We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

A group of 14 of us stayed at Simple life resort in November for a scuba diving holiday. We chose to upgrade with the package we were given with the PADI accredited simple life diving school and the accommodation was fantastic. We all fell in love with Koh Tao and the hotel was fantastic. We stayed 5 nights at Simple life and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel was in a great location and was close walking distance to the beach and restaurants and we didn't need to get transport once. We also had 7/11 2 minutes down the road and the best pancake making lady ever!!
There were only a few downsides to Simple life being the very limited breakfast ( I was fine because I love Asian food so would only get this for breakfast!), the shower pressure was dreadful and often the water would be cold, we had alot of problems with our power as the power would only be on when the key was in and would only go on after 10-20minutes so after being out diving all day we had to wait to have a hot shower and the aircon, we called reception about it a few times but they only provided a temporary solution for this and we only discovered what the cause was after trial and error( we would suggest a second key to each room be given so this can be prevented!) and there was a dreadful amount of Mosquitos ( we had to put a massive amount of repellent on and that still didn't work! One night I got eaten alive literally and had 100+ Mosquito bites, my fault however as I fell asleep outside) so it would be great if they could provide mosquito coils to combat this.

Overall we all thoroughly enjoyed our Stay at simple life and will definitely come back!! If you come here do the scuba diving it is AMAZING!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amyhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

When looking around places to stay in koh tao before travelling, we struggled to find affordable beach front location as we weren't planning on diving whilst there. This place is great for the non divers. Just a 2 min walk from sairee beach. The aircon worked well in the room, the bathroom was lovely, mini bar was well stocked and prices of goods reasonable. The restaurant was affordable and served good food. Breakfast was included in the room, quality wasn't great, the eggs were good but were accompanied by over processed ham and sausage.
The pool was nice and always enough beds. I recommend hiring a quad to get around the island as the roads are very uneven dirt tracks! Boyfriend hired a dirt bike but dropped it on a bad road despite having lots of bike experience and was stung with the cost of fixing it!!
The room was great and very clean until the beds were moved however this was easily sorted. We had our laundry done whilst staying here and had no problems, it came back smelling lovely!
Overall a great stay and would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynds88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Simple life Koh Tao was a great hotel. Staff are very friendly and very helpful. Assisted with carrying my large suitcase up the stairs. Rooms are basic but always clean. Good Aircon. Location is excellent too, not on the beach but about a 2 min walk. Pool is clean. Only problem is at night the power can go out. Usually only for about 30 seconds at a time but a little annoying. Restaurant also good, buffet breakfast is huge and lots to choose from. Would definately stay at simple life again. Koh Tao is an amazing place, very chilled out.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AusGirl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a deluxe superior room for 3nights and then returned for 5nights stay, costing 1,700 baht a night incl breakfast.

Simple Life is located off the main road in Koh Tao. Whilst its not 'on the beach', this doesn't really matter as the beach is a two minute walk and it's not the nicest beach anyway.

Whilst there are more restaurants on the beach, these are usually of a poor quality - instead it around the corner from Simple Life at places like Gallery, Nongs, Tik etc.

If you are diving you are better off to stay in Sairee Beach in the heart of things than Chalok Beach or Shark Bay.

Both rooms we stayed in were clean, cleaned daily and were in good condition.

The second room was close to the restaurant which turn into a busy bar at night with pumping music. Not once did it keep us awake, couldn't even hear it once the door was closed.

Wifi was good, with occasional lags. It was stronger in our second room than the first.

Breakfast was of standard 'Thai resort' quality. So don't expect wonders. You order off a set menu of options for how you want your eggs cooked, this is then complemented with a small buffet.

Pool was clean and had adequate sun beds.

Customer service was good. We got laundry done through the resort (including whites and delicates) and had no problems.

Overall, had no issues and found Simple Life to be great value for Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gem_TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This place sucks and is way overpriced. Skip it! Head south to Freedom Beach.

A double bed room was around $80 for the night. While its right in the center of the island, I don't think that's a good thing. It's a small island which you can get around in by rented scooter ($6 a day) or taxi. That said, I went south to Freedom Beach. It's a lovely little area with lots of restaurants and bars. The vibe is easy and you'll probably love it.

Back to Simple Life. The room had horrific colors and decor. It was pretty beat up. The person who paints around there must be cross-eyed and do it with a brush attached to a limp foot. Terrible.

The free breakfast is nothing special at all. The toaster makes one piece of toast every 400 years. Start your toast 5 minutes before you order your food.

In short, go find a place at Freedom Beach. The TaaToh Resort looks nice, but it's pretty crappy too. Beautiful views from the ocean front bungalows. That's about it. Skip that one too.

A suggestion is, uh, it's called "Big Fish" or really similar. My friend stayed there. Clean. Great location. Nice rooms. Good price. Give them a look.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardPryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stayed at simple life when we went to Thailand 2 years ago and lied it so much that we returned again! We booked a superior room both times, the room was spotless and a good size, the resort was a lot busier this time round and some days the pool was quite busy but we still managed to get a sun bed when we wanted one! The beds were really comfy and the oops were cleaned everyday with fresh clean towels provided! The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Sairee with all the restaurants and bars right on your doorstep yet you wouldn't realise this when you were there! We would most definitely return again!! The reception staff were also exceptionally helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemmaEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean and nice. Daily cleaning is perfect and nice to have a rather cheap minibar (7 eleven price level) with daily complementary bottles of water. Staff very friendly! Location is also pretty good, close to the beach but quite at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Januszjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,302 reviews
2.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £37 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing