests is raised.

As you know, the Beach Club is a new and separate addition to the resort, so we would like to apologize for the smell that had been lingering the week during your stay. We can confidently reassure you that a new filtration system has been installed and the scent has been completely removed from all areas of the Beach Club.

Thanks again for your review.

Best regards,
C. Kamolnetr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
1.4 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing