We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach resort a bit far from the beach... Or boat park”
Review of Wind Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wind Beach Resort
Ranked #45 of 76 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Hanoi
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beach resort a bit far from the beach... Or boat park”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in a big group 4 couples in 4 rooms. Our room was clean and spacious but set back a few minutes walk away from the beach. The view was a street and mass of power lines. to get to the pool/beach area you walked along a side road which was awful, holes everywhere and poorly lit which made it very dangerous at night. On arriving to the pool there was a building site including mass sand piles and building materials blocking the foot path. It was like an assort course to get there. The pool was ok not a great deal of space to sit and the pool bar was closed all day until about an hour before the pool closed. The noise from the building site was frustrating and not relaxing in the slightest. The pool toilets were gross, but it was such a walk to the room we had to use them. At night the bar was great, beautiful view of the sun set and we enjoyed the happy hour cocktails. Food in the restaurant was OK, the beach BBQ was lovely. The beach front was disappointing... it was dirty from all the taxi boats there. Having said that taking a trip on the taxi boat around the Island was wonderful. Overall I was very disappointed and my expectations not met. We imagined this to be a relaxing few days in a beautiful surrounding but found ourselves on a building site. The hotel should have warned us!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseJ2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    98
    87
    57
    66
See reviews for
20
173
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the block above 'Simple Life Diving' our room had a fan and priced at 900 baht per night.
Upon arrival the lady in reception was helpful and let us see our room before checking in. The room was very basic but was suitable for what we needed.

Location - only 1 min walk from a beautiful beach.

Pool - very clean, large and stunning view with a pool bar. Clean towels provided when required for the pool or beach.

Food - good food pretty much the same as most of the local bars around.

Wifi - top class, they have several different wifis within the resort and you've got the password for all on your key so you'll never be without a good connection.

Car park - good closed car park for your moped.

Bad points; room very dark at night due to poor lighting, a lot of bits even know we had deet 95% maybe due to bed bugs. Fan not much good, get AC.
No 24 hour check out which resulting in us losing our 1000 baht deposit, also no signs to to make you aware of this.

Overall - great location on a beautiful Island, would I stay there again? Maybe the resort but in a better room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kev361361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks last week and its lovely! Really good value for money and right on the beach! Also the pool is great for cooling down in the hot sun! But what really made staying here special was the staff, especially Zowoe Art & Rudey from the bar.. Lovely lovely people who couldn't be more helpful and were lovely to speak to! Also the big dog is beautiful. Overall great stay!

Room Tip: Only stayed in the basic fan room but was fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My bf & i were there for almost 5days 4nights... we were on our diving trip mission and we took the cheapest Fan room (only approx RM60/night) situated on the top most floor at one of the buildings...

The resort is undergoing some maintenance on its new units, so it can be quite dusty and messy around the hotel area toward the dining and pool...

The fan room is super cheap, but because the weather is approx 40 degress in Ko Tao, it was a bad move to take a fan room.... but we saved alot from it, and use it for diving activities instead...There was only ONE fan in such a big room that the fan does not cover the room's heat/air properly.... it would b goood to put a centralised fan or other stand fans..

location is good.. near to many good stalls... not far from the "happening" street with night life.. hotel staff are "so So" only...not so friendly... close to many amenities and necessity...

overall ok unit but would seriously consider upgrading the fan situation rooms...

Room Tip: weather in koh tao was more than 40 degrees.. If u are on a romantic getaway, choose the rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank birdbird84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here a few years, the staff we so friendly and the room was fine. It's a perfect location - right on the beach and a 2 mins walk to the main bar on the beach everyone goes to. It's not a luxury hotel, but perfect at what it does. The guys who run it are hilarious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisMJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We only stayed here becuase we arrived after the FMP and it was the only thing we could find with any availability!
It was really overpriced.
We paid 1500 baht for a private double room and although it was clean and had aircon- the room smelt of mould and there was no security. We also couldnt use the pool becuase it was shut for the day!
The staff at recpetion weren't particularly friendly and I think they knew we were being ripped off as they sold us the room!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We ended up staying here after looking around for ages and not finding anything in our price range. We met a few girls who were trying to get rid of a room they had already paid for so gave it to us at a discounted price. We paid a thousand baht for a superior room with breakfast which I would say was worth the money but if I had paid anymore than that, I think the room is usually 1700 baht I would be disappointed. The bed is really comfy and big but apart from that the room and hotel is nothing special. The pool is a really murky colour and smells and the restaurant looks really dark and dirty. We passed up the breakfast, didn't really want rice which was all that was left when we got there. Staff are also unhelpful. We've stayed in accommodation that is so much nicer for so much cheaper all over Asia. It's not a bad hotel but it's just not worth the price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Poseidonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.4 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#60 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saireehut Resort
Saireehut Resort
#80 of 138 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Beach Resort

Property: Wind Beach Resort
Address: 17 Moo 1 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wind Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wind Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing