We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a double room and were both picked up and dropped off at the ferry - convenient! There is a nice pool area (not many hotels have a pool on Koh Tao), a good breakfast with both warm and cold choices and the room was quite spacious and had a massive shower. It's a 3 minute walk to the beach, where you can eat, drink, swim and relax. We also did a diving course with Simple Life Divers and recommend this. There's a great restaurant nearby, Hippo. Don't miss taking a longtail to Nang Yuan. We would definately return. The only things to complain about were thin walls and a safe that sometimes worked, sometimes was broken.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

Smack bang in the middle of Koh Tao's bustling tourist area of Sairee Beach, Simple Life was a remarkably pleasant place to hang my hat while in Thailand's scuba destination of choice. While rooms are a tad pricy at $57 a night, you get a pretty high standard as a result. The bed was ridiculously comfortable, the shower did the trick, and (most importantly) you're good and close to everything.

The on site restaurant is more miss than hit when it comes to their mains, but the breakfast buffet is passable (try the French toast) and they do a good pizza and pasta combo. There's also 100TB cocktails during happy hour.

The pool on site isn't bad and there's an attached massage spa and diving centre we didn't get to try.

The sole real drawback was that the bass from the resort restaurant could be heard in your room, but thankfully this tended to shut off well before it was time to go to bed.

Room Tip: Get one towards the back of the resort if you want to avoid noise from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieOnTheRoadcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

The room was very nice and clean and the resort had a good location in the main street where all bars and restaurants are situated and less than 5 minutes walking distance to Sairee Beach. The hotel standard is comparable to a standard hotel in northern Europe and I would say that you pay relatively much for this hotel. We used the resort's laundry service but unfortunately some clothes were damaged (blue ink spots on the clothes). After a discussione with the receptionist and the manager which took quite some time we were compensated for the damage.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed here for a few wks in January. Nothing but good things to say. Fantastic location, just across road from beach, shops, bars, diving shops , restAurants, but nice and quiet at night. Great room, friendly staff, nice pool, all you need really! Nice buffet breakfast every morning, and food and staff in restaurant were really great too. I would stay here again and recomend it, much better standard than many other hotels here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishsaphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

The resort is quite good value for the money. Basic rooms are a bit musty and ridiculously small but starting from boutique ones, the rooms are ok. Not perfectly decorated and brand new but not bad either. The location of the resort is perfect, right in the middle of all the restaurant and bars area but far enough so as not to be affected by the noise from them. The restaurant and breakfasts -very good. Overall, take the higher standard rounds and you will probably be happy. However, if you're looking for a fancy, luxury resort, it's definitely not the one you should go for.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szymal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Really enjoyed the 4 nights we stayed at Simple Life. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were great - especially the bathrooms. The on-site restuarant/bar was lively but not too loud. Highly recoemmended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrstephenmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We ended up staying here on New Year's day after having trouble with our previous accommodation (Jizo's Hostel - worst hostel I've ever come across, it's a hole!!). The staff were very accommodating and found us a room in the resort at a very reasonable price of 1400THB (around £18) for two adults staying one night and included an extensive list of discounts (e.g. complimentary breakfast, two complimentary drinks in the resort bar, 10% off any spa treatment etc.).

The room was incredibly spacious and tastefully decorated. Two plush double beds with duvets and top sheets, a seating area with sofa and table, working A/C, a television with a variety of channels and mini-fridge with complimentary water. The en-suite bathroom was adequately spaced, as some hotels everything is crammed in, and the shower had the option of hot or cold water. Complimentary shampoo and shower gel were also provided. Unfortunately, our electricity blew due to the room card reader being faulty. We reported this to the staff and they were brilliant - within 10 minutes an electrician was round fitting a new reader!

The pool area is a complete sun-trap, however it was a competition for the few sun loungers available. The pool was clean and well maintained and we had no problems just laying towels on the ground.

Overall, we wished we had stayed at this resort from the beginning of our stay in Koh Tao, it was just completely relaxing! Even after we had checked out our room, the staff allowed us to relax by the pool while we waited for our boat.

Room Tip: Rooms at the bottom of the resort, past the pool, were extremely quiet. We had friends who were stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamnadyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,551 reviews
1.6 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £33 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing