We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet location.”
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 76 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Shanghai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet location.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

It is at the northern end of Sairee beach. Walking to Sairee junction (7-11), prepare for 10+ min along beach, and ~15min via main road. No road light on main road at night. Very quiet in the evening.
We had a bungalow 50 meter to the beach. Room is clean. AC is good and quiet. Water pressure is good.
The reception close at around 19:00. So we need to keep the key with us. They have a related dive center (New Way Diving) at Sairee junction. You may get discount on diving or accommodation.
They seem to have 2 websites that we could not booking the room. So we booked a room of other hotel for the 1st night, and find them upon arrival.

Overall, it worth the price and very private.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    133
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
47
153
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Apparently the Bow Thong resort was split into 2 recently:
- Bow Thong Resort
- Bow Thong BEACH Resort

They both have some beach shacks that are LITERALLY on the beach, they are a bit pricier but definitely worth it.

Service was great at the Bow Thong Resort; employees are really nice and genuinely look after you.

The resort is a bit far from the bars, so you can get some really good sleep in the beds which are above standard for this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaffar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

No doubt that the location is amazing. It is right on the southern end of Sairee Beach. This is a great spot because it is quiet, away from all the beach bars, right on the beach with great views. However it is only a short 5 to 10 min walk down the beach to all the bars so it combines the best of both. The guesthouses are really nice, and clean. Sam who works there is great, really attentative and great to chat to over breakfast. We didn't really eat there other than breakfast (which is ok). There isn't much of a communal area or restaurant area, and it was extremely quiet in the evening. They need to develop the communal areas, make them more inviting - they were a bit dark and dingy. Overall though, we had a great time here and highly recommend this location

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyrobfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

End of Sairee beach.....very quiet (although they having some construction currently during the day). Staff very attentive. Easy to walk into town on the beach or on the road. Highly recommend. Nice rooms, and everything worked!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012 via mobile

We just loved and certainly a place to come back! We always had fun and even the outnumbered dogs that live around were nice. We lately realized that the food was simply amazing in this place and a perfect spot for a romantic night

Stayed November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We moved to Bow Thong after staying for 1 night at Silver Sands / Big Blue. We moved because it was too close to the bar and was very loud until all hours of the night.
We stayed at Bow Thong for 6 nights, and loved every minute of it! The staff were very friendly and had a good sense of humour. Although the speed of service left something to be desired, (and your drink may show up after you've finished your food!) we soon learned that is just the way things are in laid back Thailand! The food was ok, but I think a bit pricey compared to what you could get at other places nearby, so we didn't eat there very often (I suggest Blue Wind Bakery for breakfast...only a very short walk away). The rooms were cleaned every day, the grounds and beach were also kept neat and tidy. We stayed in the one up / one down bungalows a bit further back from the beach. They were very nice, good size, clean bathroom but the bed was not the most comfortable.
It was a beautiful resort located on the best part of Sairee Beach in my opinion. The water was shallow for a long way out, and the sand in the water was lovely and soft so you didn't have to worry about treading on rock or coral. It was very relaxed, not as much foot traffic as other areas it is at one end of the beach, but only a short walk (not even 5 minutes) to all the action. It was great that we could relax all day on the quiet beach, walk to the loud bits at night and have a leisurely stroll back along the beach to our quiet hotel. It really was paradise!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tan_gerine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at this resort in March. It is in an ideal location if you need peace and quiet especially at night, and it is a short and very pleasant walk to the 'town', if walking on the beach. Some of the accommodation's more rustic than others. We stayed in one of the older huts, and while it was basically comfortable, if I were to return in the future, I'd ask for one of the newer cottages. The gardens are well maintained and adds to the charm of the place. The view in that area is absolutely beautiful, and the beach, especially at low tide is amazing. You can walk out forever and not get in to deep waters which was great. We found the staff especially Som, the young Thai woman in reception to be very friendly and helpful. She is a no-nonsense sort of person, but it is a good thing that she is as I witnessed several instances where she had to be tough. On the other hand, she was so very kind to my husband and I during our stay - my husband had become very sick and needed medical attention. She willingly and immediately left the resort, and brought back medical staff from the clinic to attend to him, stayed with us during his check-up, and always asked about his well-being. She readily acknowledged us with a smile and wave whenever we'd see her zipping by on her motorbike.
Some people have good experiences here, some have not so good. We would return to Bow Thong if ever we go back to Koh Tao.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pru49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing