We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Had a great few days at the simple life resort, twin room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was huge! We were given clean towels everyday including a beach towel. Pool area was great with lots of sun beds and umbrellas. 2 minute walk to the beach, bars and restaurants. The hotel picked us up from the pier on arrival and took us back when we checked out. Wifi was great and the mini bar was very reasonable. Aircon was lovely but quite noisy of a night. Would love to return next year! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleyal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    365
    163
    66
    27
See reviews for
91
436
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

my only fault with this hotel is when I stayed there, there was a lot of building work going on near by so I had a 9.00 wake up call whether I like it or not.
Apart from that the room was lovely & had the biggest bed I've ever slept in, it was also really comfy which makes a change for thai beds.
The grounds of the hotel were really nice, the pool was great & the staff couldn't do enough for you.
The location of this hotel is brilliant as well, really close to the beach & the nightlife & conveniently close to the 711. I would 100% stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LynneMc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We changed to this hotel after having a horrible experience in the Sunshine Resort (south Koh Tao) and Simple Life was simply perfect.
- Clean and big rooms
- Really nice staff
- Quite ok breakfast
- Great massage service (at least the foot massage)
Not close to the beach but not far (5 mins walk)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictorRp1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

OK, here's the deal- if you are on a real tight budget, a standard room would be survivable. The A/C doesn't work well, the bathroom is open to the outside and the room itself, although clean, was dingy and scary. The hotel is very quiet but still lots of good eats, shopping and pubs around, including really good Thai restaurant across the street. For Koh Tao- it's not bad. The pool was decent and breakfast OK. The staff is a bit too laid back but there area couple of girls at the front desk who were very helpful.

The so-called "beach" is across the street and very small and dirty. As I've said before, if you're not diving, skip this island. There is no beautiful stretch of swimmable beach.

Room Tip: It is so worth it to spend a few extra dollars and upgrade to a poolside room. Much, much better a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little1linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a superior deluxe room and it was an absolute bargain. Big, clean and comfortable room with a terrace. Set back from the road so reasonably quiet, but very close to the beach. Nice pool and lovely staff. I will stay here again in the future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lockersBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I think Simple Life takes it's name a little too literally. We found when things went wrong, as they often did, we would shrug our shoulders and say "Oh well... Simple Life". Perhaps 'Low Expectations Hotel' would also be suitable if ever they fancied a re-brand.

To start on a high, the location was great. It was right in the heart of the action. A short stroll to local restaurants, bars and a little further to the livelier nightlife. The best pancakes in town are served up from a stall not 30 metres from the hotel (outside 7/11). The pool was adequate although a little small for the size of the complex.

We found the staff to be rude, unhelpful and ... Simple? Upon check-in our friends were shown into a room that was occupied. They were then told to sit and wait on the porch and it seems they were then forgotten about. Ten minutes passed before they enquired at reception, who were confused and took them to a new room. To top this, the hotel refused to transfer us all to the pier on check-out as we had bought the boat ticket from elsewhere. Fortunately, by the time our check-out came they had forgotten our faves and we jumped in no hassel. Simple Life.

We enjoyed a boat trip around Koh Tao. When our 'turtle tour' boat was full we transferred to a Simple Life boat. There are 5 or 6 operators all running identical tours so we were happy to jump ship and follow the convoy. Our Simple Life boat had trouble leaving the pier. After several attempts we were at sea and the problem became apparent. The boat couldnt turn left. Simple Life!!

Our rooms were basic, the floor gritty, and the showers troublesome. The electricity was temperamental and had a habit of turning off mid-shower. Unfortunately this happened to our neighbour too, but luckily for him he had a torch provided by his door. Of course, it didn't work. Oh well, Simple Life...

I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlversuslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed for a week for a beach holiday. We were given a free upgrade although no one mentioned this to us. Room was very nice - large room and massive bed with a balcony area and even a drying room at the back. Reception girls were lovely and very helpful helping us arrange our further travel plans. Pool was good although beds could get very busy late afternoon. Breakfast was poor and the restaurant is full of flies for breakfast and lunch. In the evening the restaurant is much nicer and always busy and well priced. Less than 5 minute walk to beach and right on the main street for restaurants and bars. Noisy during our stay due to construction (looks like it will be going on a long time yet) although didn't really disturb us too much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleWillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Property: Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing