We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kind of a dump”
Review of Wind Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wind Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 76 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kind of a dump”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived hoping for a week of relaxation after extensive travel in Thailand. The reception was very un-Thai - chilly, disorganized, unwelcoming. We were shown our room - up a flight of steps each of which was about 14" deep - very weird - and down a long hallway. Our 'view' (this was supposed to be a superior room) was of a construction site on one side and a blank wall on the other. The room itself was okay but the little balcony was basically unusable because of the noise and ugly view, so we figured the beach was where we would probably be spending our time. BTW, the pool is seemingly out of commission during construction - but then, this might not be true, because we just couldn't see the pool, we weren't really told anything by the reception. We thus walked to the 'beach' along a wooden walkway that sort of ended mid-construction, past a laundry and a few shops, and arrived at a small strip of sand not large enough to lay on at high tide. Went back to the room and used the wifi to quickly book something else and got out. It cost us a night's hotel to use the wifi, but it was worth it to us to not spend a week in a place we were pretty sure was going to make us miserable. They were unsurprised when we checked out - maybe this happens more often than one might think.

I think if you were 20-something and wanted to be in the middle of the Sairee Beach party scene, this hotel might be fine - their rooms were full, but it was Christmas week - but if you're looking for a beautiful tropical spot to relax and enjoy the sea, this is not the place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaudiaMalacrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    98
    87
    57
    66
See reviews for
20
173
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
amrb
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Rooms are large and mostly clean. Some are open to the sky so it's difficult to keep the mozzies out. Pool is lovely and the restaurant is convenient and serves tasty food, and drink. A reasonable place for a reasonable price- about 1900 bht a night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amrbAmrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at wind beach for five nights, the room was fantastic and was worth the upgrade. Traveling with friends we spent most of the time by the pool and sun deck at victor's Bar. topless bathing in Thailand is often frowned upon although this resort's private sun deck provided the perfect designated topless bathing area, only thing is it closes at 2pm for the bar to open.

The bar was also nice and every night had the same relaxing vibe with a familiar group of people.

Would recommend to a friend or whom ever needs a relaxing beach holiday and nice tan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrick60
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Anybody thinking about booking this hotel should seriously think about what they want before booking it. Reading the reviews does reflect on what you want from a hotel. We looked and read about lots of hotel before booking this and we made the wrong decision. All the reviews are from people's different experiences here and if you want quite, peaceful and tranquil this really is not place to book. We booked a standard room with breakfast, the room was big and clean but very noisy, you can hear talking from other rooms, noise from the street and in the evening you have the busy bars on the street. The breakfast was so basic and not worth the money, the staff were the most unhelpful and u friendliest we have ever met in Thailand. Sadly I don't think there is anything positive I can say about this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Located on the far end of Sairee beach this "resort" offers decent stay for good $$$.

We spend here 5 nights in standard room which was adequate but no more than that.

Breakfast was along the same line as everything else,good but nothing special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beliblisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed in one of the new rooms at Wind Beach. The room was lovely and just a 2min walk up a path to the restaurant and pool. Pool was nice but the deck chairs had no pads so very uncomfortable. Restaurant is great with lots of nice seating right on beach. Bar good too with a live fire show every night at 7pm. Buffet breakfast was ok but typical for islands. Staff at restaurant not very friendly but bar staff were nice. Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Booked 3 nights at the hotel with a double bed.Upon arrival we were told that there is no double bed available, but only twin bed. After I told them that I booked a double bed, they said that they could move the 2 beds together, but thankfully soon someone came to say that a double bed was available afterall.

After a short hassle we got to our room. It was very clean. The towels were folded neatly on the bed, and it had an aircon and a little balcony to the view of a loud construction site across a dirt road. Didnt use the pool, but it looked lovely. The breakfast of the restaurant was decent, although the staff were kind of lazy and the lady cooking the omelettes was clearly avoiding doing her job.

Bonus for clean rooms and a good looking pool, but this hotel needs to come up with better customer service. I think you can get a better hotel for the same money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraSimppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.4 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#60 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saireehut Resort
Saireehut Resort
#75 of 138 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Beach Resort

Property: Wind Beach Resort
Address: 17 Moo 1 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wind Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wind Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing