We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better choices.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed here for 18 nights altogether. We initially booked here because we had stayed before but planned on finding a nice spot on the beach. However, Siaree village and beach has declined some what in a year! We have been travelling for 5 months and we do have backpacks but we were not really into the partying scene that has now evolved here! For that reason simple life is a better choice, it's just back from the road and a stroll to the beach but you don't have to suffer the partying noise of staying on the beach. This time we were in the standard boutique which was spacious, comfy bed, good a/c. Bathroom clean but wasn't cleaned very well during our stay, I cleaned the shower area myself a few times! The towels were never replenished properly even if all were on the floor. We had a gecko in our room for the whole stay (who knew they were so loud?!) he pooped on the bed (honest it was him!) and the maid obviously just tried to rub it off then tuck it so we wouldn't notice! I did notice and went to reception! The wifi is slow, cuts out and on a number of occasions isn't available at all. The breakfast is now poor and after seeing a few creatures scurry across the tables I never ate in there again! The resort itself is well maintained and the restaurant suffers because of the busy road and extensive building work opposite. The pool is tiny but we were at the beach/sea all the time. The staff are helpful if they can sit still on there mobiles to answer your query! But for the relatively good price and compared to the standards elsewhere it's a good choice. My tip is forgo breakfast there are nicer options elsewhere.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

Ideal location just set back from the main road. The room we had was basic. We had glass in our sink on arrival which we removed ourselves. When it came to checking out they tried to charge us for the missing glass!
The bar where you have your breakfast in the morning is filled with flys. On the first day all the food had bluebottles crawling all over it, later in the week they covered it up.
Towels in your room were changed daily if you left them on the floor, however they very rarely replenished the full amount so several trips to reception were needed.
The pool was quite dirty. You could feel and see hair floating on the top.
The best part of the hotel was the fact that the beds and pillows were very comfortable!

Room Tip: My father in law stayed in a deluxe room for an extra £10 a night. His room was significantly better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluechild5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed for 4 nights.

Good points
Good location, in the middle of koh tao. Close to all bars and resturants.
Comfy bed
Air con
tv, fridge, dressing table

Now for the bad points
Bathroom stinks all the time
Shower is rubbish
Wifi is crap, u have to sign in everytime you want to use it. Its very slow and cuts out
Pool very small
Rooms and pool look nothinh like pics on website
Verynoisey you can hear everything from next door even them showering!!
More of a party hotel for young people out in the clubs
All the doors sweaks thats all u hear all night long doors opening and closing
The worst part of all is the resturant. Its packed and covered in flys!!! We walked out and left our food, I have wrote a separate review on the resturants page, avoid if u dont want to be ill!!

I could go on and on. We didnt expect 5 star but this is more of a hostel for young party people than a couple looking for a quite few days, dont get me wrong we are 30 ourselves but the noise is horrible.

Much nicer hotels around. We tried to leave a day earky but ferrys were full...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We booked Simple Life Resort online as we were only in Koh Tao for a few days for diving and couldn't be bothered with the usual treck around to find accomodation.

The place itself is good for Koh Tao, so read ok by most other standards, we went for a mountain view room which cost a little extra, but seeing the cheaper rooms right by the noisy street and the bar i'm glad we made that choice. The rooms were big enough and had cable tv/air-con etc. - my only couple of small complaints would be that the shower holder didn't fit the shower head, meaning a frustrating shower. Also the doors are all patio-door style and make a bit of a screetch when opened and a slam when shut, so if you want a bit of a sleep in you do get to hear this a number of times as other people leave their rooms. The pool was also always pretty packed - no sunbeds available - but I can't think of another pool on the island that isn't used for diving training so I can understand why!

However what made this place really stand out for me was the staff. Getting into the Koh Tao spirit I left if until the last minute to book a boat ticket back to Koh Samui where we had a flight the next day. I went to book at the hotel desk where the very friendly lady phoned all around for me trying to get us on a boat - but they were all full! Luckily she found one at 6am which wasn't advertised anywhere else and managed to get us on to that - a real life-saver!

Plus she arranged check out the night before, and in the morning the security guard was waiting to give our room the final check-over and the car was ready and waiting to take us to the port, so we didn't have to get up too much earlier. Compare this with some other people we knew who had to get the same boat, but were staying at a much more expensive place, they had a proper nightmare trying to check out in the morning, with no staff around etc. So full marks to Simple Life for their customer service!

Room Tip: Go mountain view as a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stukerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Picked this hotel and booked direct solely on the basis of it's website
We placed great emphasis on the advertised 'tranquility' as this was a scuba diving holiday involving some very early morning starts (and early shut eye the night before)
We booked the basic accommodation and were allocated a room at the very front of the hotel next to the bar/restaurant
This has thumping music going until 11pm (sometimes later) - hardly tranquil
It took two days to get moved to another quieter room
Once this was sorted we were very happy
Great location in the middle of town and just 200 yards from Sairee Beach
Staff were friendly and rooms were clean and extremely comfortable
Free pick up to and from the ferry port was a bonus

Room Tip: If you want peace and tranquility away from the hotel's bar/restaurant avoid rooms S1 to S7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed there a night ; we booked a standard AC and got a standard boutique ; room was very nice, big, clean and cute, good aircon and nice hot shower, very good beds.

Service is great, each person got a beer and breakfast was free, as was the transfert back to mae haad pier. After our difficult night @Nangyuan, it was a great compensation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C2M_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Our room was very nice but expensive. Staff were super friendly, food was okay but also expensive, although the restaurant and bar atmosphere was very nice.

Don't go to the all you can eat pizza nights, those involve pizzas frantically being made with a waitress splitting them between customers. You don't get to choose what type of pizza you get, and you have to wait a long time between slices.

The buffet breakfast was okay, don't expect anything amazing. The fruit (fresh watermelon and pineapple was the best).

The location was good, a short 3 minute walk from the beach. Our room looked over the hotel pool and some coconut palms on the neighbouring lot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
551 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
330 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range: £35 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing