We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location...away from the nightlife but close enough to stroll there”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 74 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect location...away from the nightlife but close enough to stroll there”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We spent 7 nights at Palm Leaf in a bungalow just in from the beach. The location is so beautiful in the corner of the bay with lovely snorkelling just off the corner (lots of colourful fish). The beach is pristine with gorgeous crystal clear water.... low tide was at night so we enjoyed great swimming in the day. Palm Leaf is very well run and the staff most efficient, they even arranged a birthday cake for a friend who was celebrating her birthday with us. The restaurant has delicious food, the most delicious panang curry and green curry I have ever tasted! Breakfasts that were included were western style....rooms were clean and simple, which was great. You had to sleep with the aircon on as it was so hot and you could not open the windows or doors as the mosquitos are in abundance and there were no mosquito nets over the beds (this could be a possible improvement if you are like me and dont like aircon?) It was great for teenagers as they could walk down the beach to the action at night and walk home again... there are lots of fire dancers and fire skipping ropes in the bars along the beach (10 minute walk)... there is also a lovely massage place along the beach, on stilts, so you hear the water lapping the shore as you enjoy a thai massage!

Room Tip: The rooms right on the beach can be noisy at night with the bars up the beach, better to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    132
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
47
150
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I had previously booked 4 nights a couple of months in advance. The Palm Beach was the only place that ticked all my boxes: Nice bungalow - on the beach - in a good and practical location and also affordable. I received a good service provided during my booking.
On arrival, we were picked up at the pier. Our bungalow was a superior with beach view. It was very comfortable, huge and modern. The small balcony with its comfy seating is a treat. The resort is located at the end of Sairee - meaning you avoid the nice of the party but still are at a 5 minute-walk to the centre of the village. The beach is amazing and you could spend hours sunbathing on the long chairs. So it the end we decided to stay 2 extra nights. We had to move to a room with a lower grade but it happened to be a beautiful, big and well appointed. So plenty of great points for this resort.
A couple of points for improvement: the owner, Tony, is professional and helpful, but he could do with improving his customer skills slightly - more a businessman than a host. However, this was balanced by the fact that the employees are lovely, especially the Burmese guys staff who serve the breakfast and Julie, the polite, efficient and helpful receptionist who speaks English perfectly. The other thing is that the breakfast could be greatly improved by serving fresh orange juice and also by allowing drinks changes (ex: I was refused an iced coffee). But the food on the menu is varied and delicious (you have to try the pancakes).
But overall, I think no place is Kho Tao is perfect and affordable so I would return to Palm Leaf resort without any hesitation. The location is paradisiac, the bungalows are comfortably and huge and the price is right. Definitely an excellent choice.

Room Tip: there are two standards. Old and new bungalows. All new are very good. For something extra special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

The pros: Location is really good, right on the beach more or less, good distance to the loud bars on the beach. I had a the second best option bungalow, which is nice but expensive too. The matress was a bit firm, otherwise nice, but not on the beach as you may expect by reading their website.
The cons: You start your day with a poor breakfast. Poor coffee, only a small cup, when you order cereals you can choose with yoghurt or with fruit. When you order eggs, no fruit at all. That is a pretty poor performance regarding the price. Do not book directly with them (the place now is called bowthong resort). They have a very unfriendly booking procedure with limited cancellation possibilities. The management is obsessed about their keys which regulate also the current and the aircon. They want your passport as a deposit. Ever heard of that ? That sucks! And you need your passport to rent a moto bike. Then you are asked for your national id ... !
The receptionist, Julie (she is german) is really nice, but of course she has to follow the rules. The manager is nice, as long you do not question his rules. Then he gets rude.
By the way: do not book the snorkel tour .. this is not about the bowthong resort, but in general. Nobody will see any sharks in shark bay.

Room Tip: i guess the cheaper bungalow will do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palm l, Guest Relations Manager at Palm Leaf Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Good morning

I am currently working at the PalmLeaf Resort. I started on December 2012.

The PalmLeaf resort and the Bowthong resort are two distinct resorts with two different types of management.

All of the PalmLeaf Resort air conditioning bungalows and rooms have breakfast included. You have a menu, and can choose between french toasts, ham and cheese toasts, muesli, oatmeal, fruit salad, pancake with banana pineapple or mango, American breakfast. All are served with orange /apple juice and a cup of coffee/tea.

Regarding the passport, it is a common procedure used in Thailand. We never lost any passport. Some of our guests are even happy that we keep an eye on it for them. If you need it to rent a motorbike or for any other reason we just ask you to bring it back at the end of the day or ask for an id card in exchange.

Best Regards
PalmLeaf resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

I spent three weeks in Thailand for my honeymoon and this was by far the best resort for hospitality and eservice. The staff and owner were excellent - some rooms were under construction and we were immediately upgraded and given a great discount! The resort is in a fantastic location right at the bottom corner of Sai Ree Beach, offering spectacular sunset views from the beach resturant. It is also very close to the Nang Yuan Islands, which can be accessed easily by canoe or tailboat. The rooms are great and the food is top notch! In terms of hospitality and great value for money this was the best resort we stayed in. We highly recommend a stay for a few nights - enjoy!

Room Tip: A room on the beach or on the second floor with a sea view is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Very good and quiet resort with really good customer care and friendly helpfull staff!
good spot on the sairee beach where you can go snorkeling!
to the center of the sairee village you get in 5min
Food tastes also good and the fruitshakes are delicious.
if we go an other time to koh tao we will definitely choose this resort again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrksstz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We were looking for somewhere nice as we had stayed in some not so nice places. We found our bungalow to be a brethe of fresh air and a well needed reprieve from being in 'standard rooms' we plaid 1500Baht and it was well worth it, we had the best sleep we had had in weeks. Watched TV most of the day, did some snorkelling in the amazing snorkelling spot just in front. (By the rocks) and just relaxed in the beautiful (and big) Beach bungalow!
Truely Amazing would recommend, to anyone that doesnt mind flashing some cash every once in a while!
:D

Room Tip: Just try to get one of the front bungalows near the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with a friend. Many rooms were under construction so we were generously upgraded to one of the newest rooms available. Excellent location only a few steps from the beach and the room was spacious and spotless. The hotel staff was very helpful to answer any of our questions. The only meal we ate here was breakfast each morning - the food was fine. Maybe the food was a bit pricey, yet we didn't mind. Pricier (western) food is usually to be expected on an island. I think the location was the best factor for us. It's quiet at the end of the beach and after a night of partying it was easy to walk along the shore back to our place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#12 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing