We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid-range option for Koh Tao”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Hiroshima, Japan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good mid-range option for Koh Tao”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed with the girl reviewer below as we both found the fan accommodation our dive school offered lacking... A/C. Seriously, it's hot on Koh Tao, get a room with A/C!!

While this place would be overpriced anywhere else in Thailand it's a pretty good deal for Koh Tao. A/C was strong, beds were comfy, and room was always clean by the time we got back from diving. Bathroom was often smelly, as I've found is common with outdoor facilities in SEA, but quite large w/ hot, strong showers.

Breakfast buffet had the most extensive variety I think I've ever encountered--the omelet station was an awesome touch! The location is pretty perfect, surrounded by plenty of restaurants, it's a 5-minute walk from most of the dive schools located in on Sairee beach, and about 10-min from the strip of bars/clubs.

Normally I wouldn't spend this much on a room by myself, but after the dump I moved to once my roomie had departed for her next destination (I wanted to continue with my advanced certification) I wish I had stayed at the Simple Life.

Even if you don't stay here, best to spend the money you save on diving on a decent accommodation as the budget options on Koh Tao are pretty abysmal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    367
    166
    66
    27
See reviews for
91
441
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The rooms are good, very big, I stayed with another girl who was diving at the same school as me and also wanted A/C accommodation. We ended up paying 1700 baht total/night which was a good deal compared to some of the other crappy non A/C places we looked at. The room had 2 beds (one King, one double) and we each got 2 towels (one for shower, one for pool). As others have indicated, the bathroom was large and shower was sectioned off which was NICE so the entire bathroom didn't get soaked when you showered. A/C worked really well however wi-fi was almost non existent (which wasn't a huge problem because we were barely in the room as diving school takes up a lot of time!). Restaurant has free wi-fi as well if you're desperate. The room also had a mini bar (which they put 2 fresh waters in for you EVERDAY), TV with DVD player (you can hire DVD's from reception), safe, and place to hang clothes.

The included breakfast was good for Thailand, it was buffet style and they have juices, tea, coffee, a a chef cooking eggs to order, fresh fruit, yogurt, toast station, waffles, bacon, and of course a variety of Thai food (curry, fried rice, veggies, etc). Good value.

Staff was pretty friendly, however I left a pair of earrings on the night stand one day while at dive school and came back to find only one sitting there. I asked the staff and they said they'd "look into it" but nothing was ever recovered.

Overall Simple Life is clean, about 5 minute walk to the beach, close to many restaurants/bars, and a good value for Koh Tao.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near reception if you want a chance at a wi-fi connection. Also, top floor of the at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Simple Life Resort and would recommend them to anyone looking for accommodation and diving experiences in Koh Tao. I came to Koh Tao for the diving and found the staff both at the Resort, and the dive centre to be very friendly, experienced, but also relaxed and easy going. The rooms at the resort were simple but of a good standard and clean.

The diving was great and the confidence and experience of the instructors was just what I needed, having not been diving in about a year. Thank you Tim, Hayden, Steve, Minty, John, Gary, Ollie, Vanessa, Jo, Josh, the American dude (can't remember your name man sorry) and all the others involved. I'm looking to do my Dive Master with simple life over the NY as I was so impressed and I'll be in touch soon Tim! All the best to you all and good luck!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalSteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We arrived on koh Tao at 9am, upon booking our room we requested early check in, twin beds etc.
We had to wait until 1.30pm before we could enter our room to find out it was one bed not two twins, after going down to complain and change our room around it took another hour before we had the room we wanted.
Staff where snarley never smiled.
A few nights there was enough before we had to leave to another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have stayed twice to simple life. The rooms are of a good standard - large Bathrooms, comfy beds / sheets and extremely clean. The cleaning staff are great and come in twice a day. The check in process is a little primitive, but you have to take this with a pinch of salt (your not paying 5*). The Pool area is great - not the biggest but a nice place to come and chill for an hour after a day out exploring or diving. The restaurant is decent and serves a good breakfast. Having been to Koh Tao on a few occasions this is a great place to base yourself (on what is my fav island throughout the world) - the only other hotel that really matches it is Baan's (but is slightly more expensive).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trasky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My Wife and I went to Koh Tao for some diving (average) and stayed in the Simple Life Resort which was great! The staff were always friendly, and the room was beautiful, we especially loved the bathroom which has a lay out and design we will probably use when we renovate our own at home! The restaurant attached was good value and quality and the massage ladies were great. Overall well worth the trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneCountryEachYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Koh Tao is by far the most beautiful of the 3 islands off this coast of Thailand.

The Simple Life is a lovely resort with wonderful staff. The breakfast is good but they need to stop all those awful flies getting in as they just sit on all the food!

Room Tip: Book a luxury room theyre worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQueen_202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
489 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,161 reviews
0.7 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Property: Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing