We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkey Flower Rocks!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Monkey Flower Villas
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Monkey Flower Rocks!!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed at Monkey Flower for 2 nights, it was stunning! The view of Sairee beach from the infinity pool was breathtaking. The villa was absolutely huge with the bedroom consisting of a floating bed, 50'' plasma and walk-in wardrobe. The upper villa can be converted to sleep up to 6-8 people if required. Bathroom was very nice especially the shower and we were free to use the communal kitchen.

We spent most of the second day relaxing by the pool and jacuzzi and also jumping off the roof into the pool. Monkey Flower is well located and just a 10 minute walk to north Sairee beach.

Lincoln and Woonsen were happy to take us around the island and pick us up when we needed a lift back in his classic jeep with environmentally friendly Air Con. Lincoln also recommended an excellent dive centre and the instructor came up to the villa to discuss our options, from which we did a dive with the next day.

Lincoln and Woonsen were great hosts for the end of our perfect stay in Koh Tao.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
86
108
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Groningen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2010

We were at Monkey Flower Villa when it was not yet completely finished. Despite that we had a great holiday in one of the most beautiful places on the island. One has the best view over the island, a superb infinity pool in which you can jump from the roof. The owners and Ricky the Coconut Dog are very friendly and want to help you with everything you ask. Certainly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VandenBerg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aussie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2010

This place is a treasure that everybody needs to know about. When you have been traveling for a while and you need time out to chill, this is the place. Not only is it quiet and the views fantastic, it just feels right to be there. Its a short but steep walk to the beach (about 5 minute walk) & from there the bars & restaurants are right there. Lincon, Winset & Lincons Mum (cant forget Ricky the dog) were the best host, nothing was to much trouble. recommend this place to anyboby.
I

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAussiejules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2010

What an amazing place and the views are worth a million dollars. Lincoln & Woonson could not do enough for us, very helpful with everything we needed to know. Very relaxing place and we loved having the chooks around. If you don't get lincoln to pick you up make sure you get a 4wd taxi to take you there as an ordinary one can't get up the hill. Would love to go back and stay longer. The best place on Ko Tao

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

To all Travellers.

I stayed at Monkey flower villa in mid March 2010 & it was one of the highlights of our one month Thailand holiday. I could go on for a while about the view & design of the place & how welcoming Licoln & Winset(The owners) are, but I will try & keep it short.

Monkey flower is located on the hill at the north end of sairee beach & the view across sairee beach & the island is fantastic. Getting to the beach is about a five minute walk down the hill bringing you out on the north point of Sairee beach( the nicest part). Walking to the beach is nice but walking back can be tiring as the driveway is very steep & around 350m. However Lincoln is always happy to pick you up in his car if you call him, or alternatively renting a scooter for the time in Koh Tao is probably best anyway. Taxis are very expensive on Koh Tao,(around 300 baht for less than 1 km trip) & a scooter will probably be around 200 baht a day. From the north point of Sairee it is a very short stroll to restaurants & bars.
If you want to stay in the villa & relax, there are a number of restaurants that will deliver. Lincoln even organised a massuese to come to us at the villa & it was the best massage I've ever had.
The Building itself is new & the design has incorporated massive natural rocks into the structure & it looks great. The room is comfortable with a large plasma, dvd player & cable tv channels. The bathrooms are especially nice. There is a fully equipped kitchen & purified water for drinking. Wifi is also available. The view from the pool is just magic(see photo).
Lincoln & Winset have created a home away from home with their friendliness, & bent over backwards to make sure all our needs were met.

In summary, if you are after a beautiful place to stay that is quiet, private & has everything you need (or can have it delivered) then this is the place. I wish I could have stayed longer. Thanks Lincoln & Winset

Hope this helps your travel decisions & please check the photos

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiepete1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Koh Tao was our first stop in Thailand and what a start it was! We stayed at Monkey Villa which was awesome. The infinity pool is amazing & the view is breathtaking. Lincoln & Woonsen were fantastic hosts & Lincoln knows the island like the back of his hand. The rooms are very spacious and the bahroom is great. The master bedroom also has a massive plasma on the wall. It's tucked away, so you can relax by the pool & it's a short walk or Moped ride to the beach & the nightlife of Koh Tao - a great spot! Koh Tao doesn't have a McDonalds like Koh Samui and there is less hussle and bussle. We also went to Koh Phangan for the full moon party (which goes off) but out of the 3 islands we visited I would have to say Koh Tao was the best. I recommend everyone stay at Monkey Villa. If it is paradise you after this place has paradise covered!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButchMcGrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2010

stayed here for a couple of nights but would of stayed longer if was avaliable as it was A-mazing!!! the nicest villa ever and the view was insane just like the pics actually no better then the pics!!
the guy is sooo nice too and really make you feel welcome!
Woonsen was soo helpful and made the most amazing shakes ever!
thanx for an great time!
we will def be back!
xx

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tashaLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,217 reviews
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Flower Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Flower Villas

Property: Monkey Flower Villas
Address: 19/6 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monkey Flower Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Flower Villas feature extraordinary architecture and amenities. Built into the natural beauty and granite boulders of the hillside overlooking Sairee beach, the longest and most popular beach on Koh Tao, Monkey Flower Villas is only a few minutes walk to the sand, yet very private, and secure. Every villa has stunning sea and beach views. The "Upper" villa has a very large private infinity edge swimming pool and spa (take the bridge to the roof and jump into the pool, if you like!). The master bedrooms are huge, very romantic, safe, and comfortable, Most of the rooms boast 50" flat screen HDTVs with premium Western programing, air-con, free Wi-Fi internet access. The "Upper" villa features the "flying" bed, hardwood floors, and a huge sliding glass window overlooking the swimming pool and the bay below. There are several sound systems, and musical instruments available to use. All guests enjoy 24 hour a day courtesy car and driver service to anywhere they want to go on Koh Tao*. Each villa is provided with a local mobile phone for easy access to all important numbers. Monkey Flower Villas has been recognized as providing an excellent customer experience and service. *As our guest, you will enjoy our famous 24 hour a day complimentary car and driver service, for pick-up and drop-off to anywhere you want to go on Koh Tao, during your entire stay! Many people do not realize that normal taxi service on Koh Tao is very expensive compared to other parts of Thailand, with a simple ride from town to town often costing 500. Thai Baht or more one way, and TWICE that amount late at night. If you were considering renting motorbikes, our driver service can also save you from possible extortion by unscrupulous renters, who prey on tourists, and the risks of riding a motorcycle on an island with many dirt roads and difficult riding conditions. For these reasons, our car and driver service is not only convenient, but also an incredible value! When you check in, you will be given a local Thai mobile phone, with important numbers and credit already installed. When you need to be dropped off or picked up, simply speed dial your driver, who will be there in a few short minutes. No other accommodation on Koh Tao offers this kind of complete transportation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monkey Flower Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Flower Villa Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing