We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
algarve
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“good enough”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

there are things I's like to have known before we booked to stay on Koh Tao

- Simple Life resort is good enough; comfortable air conditioned rooms but a very small pool given the size of the hotel and it's a walk to the beach

- Simple Life resort and Simple life diving are not connected, you can stay anywhere and dive with Simple Life or you can stay at the resort and pick another dive school

Sairee is a cool town, lots of good accommodation and bars, do your homework and if you don't want to spend the money diving the snorkelling right off the beach is brilliant, there's a reef about 30 metres out

Room Tip: make sure you have a air conditioned room and stay as far from the restaurant as you can, they party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlgarveSunman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    370
    167
    66
    27
See reviews for
93
444
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here in february '12 and booked our room in advance. This gives you more peace of mind once entering the harbor, since everyone is trying to get you to their own hotel/resort. The shuttle service from Simple Life gets you to the resort in no time!

We've stayed in the newest rooms: the mountain view rooms. These are equally sized as the superiour rooms, but have no view at the pool. The service in the hotel was excellent! some operational errors (housekeeping mostly: no towels, or no water in the fridge), but when we informed the reception desk, they helped us immediately.

All in All the last week of our vacation was excellent, thanks to Simple Life both Resort and Divers, so thanks!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CWO_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed here as a group of 5 adults, one room of 3 and one room of 2 for 3 nights. The rooms were lovely and clean and spacious, we booked superior rooms as the rate was very very reasonable. The staff were friendly and the pool was nice but would probably benefit from a couple more sunbeds. The breakfast is ok, quite standard. The only problem we had was when we checked in they got the bookings muddled up with another group, so our rooms were not ready and it was quite stressful at the time. This took about an hour but everything was resolved in the end. All in all we were more then happy staying at simple life, the location is really good and central and the hotel was very clean. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollieh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

stayed a couple of days at Simple Life Resort and I would say that the location is fine (but not on the beach) but the rooms themselves our average at beat. I think you could do better elsewhere. We actually did. We actually found the room to have an musty smell about them. Also, in our month of travel, the staff there was probably the most unhelpful and stand-offish we came across!! Look elsewhere is my feeling when it comes to this property. On a positive note, the breakfast was pretty decent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We would not go back to the Simple Life resort, the rooms although spacious are basic and not a good standard of cleanliness. There was a funny smell and the bed sheets had stains on them. Staff on the whole were helpful bar one who covered night shift. We had to ask for toilet paper several times and this particular staff member was extremely unhelpful. For the price you pay I would have expected more. There are other places we've stayed on the island which are nicer and cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia10985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were in Koh Tao for diving. While we do not expect top notch accommodation, but at B2400 a night, we do expect clean and basic stuff that works.
Firstly, in case you believe this is a resort, its actually more like a chalet. Make sure you dont get a room close to the restaurant.. It gets really noisy and smelly. We had a ground floor room at the new block. Unfortunately, the shower had the lowest water pressure I've ever encountered. And even with that, the drainage was blocked..the hotel only cleared it the second day after asking. The worse part was that the room has bed bugs and my arms and legs are covered with bites. When we told the reception, they offered to change the sheets, and even said: 'the room is new'... Right, like that would help. Maybe they wanted me to show evidence by bringing them a bug or two. Thankfully, we managed to get a new room. In the new room, we were welcomed by a huge roach and on the last morning, the water heater decided not to work. I guess you get the picture.
From my research, simple life resort seems to have a good reputation..I think its fine for those staying free in the fan room due to diving with simple life divers. But given that we've spent about b55,000 with simple life divers, paying this much for the room just ain't worth it. Won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily-vdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

10 minutes walking distance from the beach, highest floor in mountain view was exellent choice course the bar and road was bit noisy. Good budget hotel, ants in the room. Including buffet breakfast. Still bit too expensive. Pool was good plus.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veeranu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,240 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Property: Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing