We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“6 fantastic days”
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 76 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“6 fantastic days”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights earlier this month - we had an amazing time. It's a perfect location, not too close to the main drag but near enough to saunter down to for the evening. We loved the staff, especially Sam. Our room was cleaned really well every day, a/c was really quiet and shower had good pressure and temperature. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfa_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    133
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
47
153
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Situated on Sairee Beach, you're steps away from the sunset (you can eat dinner until 7 pm right above the beach, breathtaking!), the staff is a little standoffish but serve you well. The bungalows are beautiful, well-kept and are very comfortable. It's at the northern tip of Sairee Beach so you're within walking distance of ALL the clubs, pubs, and restos but are far enough away to have a quiet night's sleep. Room rates can be negotiated, i stayed for 1300 baht, bargained down from 1500 baht because i was staying for 4 days. Had A/C, was close enough for the public free wifi, double bed and open bathroom. Loved this place, i'd definitely return!

Room Tip: Rooms can be close to the beach and are not noisy at all. Negotiate the room price and save some ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvoryAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed at Bow Thong for a week and everything was and I recommend staying here as long as you get a bungalow by the beach. Location is incredible. Staff may seem a bit grumpy but they are not.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likemyowncompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Clean and nice bungalows, friendly staff and atmosphere.

Not to close from the bars which is better at night (less noise) but still close to the center.
The dive club next to it is great.
The drawback of being at the end of the beach is that you do not see the full sunset (in the end the sun is behind the mountain) but the full view is a few minutes walk.

Breakfast ok and on the beach.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el rehab city cairo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Although it was the peak season for what we got ,it was VERY expensive .The most expensive hotel we have ever stayed in Thailand . It would not have been too bad if they had given us nice rooms ,but they stuck us in a very dirty ,very shabby old apartment block .No mention of this was made when we paid the £80 per night for 2 rooms [4 people ]They disguise this fact by calling it a 'standard building with a/c .As we were only there for 4 nights we put up with this as the location was great ,right on the beach .
Breakfast was extremely poor ,basic and poltry ,and the Thai woman who hangs around the restaurant trying to sell trips is annoying and nosey .
Think by now you would have probally guessed that we will not be returning to Bow Thong ,there are much better quality and cleaner hotels on Koh Tao .

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay the extra then the huts look nice from the outside ,- don t know about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frustrated31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We checked into the Bowthong two nights ago for a two night stay. There wasn't anyone available to help bring our bags to the room so we had to drag our bags through the sand about 200m, not a great start but ok. While checking into our room, my boyfriend asked if they had any shampoo. The short haired abrupt woman who goes by "Fantastic" responded " for this room you get shampoo or soap but not both". The room was 2700 baht by the way. The shower towels and beach towels are rough rags. When we came back from dinner the 1st night there was a huge roach on the bathroom counter. There was another one in the shower at around 1am. At this point we covered the bathroom drain with a mug thinking it would block the roaches. When the ladies came to clean the room the next day, they never cleaned the bathroom. They said they did even though my hair and cup were still on the drain. They came back and sprayed down the floor with the shower sprayer, Took the same mug from the floor, didn't wash it, and put it back in the basket as clean for us, right in front of my bf. It was so disgusting! During our second night we saw another roach in the bathroom as well. The beach is great but that may not be enough to counter the abrasive treatment the staff dishes to the guests as well as an apparent roach infestation. We have stayed in other places in koh Tao and seeing insects and other wildlife in your room is pretty par for course but these roaches were not.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank propdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My partner & I chose bow thong mostly due to location & price. It cost 1600 THB per night for an air conditioned bungalow right next to the beach. It is in north Sairee, so is a quick 5-10 min walk to resaurants/bars etc. There is a fabulous restaurant just north of Sairee (in koh Tao cabana) which we highly recommend too for views, taste & price. The only drawback from this place (keeping in mind, it's my personal opinion) is there is no hammock on the verandah- only chairs & table.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amesnmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing