We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay...not the best but could have been worse.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Our stay at Simple Life did not get off to the best of starts after a bad crossing from Koh Phangan and our transfer, which had been prebooked, not being there. When we reached the meeting point at the end of the pier we actually saw them drive past us and leave, we looked around but there was no other representative from the hotel. A local taxi driver witnessed this also, we were worried we were about to get 'ripped off' having read about taxis on the island, but he helped us get to the resort without any problems. When we arrived we mentioned this to the man on reception and he laughed and said 'oh it was there'...well clearly the transfer wasn't as we watched it drive past us and saw the truck parked in the hotel's parking area!

To top things off we then found out we had to pay an additional fee to pay for our booking on card. We booked our stay through booking.com having paid our deposit online using card so weren't best pleased to discover this.

Anyway, our room (a twin boutique) was fresh and clean, and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also clean, looking like it had possibly been recently updated. The beds were really comfortable with two huge puffy pillows. Towels were provided daily, including a coloured towel to use at the beach or by the pool. We also had an area at the back of our room which was where the air con unit was kept, this area (almost like a utility room) was always really hot and had a drying rack which was great for swim wear and towels.

The pool area got quite a bit of sunlight during the day and was often very hot - the floor was incredibly hot so either meant a run to the pool or stick your flip flops on! There were plenty of loungers and we never found the area to be full up.

The breakfasts at Simple Life definitely were not a highlight of our stay. Maybe we'd been spoilt elsewhere on our trip? There was a selection of Thai foods, as well as an odd combination of international food such as southern fried chicken, cauliflower cheese and mashed potato. Oh, and if you did choose any of these hot buffet items you were lucky if they were lukewarm! The area was infested with flies, and these often got to the food, the staff made no efforts in deterring them. On several mornings we found dirty plates to be in the pile of 'clean' plates. When you sat down you were asked to choose an option from a card which signified how you wanted your eggs cooked, the staff couldn't understand it if you did not want to make a selection. We never chose one of these options but when other people did it arrived on a plate with slices of processed ham and a sausage. It was a very odd set up.

Despite being in a busy area, we found Simple Life to be incredibly lifeless and lacking in atmosphere.

The housekeeping staff worked incredibly hard throughout the day and were very friendly. We also had some laundry done whilst staying at Simple Life, it was returned very quickly smelling lovely and fresh.

There was a lot of building noise coming from both sides of the hotel late in the afternoon and early in the morning, we were worried this would cause us some disruption but it was manageable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hats13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 910 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here in July for 5 nights. Great customer service. Really clean and modern accommodation. Very close to the main beach and all the nice restaurants. Fizz bar is a must, so relaxing! Had a massage at the hotel and it was bliss. Highly recommend this hotel to all travellers (family, couple, business etc).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Celine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was our final stop on our trip round Thailand, the accommodation was just about okay, not sure if we'd been spoilt in other places that we stayed but we thought the hotel was a bit disappointing. There was building work going on on both sides of the hotel ( not there fault ) the rooms were dated and in need of painting. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was acceptable but that's about it. Good location, 5 minutes walk to the beach

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Simram1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a good find. If you don't want the whole 'bungalow on the beach' I can recommend this hotel. It has a small pool with a decent number of sun loungers but I spent most of my time at the beautiful beach. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable and big. The staff are helpful and friendly and despite what I read about breakfast I thought it was good. The standard room has air con and a safe. I was happy here.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

booked through search engine. once paid received email that we had to pay extra as hotel did not have this room category after all. so had to pay more for superior room. hotel was going to contact us with details of pick up once we arrived by boat from the mainland. The hotel did not do this, Once arrived at the hotel they were friendly. Room was large but not well equipped. did not have night stands although plenty of room. cleaning ladies were very good and plenty of clean towels. breakfast is awful. tea and coffee from a hotplate and not drinkable. Food the same every morning from a buffet; even the local fruit is not sweet. They no longer add food 10 min before time. There is plenty of accommodation on the island and this one is definitely expensive for what you get. when we left they refused to call taxi or take us back to the port. their argument was that we must buy boat ticket from them. however they did not sell our type of ticket. hotel on a very busy road. there is a pool but we did not use it. we decided to extend our stay on the island for one more night. once the hotel understood this and we had not asked them to extend the room they became very unfriendly.

Room Tip: We only saw one room and did not spend time in this hotel as on a main road and not on or near the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inge50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This resort is lovely. It has lots of space in the room. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

I would definitely stay here again as it's walking distance to the beach, night life and shops. However, I would not include breakfast in the price. It was limited food and there were flies all over the food and eating area. It disgusted me! This is the only problem, other than that it was great.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sinedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This modest resort is located at the heart of Sairee village. Everything is a hop-skip away, from diving schools to good restaurants to shopping. On an island like Ko Tao where scooters are discouraged because of unscrupulous hire companies, this is important. The Simple Life offers good value, with very clean rooms, delightful staff (a special shout out to the reception staff and to the bellhops, who start their day waiting tables at the restaurant). A decent buffet breakfast is included in the price, with warm western and Thai food as well as fresh fruit and yoghurt. Tis good value, and well worth it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gleider H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,305 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £33 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing