We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rocks Villas(Koh Tao)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveller rating
290
384
175
69
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
384
175
69
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssairee beachair consuperior roomhuge bathroompool area isthe ground floorstayed here for nightsminute walk to the beachreception staffsmall poolmini barbars and restaurantsquiet at nightnice roomsun loungersdive centrebeach front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 946 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Big disappointment!! Koh Tao generally is all diving resorts and most look very skanky indeed! Looked at Bans which looked horrible and musty and quite expensive for diving too relative to other packages.
Went to Simple Life based on tripadvisor ratings. Staff were very rude especially the main manager man. He was really not helpful and had to go book at a local internet cafe and was very expensive for the room (and overpriced for what we got).
Pool was nice and large but the smell was bad nearby- not sure what it was.
Breakfast was gross and not worth getting up for! Lots of flies around the food and all had been out for ages- didnt go back the second day.
Had dinner there the first night (place was busy and did pizza) but it was undercooked and we had to send it back.
Room was very big and nice pretty towels and flowers. The air conditoning was very loud!
Right by the pool so good location for the room.
Bathroom was damp smelling but very big.
Area around the hotel was not good- seedy bars etc. but all of koh tao seemed like this.
Overall, overpriced large room with rude staff but probably the best we saw on Koh Tao!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the place to be fantastic. Good sized rooms that are clean. Great swimming pool. Great location, just off the main part of seree beach, less than 5min walk to beach and resturants and bars. Resturant at simple life was fantastic they do a great bbq seafood or skewers!! The bar upstairs of resturant was lively every night but even though we had a room just near the bar the music was turned down around 10-11 and we didnt have a problem with noise. Its ecspecially entertaining when its karaoke night!
Staff were friendly and helpful, we booked all our tours threw them, which were great! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah_K_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

we stayed at this hotel for five nights in november. the rooms are huge and very clean, bathroom was huge aswell. on arrival we were told to knock the a/c off for hot water. it didnt work hot water was non existing in this hotel. other than that it was a very pleasant stay. staff were very friendly. breakfast was fine. we read other reviews saying it was awful so we were a bit sceptical. this is not the case they have pretty much everything you want. pool area is nice and comfortable. however pool could do with a clean. only other thing is there was a construction site beside the hotel so relaxation around the pool was interupted.

its a two minute walk to the beach and acros the road from the main street. be very careful for motorbikes. had some near misses. some very nice restaurants there and great for night time. pleanty of buckets on offer.

ko tao is a diving island if its a beach your looking for go to ko samui.

Room Tip: top floor of the hotel is nice views of the mountains. dont look down its pretty much a construction site.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed 4 nights and were upgraded to one of the rooms by the pool, the room was nice, clean and spacious but smelled a little of damp.

Breakfast was ok and was included in the price. Lunch and dinner options were good value and the pizza very good.

The diving was really good value 700baht per dive, but unfortunately the simple life boat was away for repairs so they couldn't always tell us where they were going, we switched schools on the last dive because we wanted to go somewhere specific.

One thing I would watch out for is booking online, we tried to extend our stay and got a deal on agoda but were told at reception that there were no rooms available. Apparently it doesn't update very quickly. So better to walk up to reception if your booking last minute, even though online can be cheaper.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cattykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed in Simple Life for 3 nights before moving somewhere more suitable to our needs.
The Location isn't the best if you want to be close to the beach but as Sairee is quite small the walk to the beach isn't anything dramatic - maybe 10min max! The hotel is located on the very busy and noisy main street but yet once on the grounds all outside noises are gone and the place is very peaceful... until the building noises start! :-) Unfortunately the hotel is building extension and our room was attached directly to the building site, of course the noise could be heard in all hotel areas. It didn't really bother us until I had to spend one full day resting - there wasn't much of relaxation possible there!
The hotel has a nice but very small swimming pool, it's more of a dip/plunge pool and limited number of sun beds provided around it. I would hope they will build new and bigger pool with the extension otherwise there will be absolutely no room to accommodate guests and provide adequate chill out area.
The restaurant attached to the hotel it's just ok, well overpriced, just cross the road and eat in SuChili (the best penang curry in Koh Tao!), or the restaurant next to it, Blue Chair is nice too or go up next road to Nid's Kichen. Generally the smaller and shabbier looking place, further from the beach and cheaper - the better food! The bar above the restaurant is just horrendous - avoid! They also have singer on most nights - it's like extremely drunk bad karaoke (TG it cannot be heard in your room). The breakfast is awful but there isn't a hotel offering great included in room price breakfast on Sairee, you can grab nice food anywhere around.
Deluxe rooms are truly fantastic!!! They are enormous in size, you could hold a little party inside ;-) They are also tastefully decorated and cleaned everyday - fresh towels provided.
The big wardrobe has a safety box free of charge. There are also umbrellas in the case of rainy weather. I think there was also a telly in the room, but we never watch TV on a holiday...The bathroom in Simple Life was the best we had during our stay in Thailand. Instant hot water, good shower pressure, no flooding (!), really big in size - it's specious enough for 4! :-) Pity about the filthy window blind in the bathroom - the only bad thing.

All together it's a good hotel with fantastic rooms, bit overpriced for what it has to offer (we paid only 300THB more for much nicer place on the beach). I personally wouldn't stay there again, but it's not like I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else. Try it and see for yourself!
All together my advice for anyone going to Koh tao, specially in low season is not to book your full stay in advance! get somewhere to crash for first night or two, have a look around, ask to see resort grounds and different rooms, check prices and get yourself place you really like and where you like! Also remember to check prices on online booking websites - very often (but not always!) you get better deal than dealing directly with the hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews