We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away. as simple as that.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay Away. as simple as that.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The hotel is not located on the beach.
Rooms outdated, worn furniture and squeaky.
There is a terrible smell from the sewage system and they try to disguise it by air fresheners and pebbles.
We had high expectations and we were bitterly disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kobi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    363
    160
    65
    26
See reviews for
90
433
72
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Martinique
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Simple life was okay, we went there during the first week of october 2013.
There is a pick up and drop off service at the pier for free, and the staff actually help you with the luggage there. Which is very convenient.
Our room (number S4) was okay, comfortable bed, many towels, a big safe box, AC...Housekeeping came everyday and our room was pretty clean.
This is a good value for the price (35 Euros) because the breakfast is included (eggs, ham, meat, noodles, french toast, waffles, cereals, fruits...)
Besides there are many restaurants, bars, shops and massages around because the hotel is located right in the middle of an active center. The hotel is also located at a walking distance from the long tail taxi boat, so 5 minutes from the beach (not a paradise beach that's why it is convenient to have the taxi boat).
This is a very good choice if you want to earn some time, money and efforts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

After reading some of the reviews we requested one of the ground floor rooms facing the pool. This proved to be a pretty good decision since there is a hostel being built outside the opposite side of the hotel. we could hear none of this from our room but as we left the hotel we noticed it was pretty loud. The room was clean and spacious with air con and a mini fridge with two bottles of complimentary water a day. There were also very few mosquito's to be found. Breakfast every day was pretty terrible, consisting of eggs with a selection of cold meats surrounded by flies. Overall we were happy with our stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: ground floor room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selcouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We had a room in the second (old) building and will not return here. Maintenance was poor as the water fountain and the toilet seat were both broken. We hardly slept due to all the noise. Not sure what the noise was but it sounded like the roof plates were flying up and down. The balconies were on the side of the gallery so we had absolutely no privacy because of all the people walking by. Breakfast was the absolute worst we had in Thailand. The food was horrible and the flies made it worse. There are probably a lot of other places to stay at Koh Tao that are both cheaper and better! Not worth the stay.

Room Tip: maybe the new building is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed at a Simple life for 5 nights. Arrived and found out we had been upgraded which was a nice arrival as we were backpacking and this was our treat. The location is great however there is construction on the building beside them so no sleep ins from 8 onwards. I stayed on the top level and heard noises all night like banging, I finally went out of my room on night 3 and figured out that the tin on the roof is loose and the wind kept picking it up and dropping it. The breakfast was very simple, ended up getting breakfast elsewhere. The staff are rude but It could bra language barrier aswell. The pool is great however they can ease up on the chlorine. Wifi is poor unless you are in the reception otherwise drops out and you have to reconnect every time. Only good thing was an upgrade. I'm sure you can get something better for the same price.

Room Tip: Try get a ground floor level otherwise you'll be climbing stairs every day in the heat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emm J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed the positive attitude of the staff, great service and easy access location. If you want high quality for your bucks and stay close to Koh Tao nightlife, beach and diving centers, this could be it. The breakfast was average.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Erlend O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Big clean rooms with excellent location in the center of Sairee, 5 minutes walk to the beach. Staff is friendly and helpful. A little bit more expensive than the average Thai room but for Ko Tao it was a good price.

Room Tip: The local restaurant serves great food for good prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lecram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.7 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.0 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Property: Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing