We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location a bit away from the party but close enough to walk into town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 72 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Siegburg
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location a bit away from the party but close enough to walk into town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed at Bow Thong as part of our diving course with Newway Diving and we extended our stay to a 10 day long stay. Even though we were sleeping in the smallest cheapest bungalow a bit towards the back of the resort, we really enjoyed our stay there. Our bungalow was very basic with only cold water and fairly out-dated decoration but I think the bungalows closer to the front are a bit more up-market (but also a lot more expensive). For a backpacker it is the perfect place where you can have a beach bungalow but don't pay a crazy amount of money for it!
Yummie breakfast and lunches with our favourite waiter "Sam", perfect location really close to the beach with a bit less "traffic" than closer to town but only less than a 10 minute walk into town, the other restaurants and our diving school!
We would definitely stay there again despite our room only being cleaned upon us asking for it (but then it always got cleaned straight away)!

All waiters and staff were really friendly!

Perfect location!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    130
    38
    20
    12
See reviews for
46
148
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

We did not stay here but did eat here a few times and found the food to be the best in koh Tao. Please note my review is for the food only.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyday122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

Pros :

1.Very reasonable price
2. Good Location

Cons :

1. No hot water
2. Smelly toilet

-------- o --------- o ---------

Staff were helpful and friendly. The thai lady who worked there looked a bit unfriendly but actually she was a very nice person.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladygagafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

I researched for months to find a bungalow on the beach, and got exactly what I wanted. As others have stated, no frills, but there is no better location on Koh Tao if you love sitting on your own porch ON THE BEACH!
Others have complained about the lady who runs the place, but we LOVED her! She had so many funny stories and was very helpful and friendly. One of the male staff was a real [--], but other than that the stay was perfect. It is on the far North end of Sairee Beach and far enough from the parties on the South end but well within walking distance of anything you'd need. We dove with Big Blue, which I also highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank japanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

I would definitely recommend this place. It is no Ritz, but it was very nice and a great value. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. The location was also excellent. It is located on the northern end of Sai Ree Beach, but it is still conveniently close to the restaurants and shops in Sai Ree beach.

They upgraded us to an ocean view room when we arrived. The rooms were very nice with everything we needed. We were able to get wifi, but I think that was just because of our proximity to the front desk. My only complaint about the room was that the pillows were a bit hard, but that didn't stop me from sleeping like a log.

I had no problems with the staff. They were all friendly and "Sam" the guy who waited on us for breakfast always remembered what we liked.

This resort was very quiet and peaceful. The beach in front of the hotel was also very nice. If you are looking for a party, try a bit further south down Sai Ree Beach.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay9001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

This is the choice of mid range in Saree beach. If you have some 2000 BHT budget, then this is a good choice.
We stayed @ Aircon bungalow with sea view, right in front of the sea. It has a great location, the beach is all white sand and very soft, shallow water for you to do nice snorkeling. The room has free wifi, kettle (some coffee and tea), fridge, air-con and fan. All furniture are bamboo made and very thai style. bed sheet is clean.
We stayed 2 nights, no body does any room clean during our stay. The staff is not very friendly, they are doing their job but seems don't like the job they are doing. It's just a living they are making.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine-Liao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorinchem, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

I stayed here through New Way Diving and payed 750 baht a night for a fan bungalow, no hot water (but due to outside temperature it's still very good showering). I find this a very good rate for this nice bungalow. There were indeed some constructions, but this was not disturbing to me, instead it was promising for a next time. The bad thing was indeed the staff. Not so much the entire staff actually, but one person, the manager in particular, who was rude. She in fact told me when checking out how much tip I had to leave... The rest of the staff was very kind warm and helpful though. Location at the end of the beach is also great, beautiful and quiet and to the village was only a beautiful 5-10 minute walk on the beach, so no problems there. Make sure to book ahead or make good price arragnements. Some unprepared tourists next to me in a taxi back to Mae Hat payed 5000 baht for a, though be it a very nice, bungalow because they came very late and needed somewhere to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JobS21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing