We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rocks Villas(Koh Tao)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
949 results
Traveller rating
290
387
175
69
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
387
175
69
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssairee beachair consuperior roomhuge bathroompool area isthe ground floorstayed here for nightsminute walk to the beachreception staffsmall poolmini barbars and restaurantsquiet at nightnice roomsun loungersdive centrebeach front
Filter
Updating list...
526 - 531 of 949 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Great atmosphere, very conveniently located.
Excellent buffet breakfast. Staff is very friendly.
The link with the diving resort makes it a great combo.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed at Simple Life for 17 nights during September and had a wonderful time there, the staff were friendly and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a superior room overlooking the pool which was very spacious and very comfortable, the en-suite was excellent, enormous shower area and plenty of hot water. The housekeeping could be a bit haphazard, we didn't always get the same amount of towels back as we put out for changing but a quick word with reception was all it took to rectify the matter. The only downside was the amount of flies which were a constant irritation during breakfast but there's not much the hotel can do about them with a restaurant which is open to the street, many eateries experience the same problem, annoying but you get used to it. There was plenty of choice for breakfast although we tended to stick to cereal, fruit, toast and the suberb omlettes which were cooked to order. We would definately be happy to stay there again, we have stayed on Koh Tao previously at a much more expensive hotel but in our opinion in terms of comfort, standard of accommodation and value for money Simple Life was far superior. We would like to give a special mention to the reception and waiting staff who were fantastic.

Room Tip: Pick a superior room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oakham_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel is absolutely lovely, the location is very close to the beach, the rooms are absolutely beautiful and generally it is a lovely stay.

You can arrange with the hotel to be collected from the Pier free of charge, which obviously is very convenient! So that is a bonus.

The hotel messed our room booking up slightly, but that was rectified upon arrival and we were allocated a twin room as per our booking, as opposed to the double which they initially tried to give us.

The room was very spacious, nice decor, balcony overlooking the pool and the bathroom was again very spacious and very nicely decorated. You get complimentary water in the fridge and beach and bath towels. There is a TV with cable channels.There is aircon which works very well, however, if you want to have a shower you have to put the shower on for about ten minutes to get hot water out of the shower. We were unable to ever get hot water for longer than one shower though, no matter how long we turned the air con on for, which was obviously frustrating.

The room has some information in a little booklet in it, which warns you to not open the door if there is a knock as there had been some break in experiences which happen this way. This scared us a little, but did not happen to us while we were there.

The breakfast was ok, not much choice, but it was sufficient for a breakfast....eggs, bacon, ham and toast basically. With some fruit and cereal options.

We returned to our room one evening to find our hair straighteners broken and when we raised this with management we were told he would speak to the cleaner and get back to us. However, each time we saw him and asked about it, he would tell us to come back and then on the last two days he was no where to be found. This was the reason why I say bad surface as every one else at reception who we raised this with was apparently unable to assist. These were expensive hair straighteners and so we were particularly displeased!

All in all a good stay though and a lovely resort. We found Kao Tao to have beautiful water, but to be a bit boring. Worth a visit though.

P.S Our room was superior, which was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Pay extra for superior.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brow987b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed in a Superior room at the Simple Life for 3 nights. Our room was near the front of the hotel and next to the pool but noise wasn't a huge issue. The room was spacious with air con, a comfortable king sized bed and a large bathroom. Our accommodation included transfer from the pier when we arrived plus breakfast - the food selection was excellent. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The main drawback was that the pool area was a bit enclosed meaning there was little breeze and a lot of shaded areas. However, it is only a short walk to the beach. The room was clean however the towels weren't changed during our stay - beach towels were provided but a fresh set would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This place is good but the price seriously lets it down-we have stayed in cheaper,nicer places whilst travelling.

Our room was large and clean with a dresser,tv and a wardrobe. We had a standard room but we did go into one of the superior ones near the pool and they were gorgeous.

The pool was nice with lots of sunbeds. The location is good but it isn't right on the beach if that what you're looking for. There is loads of accommodation right on the beach. Simple life is a few minutes walk and it is right near all the shops and main streets.

We ate in the restaurant for lunch and the food was tasty but they have a real problem with flies-they don't usually bother me but I was constantly having to waft them away whilst eating. The breakfast here is absolutely awful, the worst I've encountered! Flies all over the food and I ended up eating nothing. I think that's bad when you're paying over the odds.

Overall it would be great if the price was in line with other accommodation of this standard but you will be disappointed for the price. We've stayed in places which are so much nicer for less.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muggsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews