We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but pricy given the service”
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #9 of 78 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel is at the tip of Sairee beach, the most beautiful part, and right on the beach. It's very quiet and peacefull and at the same time it's an easy walk to Sairee village.
Unfortunately the resort is rather expensive, about 55 euros for a double with AC, comfortable but nothing incredible.
The breakfast is absolutely ludicrous: a cup of tea, concentrated juice and a piece of toast. If you ask for more they'll charge you for it and then you'll have to argue with them at the end of the stay not to pay for that.
They'll charge you for everything they can, i accidentally broke an ordinary glass in my room and they immediately slapped a 100 baht charge on me even though i stayed 5 nights with them.
The real upside, with the location, is that the English speaking staff is very friendly and profesional and they'll go out of their way to help you out. For example, they fought for me to be upgraded to one of the superior rooms (much bigger) without extra charge when the air conditionning started making funny noises and hot water stopped working in my room.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach the better, with AC is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelinebenoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for just 1 night after being recommended by steve, another hotel manager on Ko samui, had a lovely clean beach bungalow waiting for us, check in was easy, took 5 minutes to get to from the ferry, rooms really clean with a view to the sea just 20 meters away, 5min walk to town, beware it is a very dark road at night, would advise a torch or a taxi if you don't like dark roads, the restraunt does not look much but I can say that the massaman curry is the best in my month in Thailand, and the other food was just as good, and reasonably priced at 120bht, the beach is on your doorstep, and the views are amazing, would highly recommend for a relaxing stay or even any stay, beautiful

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Golfgti220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Hi,
Very good location at sairee beach.
Rooms are dirty.
Bad Management!!! Only money is importmant, custumer is always on second place.
Staff at the restaurant is good,.
--> can't recommend this resort.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank BigBuddha69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

we arive to this hotel when we travell along sairee beach, the maneger wellcome us and we dicided to stay 2 nights on beach bonglo. the room is very nice, clean, good size. 2meters walk from the beach!! you can see the sea from your terass. All the stuf is extremly helpfull, know english well whats very helpfull, evry one are very very nice! the resort is in great location , in fron of fabileus lagon with whith send and clear water. if you plan to shnorkel you have great spot just in front of the resort. In the restorant they served verry good food in fare price. In rhe end we stay 4 nights and when we come back to Ko tao we deffently back to this redort! Knowthis than when we live they says that gonna chabge there name to 'PLAMLEAF RESORT'

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liron_levy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

My husband and I went to enjoy a "getaway" vacation on Koh Tao this past June and after many emails and research, decided to spend our first week at Bow Thong. I had sent out dozens of emails, compared prices, locations, etc... And really found that for a place on the beach, close enough to the fun, but far away enough from the noise, this was really the place. Fortunately, it turned out to be just that. Great location on the beach, within a very quick walk to Sairee village (day or night it is always safe).

The bungalows themselves were always kept very nice and clean (the ladies went in to clean every day whether you wanted it or not). We were on the side of the resort with A/C but the fan rooms were also right along the beach. It is our understanding that these are separately owned but it all appears to be the same resort.

Breakfast was ok, nothing special but enough to keep us happy. You have the choice of about 5 different options which stays the same every morning. Personally we found Pad Thai at lunch better than anything one the breakfast menu.

The aspect that makes this place so special is one particular gentleman they have there named Sam. He is so friendly and attentive and was always so nice to talk. We looked forward to our daily chats with him and he always made sure we were very well taken care of, from our meals to tips about the island. Even when we mentioned wanting to rent a scooter he told us what to look out for in order not to get taken advantage of. We cannot say enough nice things about this man and he alone would make us want to return to this place to stay.

The only reason I did not give 5 stars was due to some construction going on right next to our bungalow. It made it impossible for us to sit out on our private veranda during the day and even from the chairs at the beach, the sawing and hammering could be heard. I was disappointed that we were not informed about this ahead of time. In all fairness it does seem to be common practice around the island to constantly be under some sort of construction. I did try contacting the owner but never got a response and that was frustrating. We had paid in advance so I don't know if our problems therefore went unheard.

All in all we would return and I can highly recommend Bow Thong. We explored the island on our scooted one day and although there are many other beautiful places, this one provided what we were looking for. We wanted to relax, do some diving, have some drinks on the beach and all in all just enjoy the island. This was the place to do it from.

Room Tip: Make sure to if there is still construction going on and to make sure your room is far away from it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muffinsmunchkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

From the moment we arrived to the day we left (9 night stay) we could not believe we were finally here in paradise. We had booked the very front bungalow (for our honeymoon) and it was all that we expected plus more. The view from our balcony and from all angles of the room was to die for. The blue water, white sand, magnificent rock formations and even the people watching glued us to our bungalow. We are normally explorers and cannot sit still however this being the most perfect location we hardly moved. We did taxi to Chalok Bay (a waste of time) & walked the whole length of our beach as far as Charm Churee Villas. After this we decided there is no better place to stay nor better beach then our very own beach. To top it all off the owner Tony was very helpful and Sam the Man (the waiter) is the best. We read about Sam in trip advisor and he was even more friendly & helpful then expected. The food at the Bow Thong was excellent. We ate lunch on our deck each day & the satay chicken sticks are out of this world. When Tony receives fresh fish he organises a BBQ night and his food is the best (King prawns the size of Lobster). We did eat out at other places as we like to compare but nothing compared with the Bow Thong food. If you are planning on shopping then Koh Tao is not for you, hence another reason we hardly moved as other than bathers, shorts & diving equipment there is nothing else to shop for. If you want to relax then this is it. The only draw back is the time it takes to get there from Melbourne, 24 hours door to door, however it is well worth it once you see what you have on your door step.

Room Tip: Book direct throught the resort. Too many people did not get room they requested if they used trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vailbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was my second time at Bow Thong. The resort is perfectly located on the northern side of Sairee where it is away from the noisy beach bars but still close to the happening Sairee Plaza . Our cottage was on the beach . The room was very basic but the beachfront was lovely. A special thanks to Ms. Som who works at the reception. She is so helpful and one of te reasons I returned to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £33 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing