We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$68
View deal
Expedia.com
US$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$75
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/09/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUS$68
PricelineUS$75
TravelocityUS$75
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
136
151
55
27
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
136
151
55
27
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sairee beach quiet end fon bungalow island ferry paradise huts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The pros: Location is really good, right on the beach more or less, good distance to the loud bars on the beach. I had a the second best option bungalow, which is nice but expensive too. The matress was a bit firm, otherwise nice, but not on the beach as you may expect by reading their website.
The cons: You start your day with a poor breakfast. Poor coffee, only a small cup, when you order cereals you can choose with yoghurt or with fruit. When you order eggs, no fruit at all. That is a pretty poor performance regarding the price. Do not book directly with them (the place now is called bowthong resort). They have a very unfriendly booking procedure with limited cancellation possibilities. The management is obsessed about their keys which regulate also the current and the aircon. They want your passport as a deposit. Ever heard of that ? That sucks! And you need your passport to rent a moto bike. Then you are asked for your national id ... !
The receptionist, Julie (she is german) is really nice, but of course she has to follow the rules. The manager is nice, as long you do not question his rules. Then he gets rude.
By the way: do not book the snorkel tour .. this is not about the bowthong resort, but in general. Nobody will see any sharks in shark bay.

Room tip: i guess the cheaper bungalow will do it
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephanhoyndorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm l, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Leaf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Good morning

I am currently working at the PalmLeaf Resort. I started on December 2012.

The PalmLeaf resort and the Bowthong resort are two distinct resorts with two different types of management.

All of the PalmLeaf Resort air conditioning bungalows and rooms have breakfast included. You have a menu, and can choose between french toasts, ham and cheese toasts, muesli, oatmeal, fruit salad, pancake with banana pineapple or mango, American breakfast. All are served with orange /apple juice and a cup of coffee/tea.

Regarding the passport, it is a common procedure used in Thailand. We never lost any passport. Some of our guests are even happy that we keep an eye on it for them. If you need it to rent a motorbike or for any other reason we just ask you to bring it back at the end of the day or ask for an id card in exchange.

Best Regards
PalmLeaf resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I spent three weeks in Thailand for my honeymoon and this was by far the best resort for hospitality and eservice. The staff and owner were excellent - some rooms were under construction and we were immediately upgraded and given a great discount! The resort is in a fantastic location right at the bottom corner of Sai Ree Beach, offering spectacular sunset views from the beach resturant. It is also very close to the Nang Yuan Islands, which can be accessed easily by canoe or tailboat. The rooms are great and the food is top notch! In terms of hospitality and great value for money this was the best resort we stayed in. We highly recommend a stay for a few nights - enjoy!

Room tip: A room on the beach or on the second floor with a sea view is best!
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very good and quiet resort with really good customer care and friendly helpfull staff!
good spot on the sairee beach where you can go snorkeling!
to the center of the sairee village you get in 5min
Food tastes also good and the fruitshakes are delicious.
if we go an other time to koh tao we will definitely choose this resort again

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrksstz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were looking for somewhere nice as we had stayed in some not so nice places. We found our bungalow to be a brethe of fresh air and a well needed reprieve from being in 'standard rooms' we plaid 1500Baht and it was well worth it, we had the best sleep we had had in weeks. Watched TV most of the day, did some snorkelling in the amazing snorkelling spot just in front. (By the rocks) and just relaxed in the beautiful (and big) Beach bungalow!
Truely Amazing would recommend, to anyone that doesnt mind flashing some cash every once in a while!
:D

Room tip: Just try to get one of the front bungalows near the beach!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend. Many rooms were under construction so we were generously upgraded to one of the newest rooms available. Excellent location only a few steps from the beach and the room was spacious and spotless. The hotel staff was very helpful to answer any of our questions. The only meal we ate here was breakfast each morning - the food was fine. Maybe the food was a bit pricey, yet we didn't mind. Pricier (western) food is usually to be expected on an island. I think the location was the best factor for us. It's quiet at the end of the beach and after a night of partying it was easy to walk along the shore back to our place.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews