We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!”
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We rented a superior bungalow here in November 2013. The standard is really good, good size, good bathroom with hot shower. Staff was helpfull, good restaurant for breakfast/ lunch. We did not have dinner, but the drinks were good - happy hour from 5-7.
I would say it is the best location on Suri beach! Good for snorkeling and chilling.
10 min walk along the beach to get to other beach side restaurants and "city centre" with more bars.
From the pier it takes 5 min by taxi.
I would stay here again if I ever go back!

Room Tip: Stayed in bungalow 111 - about 10 meters from the beach. Good aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norway1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    135
    41
    21
    12
See reviews for
47
156
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

We have visited Ko Tao many times. Stayed here for the first time this year with our 6 mth old baby for a week. A family friendly resort in a great location. Great beach for kids. The Restraunt food we found to be best on the island and staff are so friendly and helpful. The Restraunt is what makes this resort. The staff should be commended for their efforts and willingness to go the extra mile and the chef here is amazing!!!!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank curlieRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This place was nice,the bungalow was new and clean,a bit expensive but it is just on the beach.the restaurant was not good at all!I got stomache afrer that!Sairee beach is beautiful,the sea is shallow and that's good for kids but there are too many boats,taxi and fisherman boats.I might not go back

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yoelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
189 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great area to stay while on Ko Tao. Its cheap and very close to the three islands and just a ten minute beach walk to town and all the restaurants and bars. No pool in the resort. Breakfast was not up to standard. Rooms are comfy and nice with big balcony. Was charged 100b per person for a pickup from the boat as we did not book with them direct which was unfair. Apart from that a good stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank daman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a bungalow second back from the sea.
The size of the room is good and the bathroom was huge with a hot, powerful shower, much different to our time in koh phi phi.
The air con worked well and was quite.
There is a really nice outside area with a recumbent bench which can easily fit a couple.
The only negative of the room was that it attracts mosquitoes so be sure to bring strong repellent. We bought cheap stuff and got eaten alive.

Two free waters a day and breakfast included. Try the pancakes, really good quality meal.
The restaurant is good for snacks like the great spring rolls for 100.
Happy hour from 5-7 with cheap mojito and rum, but shuts at 8 so be prepared to buy beers at 7-11 or go 5-10 minutes along the beach to the several great bars on the front.

The snorkeling trip is well worth it for 750. No cheaper in town so buy from hotel and get 9-5 trip to four places including shark bay. Visibility is very poor in November though.

Easy to book boat trip back to Samui from here for around 700 per person with a taxi.

Best thing about hotel
Location. Five minutes from town
Free ferry Port pick up
Staff are amazing. Best We found in Thailand for service.
Beach is clean, clear sea. Warm and good for snorkeling.

Best hotel we stayed in Thailand and best island by far

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Si Man H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Nice and warm welcome, friendly staff, beautiful bungalows, beautiful and peaceful beach ... What else do you need? I read some other reviews about prices being too high; well yes, this was also our most expensive stay in Thailand, but that was for the quietness. Anywhere else on the island was party party 'till the early hours and what good is a cheap hotel if you can't sleep? Anyway, we will certainly come back when we visit Koh Tao next time.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Saskia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed at the Palm Beach recently when i cam to visit my family. my cabin could have barely been nearer the water and basically I echo William's comments save that I didn't swim that far. I was upgraded for the last night and I think I might go for the superior on my next trip but the standard was adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 139 in Koh Tao
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing