We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing and eco-friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I stayed for four days and three nights in the beginning of February. There was a free pick-up service from the pier which was good but you should be ready for a wild off-road ride. It's just short enough not to be scary.
The hotel seems pretty isolated but once we looked around Saree Beach, we were just happy and relieved to stay at the Haad Tien Resort.
The trees on the beach were just so charming and unique.
You probably think the Cottage (where we stayed) was small,(a bungalow style bedroom with a toilet and shower) but if you spend most of your time on the beach, it's just adequate accommodation.
The food at restaurant was good, as was the service and general atmosphere. The seafood BBQ was a big disappointment but every other dish I ordered was very nice especially the Thai dishes.
Construction of the swimming pool was not complete and didn't look like it will be ready anytime soon. However it didn't bother us much with noise.
This could be personal but be prepared for mosquitoes. I always attract them wherever I go. I applied a lot of mosquito repellent at breakfast and dinner in the restaurant (it's an open air set-up). It wasn't such a problem during the daytime though.
The free shuttle to pier was handy. The receptionist was helpful. The other staff were friendly as well.
I rented a sea kayak and it was worth it to paddle around.
If I go back to Koh Tao, I will stay in the Haad Tien Resort again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria0128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

We have just spend 10 days at the Haad Tien resort and we totally loved it! We have been reading the comments from other guests and some of it, we can understand so we try to give you a short list of the tops and tips in our experience.
Staff is really friendly and a nice approach to them certainly helps. These people work long, long days and have to deal with demanding people as well. We have seen one lady at the reception working ten days in a row from early morning untill late at night having to deal with everything. This is something management should change.
The rooms are wonderfull but there is some construction going on, so make sure you book one not to close to the building site. We where warned in advance by the resort through mail, and the little noise did not bother us.
Transportation to the villages is provided minimal; three times a day going out, only once a day bringing people back. We quickly rented a motorbike and when you don't have to depand on the transport provided, it makes things a lot easier. However, travelling with kids, the resort should offer more transportation.
The restaurant on the resort was a lovely place to have dinner, however the food was not special and to high priced if you compare it to the wonderfull food we ate at local places just for a few dollars.
What other people comment on the beach is partly true, boats do dropp off people but we never found the beach overcrowded. The thing is that no resort can make a claim for a privat beach because by Thai law all the beaches must remain public. The guestst from other places where not allowed on the premissis and there was security around to monitor that. So, this is is beautiful resort with nice clean rooms, a spectacular beach and view, nice people working there and they try to learn and improve. For divers staying here; go to Master Diver for fun diving, not the one the resort recommends.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

A very beautiful resort. We were upgraded to a Castaway Family villa. It was absolutely beautiful. With one of the best views from the room. But after walking through the resort all the rooms looked well placed and beautiful. Haadtien was such a welcome treat after arriving in Koh Tao via the Lomprayah. If you are traveling with kids, please either fly to Koh Tao or use the train. You can even hire a private van. It is not advisable to use the Lomprayah bus service, we were extremely disappointed. We arrived in Chumporn at 3:00.m and were seated in front of the pier for over 3 hours till the catamaran arrived. Thanks to the mosquito repellent or we would not have survived the ordeal.

The resort has been newly built and the management are still working on the amenities. The pool isunder construction and so is the spa. So if you are looking for either check with the resort staff before booking. The restaurant definitely needs improvement, we found it lacked variety in the cuisine and food was average. Another alternative would be to hop over to the other near by resorts for a meal.

The resort in nestled in one of the most beautiful bays in Koh Tao. From the way the rooms were built it was evident that they were designed keeping the environment in mind. A concept both me and my husband value and appreciate.
In terms of room quality, location, service and value I must say Haadtien has exceeded our expectations. I will not only recommend this resort to friends but will definitely be visiting it again!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Didn’t stay here as manager went out of her way to be unwelcoming. Ko Tao isn’t any easy place to find the best place to stay, so we spent much of our first 24 hours driving round to different hotels checking them out. It was in this mode that we dropped into HT and asked to see a room. The Manager breathed an audible sigh, asked us rudely if we knew how much they charged and eventually and very reluctantly showed us a couple of rooms. As it happens the resort is quite nice, with a rustic low key style and comfortable huts, a little bit too close to each other but otherwise fine. Its greatest asset is the beach, which is one of the nicest on the island and which it shares with only one other hotel (Rocky Resort). But there was no way we were going to stay there with such appalling staff, food was also limited and overpriced.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank DemandingAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Haad Tien beach resort is beautiful. We thoroughly recommend it. The Island of Koh Tao is very small and not overly developed and the Haad Tien beach resort has been constructed in a very delicate manner that has not ruined the area at all.

Jan (the owner) was very friendly and couldn't help enough. We had a room upgrade which is always nice and Jan helped us find a friendly local dive school which was also fantastic.

They offer a free shuttle service to the main town which is also a big plus.

Overall the rooms are beatiful and comfortable, the resort is lovely and quiet, the beach is stunning and we were very sad to leave.

At the moment the resort is classed as a 4* due to not having a pool but whilst we were there the pool was being built. I would say in a couple of years all the building will have stopped and it will be a fantastic resort. Lets hope it doesn't get too busy when all the huts have been built.

The food is very good and the resort restaurant has a beatiful location with views over the secluded bay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingernutbrownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I was really disappointed with my stay at the Haad Tien. From the website, I expected something much more up to date and serene. The hotel is undergoing construction, which we were not informed of at the time of booking. If we had known this we could have considered staying elsewhere or at least it would not have been a surprise when we arrived and found the noise close to our room and irritating. Our greeting upon arrival at the hotel was cold and somewhat rude. The hostess was abrupt and unfriendly, which really surprised us. The location on a secluded beach is lovely in it’s idea however, it was slightly overcrowded due to all the other guests from other hotels hanging out there. Our room was ok, not great and very noisy due to the construction. When we inquired about a room change, we were shown an odd cabin at the very end of the strip of rooms, which is used for the caretaker – so weird. We were never offered a castaway cabin, which are beachfront, somewhat more updated and out of the way of all the noise. When we suggested a move to one of these we were told that it would cost us over double what we were already paying. Then it was suggested that we perhaps move to another hotel and they would refund us. So odd. It really surprised me that the hotel seemed very disinterested in accommodating us and taking care of us. I think that with time and care, this will be a great spot. If they can get rid of the other people on the beach and update the rooms to match the website, then it will be a great location. The service was ok, not great and certainly not up to the standards of friendly engagement that we have experienced elsewhere in Thailand. I have to say that I was really disappointed with my stay here and am glad that it was only for three nights before moving to other locations. If I had booked this as my only place on vacation or honeymoon, I would have been really upset.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettertogether11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

a wonderful place! if you like sharks, you will enjoy great snorkeling. we really had a good time there.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelineetStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
304 reviews
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club by Haadtien
Beach Club by Haadtien
#20 of 50 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £65 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sawasdee, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing