We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monkey Flower Villas
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The most delighting us during the stay is the friendly staff, Nick and Steve. They bring us to everywhere within Koh Tao for free and given us a lots of suggestion, no matter on the beach, snorkeling sea, food and beverage. They even find us a good taxi boat for island round trip. I never know Koh Tao has lots of snorkeling area and activities until i met them. The way the live in this small island have teaching me to enjoy the life. They have make me a great trip over Koh Tao, but i am so regretful that i only plan to stay one night in Koh Tao, it was not enough. It is better to request Steve to get some food from the restaurant Kuay Thai, because they gave him a good price instead of we have the dinner there. They did help us save a lots on food and taxi, or bike rental. After all, the room price is worth for everything. I was staying in the room "Bougainvillea". It have 2 rooms with double room and actually can stay up to 8 peoples with the upper stack of the room. I love the building design which utilized the natural rocks into the building. Great sunset view from the garden, great sea view from the nice decorated private pool, nature and sea view from the room, nice forest sound from the hiding insect... Highly recommended for those who love nature, you will have nature, flora and fauna, rock, sea, sun and cloud. The only thing is the water, it suddenly no water from the shower during the bathing. Please prepare mosquito repellent when you come.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vapcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for writing this very positive tripadvisor review. We are very proud of our excellent customer service, and are always trying to improve. I hope that you will stay longer on your next trip, so we can show you even more wonderful places and things to do.
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Nick, Steve, and Staff
Monkey Flower villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
84
106
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had planned a very quick side trip to Koh Tao and my biggest regret is not making it longer. Thanks so much to Nick and all of the staff - especially Steve. We stayed in the Bougainvillea. A great air-con'd villa with a fully equipped kitchen and a large private pool. Nick was so friendly and gave us lots of info on what we could do with our limited time on the island (not to mention great knowledge of Koh Tao itself). Steve is one of those guys who just makes everything happen - restaurant bookings, boat tours, you name it. He was running everyone around constantly and nothing was ever too much trouble. When we asked "what's the latest time we can ring you to be picked up?" he replied "never too late - I'm open 24/7". Also, his driving skills are legendary. Those are some seriously steep hills and this guy knows them like the back of his hand!

Room Tip: Apparently the upper villa is the best (particularly for a larger group), although we were more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you very, very much for being our very special guest, and for taking your time to write such a wonderful TripAdvisor review! I will pass along your praise to Steve and Nick, I know it will make them happy! I hope that you will be back again as soon as possible!!!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My friends and I went to Koh Tao back in October. There were 5 of us and we were looking for a villa, after a bit of hunting I found the Bougainvillea. The place was awesome! There were two bedrooms and a loft! Also, the fact that we had our own pool didn't hurt. And the staff did a great job at keeping it clean (seeing as we brought back quite a bit of sand)
Steve was brilliant. He was always available for whatever stupid questions we had and he was adamant on not letting us public transport, he'd come pick us up at any time of the night.
Lincoln was super helpful and even put us in touch with one of his friends when we expressed interest in diving.
I would love to come back and stay there the next time I'm in Thailand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahikav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for being our very special guests!! It was our pleasure to help you have a wonderful time... Will pass on your praise to Steve, I know it will make him feel good:) Thank you very much for writing such a positive review on Tripadvisor.com, it really helps us let people know about our little place. I hope that you will be back again as soon as possible!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

There are no words to describe how awesome this place is. We stayed in the large villa for 5 nights and had an amazing time. The views are spectacular, there is a great pool and the house itself is stunning in design and really clean. The staff are particularly helpful and accommodating, driving you wherever you want to go and giving great recommendations for stuff to do, see and eat. Stay here is you can, you won't be disappointed! Thanks to Steve and Nick for an amazing trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicsmithlyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Wow!!! Thank you so, so much for writing this wonderful TripAdvisor review!!!! We really take pride in our service to, our very special guests. I hope that you will be back again as soon as possible!!!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubeck
Level Contributor
220 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 18 days in the upper villy. As we are travelling since 30 years, we rented many houses, apartments and villas. Monkey Flower Villa was for sure one of the best experiences. A big hug and thanks to Steve, who was our driver, true friend and perfect guide during our vacation. We missed nothing!
Thanks to the wonderful staff. The rooms are very clean, every days new towels and linen.
The villa has one of the best views, we ever had. Peaceful place, far enough from the hustle and bustle at the beach and near enough to go by foot to have breakfast or dinner. We enjoyed the driver service very much. We can recommend the sunset beach, the Palm Leave for breakfast and the Portobello for an excellent dinner. Steve made my dream come true to catch a Marlin and we definately come back.
@ Lincoln: You can be proud about your staff. They put a lot of efforts to the service and we are happy to do the right choice.

Thank you very much and Love, Peace and Happiness to all of you.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GermanTravellerDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
H&B,
Thank you for being our very special guests!! It was our pleasure to help you have a wonderful time... I will pass on your praise to Steve and the rest of our lovely staff, I know it will make them feel good:) think you very much for your wonderful review, it helps us a lot when you share your experience with the Tripadvisor world! I hope that you will be back again as soon as possible... When you are planning to return, please let me know, and I will give you the best, direct, returning guest discount possible.
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln & Family
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We loved our time at the Bougainvillea villa, but I will admit it took a bit of getting used to at first. The perks of having your own secluded villa up on the hillside with a lovely private pool are balanced by the fact that...well...you're kind of stuck up there, and highly reliant on Steve or Nick to transport you up and down the hill in their 4x4 Toyota Hilux. We did walk down a couple of times, but it is STEEP and walking up is almost entirely out of the question. So, just know that before you go.

That said, both Steve and Nick were very responsive to our needs and we always got where we needed to go. At the end of our 4 night stay, we didn't want to leave. Thank you to Steve, Nick and the wonderful cleaning staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

If we're ever back in Thailand, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinnamonBun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for the very positive Tripadvisor review! We are very proud of our customer service, and know that our guests want the best of all worlds, privacy, safety, and seclusion when you want it, and also access to the best beaches and fantastic night life, restaurants, and everything else when and you want it... We are always there to facilitate your desires, whatever they are, wherever they may take you! When you are our guests, you are like family, and we want you to have an excellent adventure at Monkey Flower, and on Koh Tao! I will pass along your praise to Steve, Nick, and our cleaning staff, I know it will make them smile!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Just recently returned from a 5 night stay at Monkey Flower (Gardenia villa) The villa is a 5 bedroom property with the most amazing attic room with views to die for ! - we were only a party of 3 , so plenty of space for us. When we arrived we were met by Steve, who is your 24 hour driver and whatever else you would like him to get . He is a great man and is always available to transport you around no matter what time of the day or night it is ! - This guy will do anything for you to ensure your stay is enjoyable ( sorry Steve for sending you down for beer so often ! )
If you are looking for a special place to chill or whatever with the most amazing views and quality fixtures and fittings everywhere in the house - book this , you will not be disappointed .
Lincoln - thinking of coming back end of the year !!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallaj42013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for being our very special guests!! It was our pleasure to help you have a wonderful time... I Will pass on your praise to Steve, I know it will make him feel good:).
Your positive review on Tripadvisor.com really helps us let people know about our little place. I hope that you will be back again as soon as possible... When you are planning to return, please let me know, and I will give you the best, direct, returning guest discount possible.
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Flower Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Flower Villas

Property: Monkey Flower Villas
Address: 19/6 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monkey Flower Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Flower Villas feature extraordinary architecture and amenities. Built into the natural beauty and granite boulders of the hillside overlooking Sairee beach, the longest and most popular beach on Koh Tao, Monkey Flower Villas is only a few minutes walk to the sand, yet very private, and secure. Every villa has stunning sea and beach views. The "Upper" villa has a very large private infinity edge swimming pool and spa (take the bridge to the roof and jump into the pool, if you like!). The master bedrooms are huge, very romantic, safe, and comfortable, Most of the rooms boast 50" flat screen HDTVs with premium Western programing, air-con, free Wi-Fi internet access. The "Upper" villa features the "flying" bed, hardwood floors, and a huge sliding glass window overlooking the swimming pool and the bay below. There are several sound systems, and musical instruments available to use. All guests enjoy 24 hour a day courtesy car and driver service to anywhere they want to go on Koh Tao*. Each villa is provided with a local mobile phone for easy access to all important numbers. Monkey Flower Villas has been recognized as providing an excellent customer experience and service. *As our guest, you will enjoy our famous 24 hour a day complimentary car and driver service, for pick-up and drop-off to anywhere you want to go on Koh Tao, during your entire stay! Many people do not realize that normal taxi service on Koh Tao is very expensive compared to other parts of Thailand, with a simple ride from town to town often costing 500. Thai Baht or more one way, and TWICE that amount late at night. If you were considering renting motorbikes, our driver service can also save you from possible extortion by unscrupulous renters, who prey on tourists, and the risks of riding a motorcycle on an island with many dirt roads and difficult riding conditions. For these reasons, our car and driver service is not only convenient, but also an incredible value! When you check in, you will be given a local Thai mobile phone, with important numbers and credit already installed. When you need to be dropped off or picked up, simply speed dial your driver, who will be there in a few short minutes. No other accommodation on Koh Tao offers this kind of complete transportation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monkey Flower Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Flower Villa Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing