We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leaf resort ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 74 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Leaf resort ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a bungalow second back from the sea.
The size of the room is good and the bathroom was huge with a hot, powerful shower, much different to our time in koh phi phi.
The air con worked well and was quite.
There is a really nice outside area with a recumbent bench which can easily fit a couple.
The only negative of the room was that it attracts mosquitoes so be sure to bring strong repellent. We bought cheap stuff and got eaten alive.

Two free waters a day and breakfast included. Try the pancakes, really good quality meal.
The restaurant is good for snacks like the great spring rolls for 100.
Happy hour from 5-7 with cheap mojito and rum, but shuts at 8 so be prepared to buy beers at 7-11 or go 5-10 minutes along the beach to the several great bars on the front.

The snorkeling trip is well worth it for 750. No cheaper in town so buy from hotel and get 9-5 trip to four places including shark bay. Visibility is very poor in November though.

Easy to book boat trip back to Samui from here for around 700 per person with a taxi.

Best thing about hotel
Location. Five minutes from town
Free ferry Port pick up
Staff are amazing. Best We found in Thailand for service.
Beach is clean, clear sea. Warm and good for snorkeling.

Best hotel we stayed in Thailand and best island by far

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Si Man H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    132
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
47
150
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Nice and warm welcome, friendly staff, beautiful bungalows, beautiful and peaceful beach ... What else do you need? I read some other reviews about prices being too high; well yes, this was also our most expensive stay in Thailand, but that was for the quietness. Anywhere else on the island was party party 'till the early hours and what good is a cheap hotel if you can't sleep? Anyway, we will certainly come back when we visit Koh Tao next time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Saskia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at the Palm Beach recently when i cam to visit my family. my cabin could have barely been nearer the water and basically I echo William's comments save that I didn't swim that far. I was upgraded for the last night and I think I might go for the superior on my next trip but the standard was adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This is your spot. Close enough to walk to the main restaurants and far enough to dampen the sounds.
I came here for four days and stayed for 30. It is not the cheapest place to stay and by all means not a fancy place. The rooms are clean and neat and spacious. By far the main reason I stayed here was location. The north end of Sairee Beach is the cleanest and if you like to swim like I do you'll swim out around the point north, where the water is clean and the fish and coral life is decent.
The staff is very friendly and the food at the restaurant is decent. The breakfast that comes with the room is not as good as others but again the location is amazing and
the sunsets are fantastic.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Wow !
We had a great time in kho tao. A family of five. Very much thenks to palm leaf.
We stayd at the deluxs garden bungalow wich thay rearange for family with kids. It was great.
The palm leaf bungalow was the best from all the ather pleaces we stayd in our holiday in thailand (ather island).
The beach is heven. End the palm leaf located right ther.
Not in the center of sairee but just 5-10 minuets walk.
The stuff was so nice and very helpful.including the guys at the restorant and citchen.
Dont think twice!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Asafartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed in a bungalow for 4 nights in August 2013.
Amazing resort, perfect location (Sairee North, not too busy at night but still very close to the main bars and restaurants), very clean, nice staff, wonderful view over the bay, clean beach, good restaurant.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisgenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed a number of days at this resort, with it's nice big bungalows at the beach. Bungalow 104 is a decent size, almost at the beach and priced nicely at 3500.
Breakfast is included in the price and available from 7:30 till 10:30. If you are doing a morning dive and need to leave at 6, the offer to bring you breakfast the night before so you can put it in the fridge.
The location is great, on the beach and a bit away from the downtown hustle and bustle, but within 5 to 10 minutes walking along the beach. the staff is friendly and helpful, and their English is reasonably good.
The only downside we found was the water pressure is low, so the big shower head is more decorative than functional.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sway12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmleaf K, Reception at Palm Leaf Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your stay with us and good review. We are really glad to welcome you again for next holiday. Unfortunately we are lack of water on this season and we would prepare for next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing