We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far enough away from the noise, but close enough to the action”
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Far enough away from the noise, but close enough to the action”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My partner & I chose bow thong mostly due to location & price. It cost 1600 THB per night for an air conditioned bungalow right next to the beach. It is in north Sairee, so is a quick 5-10 min walk to resaurants/bars etc. There is a fabulous restaurant just north of Sairee (in koh Tao cabana) which we highly recommend too for views, taste & price. The only drawback from this place (keeping in mind, it's my personal opinion) is there is no hammock on the verandah- only chairs & table.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amesnmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    136
    42
    22
    12
See reviews for
48
160
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed here for week whilst visting a family member on the island. Our bungalow was on the furthest side of the resort next to Koh Tao Cabana and I would recomend staying in that part . The bungalow was basic but spotless and the cleaning staff and gardeners were very friendly. The landscaping was lovely and the borders in front of each bungalow filled with a variety of shrubs and flowers. It was a great place for huge and beautiful butterflies, the ubiquitous mynah birds, geckos and the koel calling all day long.

The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful and, like everyone else we found 'Sam' (real name Manoj) to be a total star. We only ate breakfast here as it was part of the package - although the owner 'forgot' to tell us and it was only when Manoj asked after a few days if we were on a fast that we realised. Breakfast was ok but the location made up for that. There is better food to be had for a similar price, either along the beach or in Sairee.

It was rumoured that the staff don't get the tips left in the box on reception and that if the owner discovers that money is left for staff it is docked from their pay. We made certain that money changed hands surreptitiously as wages on Koh Tao are abysmal.

The location is amazing as it is on the far end of Sairee and in amongst the much more expensive resorts. It's an easy 10 -15 minute walk to the bars, shops & restaurants in Sairee and you can go on the road or via the beach. You can walk to Mae Haad but it's a bit of a stretch in the heat and there are lots of taxis avaliable in Sairee if you haven't hired a scooter. Restaurants up on the hills will offer a pick up & drop off service if you ring and book a table in advance.

Whatever your reason for visiting make sure you take a long tail snorkelling trip around the island.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klaxon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

First visitors back on the island after recent storms. Island and resort empty, 'high street' like a river. Diving with Simple Life Divers (excellent British run company). 10days at Bow Thong. Resort is in an enviable location away from noisy bars but walkable for the young at heart. Staff not customer focused at all. Never felt they cared except for Sam the waiter who felt powerless to improve quality and was often embarrassed. Eg, Kitchen unable to produce soft boiled eggs. Supper one night (we were the only table) kitchen unable to offer rice!!. Then at 21:30 tables were cleared and lights taken down as 'owner says time for staff to go home'. Other residents returning from town were told the bar was closed. Resort is split in two one side owned by a chinese mother and the other her daughter. Mother couldn't speak english and had an aggressive demour like a hard businesswoman, obviously her only interest lay in money. Insisted we left a passport at reception for duration of stay. They have the monopoly of a beautiful location and guaranteed tourists, we can't help thinking they don't care if they don't see you again cos more mugs will follow. One day they might wake up to customer service but such quality will depend on the changing beliefs of the owners...or new owners. PS we still had a lovely time thanks to the dive centre and availability of other places to eat and drink.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahSteve4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siegburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed at Bow Thong as part of our diving course with Newway Diving and we extended our stay to a 10 day long stay. Even though we were sleeping in the smallest cheapest bungalow a bit towards the back of the resort, we really enjoyed our stay there. Our bungalow was very basic with only cold water and fairly out-dated decoration but I think the bungalows closer to the front are a bit more up-market (but also a lot more expensive). For a backpacker it is the perfect place where you can have a beach bungalow but don't pay a crazy amount of money for it!
Yummie breakfast and lunches with our favourite waiter "Sam", perfect location really close to the beach with a bit less "traffic" than closer to town but only less than a 10 minute walk into town, the other restaurants and our diving school!
We would definitely stay there again despite our room only being cleaned upon us asking for it (but then it always got cleaned straight away)!

All waiters and staff were really friendly!

Perfect location!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We did not stay here but did eat here a few times and found the food to be the best in koh Tao. Please note my review is for the food only.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anyday122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Pros :

1.Very reasonable price
2. Good Location

Cons :

1. No hot water
2. Smelly toilet

-------- o --------- o ---------

Staff were helpful and friendly. The thai lady who worked there looked a bit unfriendly but actually she was a very nice person.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladygagafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I researched for months to find a bungalow on the beach, and got exactly what I wanted. As others have stated, no frills, but there is no better location on Koh Tao if you love sitting on your own porch ON THE BEACH!
Others have complained about the lady who runs the place, but we LOVED her! She had so many funny stories and was very helpful and friendly. One of the male staff was a real [--], but other than that the stay was perfect. It is on the far North end of Sairee Beach and far enough from the parties on the South end but well within walking distance of anything you'd need. We dove with Big Blue, which I also highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank japanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
515 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#13 of 140 in Koh Tao
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing