We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great island, Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wind Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wind Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 72 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great island, Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Koh tao, or Turtle Island, is one of many tastes of paradise that Thailand has to offer. It is full of beauty, activity, and nightlife for those young at heart.
This little island is nestled along the South East coast of Thailand. It is known as a diver’s paradise, but is great for people from all walks of life. From romance to whale sharks, I promise, you will not be disappointed.
The west side is for those looking for a little sleep and relaxation by day. Here you will find the great Sairee beach, where it is busy with restaurants and shops, Soft quiet sandy beaches and lots of fellow travellers by day. By night, bars, clubs come alive, and fire throwers light up the sky. Nightly, there is a Queens Cabaret, a wonderfully entertaining show which is free and a riot! Don’t sit too close to the front if you are shy! Follow the show up with a few drinks at Chopper, the local bar and grill. This is a great place to listen to music and make new friends. Then, it’s time to see the real Koh Tao nightlife at Lotus bar. No matter what the occasion, this bar is always bumpin’. Located right on the water with free nightly fire shows (donations appreciated), you can’t pass it up! Grab yourself a bucket and mingle! Can’t find Lotus? Just listen for music and people at about midnight and you will find your way. Finally, If you are a real night owl and are still looking for trouble, check out Office bar. Office is small and quaint, and full of local divers and friends.
A day trip worth mentioning from Sairee is to Koh NangYuan. You hop on a longtail and enjoy the view for about 10 minutes. You will arrive at a strange wobbling dock that will lead you to paradise! Nangyuan is a serene place where you can really relax. Take a mask, snorkel this amazing inlet, and feed tropical fish by hand! Mae Haad Beach is located just south of Sairee and has countless shops and eateries to explore as well.
Stay at the wind beach resort. It has a GREAT location on the beach, is a fair price, has great food, and the people who work there are awesome!

Room Tip: I like the cabanas near the beach, but the rooms at the back have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    95
    85
    56
    63
See reviews for
19
171
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

My partner and I stayed here whilst visiting the island for a wedding. Absolute bargain for the price we paid. Loved the staff, room and food. There is such a relaxed and inviting atmosphere to the place. Beautiful setting too! We shall definitely return to Wind Beach should we go back to Koh Tao...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PLH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We ate here several times as the green chicken curry was delicious and the staff was friendly, it was in front of Sairee beach and had free internet acces. There was also a free pool table and alwas had a nice chilled out atmosphere. The place was offering accomodation as well but we can not review on that. I would recommend this place to eat and chill out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NuriaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

So this place is cheap, relatively speaking! We got a room, like the terrace bungalow, not the hut for B1000 per night for 5 nights low season! On first impression the place seems ok, it has AC, TV and hot water! That is about it!
We left after 2 nights, the bathroom wasn't very clean there was mould on the ceiling and the water smelled when it was running. Also on the bed there was a sheet on the bottom and a towelling sheet on top so very rough to sleep under also there were stains on the bed clothes. We were there for two nights and on the room was never cleaned, when you consider that you have to put toilet paper in the bin and not down the toilet (as is common in Asia) this is really disgusting!
There seem to be a lot of staff but I have no idea what they do, when we were at the beach bar they never even offered us a menu and seemed put out when we ordered a drink. There was on girl there who was lovely but that was it we couldn't wait to get out!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie_D53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We booked an air-conditioned room for 3 nights for around 1500 baht / night (not cheap, huh?) When we checked in, we found that the floor of the room is full of sand and the bedsheets looked yellow in color. We doubted that if anyone cleaned up the room...Ok...fine...and then in the middle of the night, I felt quite uncomfortable while sleeping on the bed. When I opened my eyes, I saw a COCKROACH on the bed!!!! I quickly turned on the light and my boyfriend even found another COCKROACH in the toilet!!! Oh my god....we couldn't stand with it at all. Therefore, on the next day, we booked another room nearby which is very clean and tidy. It costs only 1000baht / night. Actually there are many nice hotels nearby offering good rooms.

Undeniably, this "resort" is just next to Sairee Beach which is very convenient in terms of location, but think twice before booking it. If you want to sleep in such a dirty room, go ahead!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Friendly staff, great location clean rooms and not very expensive. I stayed for 1 month as i liked it so much

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benwhitney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed in a newly built deluxe luxury room and were pleasantly surprised how spacious and comfortable the room was. It was nicely decored and had a fridge filled with various different beverages, air conditioning and a king-size bed.

But that's pretty much where the pros ended. First of all, no cleaning during our entire stay! Our friends room was cleaned once, but just because they happened to pump into one of the cleaning ladies and asked for it!

The location is noisy as hell, the road leading to the beach through the resort is busy 24/7. Dogs, scooters, small trucks, partying people.. Also the noise from nearby bars (including the resorts own by the beach) keeps you awake at night.

The personnel was quite nice but the whole "system" they had with the reservations and billing was not organized at all. Our laundry nearly got lost, huge hassel with meal orders every time and when it came to payment of our meals, drinks, laundry and minibar when we were leaving, I never got to see any kind of receipts, just total amount was given to me hand written to a piece of paper and that's was it.

Room had to be paid when checking in and according to hotel policy you have to notify the reception one day before you leave or else they will charge you extra (don't ask me why).

Breakfast was a complete joke. On the menu there are loads of breakfast items to choose from but guess what the hotel guests had to eat every single day? Coffee, juice(not fresh), toast, fried eggs and bacon. Nothing else couldn't be chosen from the large variety. After one day we ended up eating breakfast from a buffet in a nearby hotel at only 150BHT.

So to sum it up, there are better options at Sairee beach where you can get a bit more for what you've paid for. Wouldn't go back to this resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.1 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#27 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.0 mi away
Saireehut Resort
Saireehut Resort
#90 of 135 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Beach Resort

Property: Wind Beach Resort
Address: 17 Moo 1 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wind Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Wind Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing