We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Lund
1 review
“Nice and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

Perfect room that was very nice and frech and had a big balcony. The staff was very helpful at any time of the day. Breakfast included the most and was great. It was our first visit at Koh Tao and if we come back we will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TompaLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    362
    160
    65
    26
See reviews for
90
433
71
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

My review is for the suprior room my son and his wife was upgraded to, not the standardroom I got as we had booked. I reccomend to book the superior, the standard was ok but no more, I did not like the bathroom at all. But for my nex visit to Koh Tao I will stay at Simple Life SUPERIOR room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sezleka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevington, Sussex.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

The resort is still in the throes of extending its facilities but some simple steps could be taken to improve its value. Hand towels in addition to bath towels, a hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, maintenance of plugs in hand basins and locks on windows , stones in the bathroom channels designed for floor drainage - the stones were present in the superior rooms but not in the standard rooms although that was obviously the design intention. Bedside lights and switches at least five feet from the side of the bed - all very small concerns but rather irritating.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and there is a pleasant swimming pool - a pity they have not caught on to the idea that the addition of sun loungers - there were two but one was broken - and a poolside drinks service would have been profitable

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitpik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Lovely hotel, right in the heart of Koh Tao. 2 minutes to the beach and diving resorts/bars/internet/shops ect. Was only there for two nights, but really wanted to stay longer. You MUST stay at the simple life resort!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iheartibiza25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2010

4 minute walk from the beach and night life at the "older" end of town. We had ground floor rooms which walked out on to the pool area. Hotel was friendly, clean, well presented and has its own diving school and restaurant. Simply put, excellent location and value for money, could not fault it!

Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JamesT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

When you arrive off the ferry a man with a board will hold up your name for your free transfer- make sure you look out for them. This was great, as when we arrived it was pouring with rain and the guy really helped get us in the car quickly and swiftly. They will also take you back to the ferry when you leave- for free. Excellent service.

We arrived at the hotel (less than 10 mins ride) thinking "hmmm..." but don't be fooled. It really is a lovely hotel, with big massive rooms (deluxe- £30p/n with agoda) and a massive clean bathroom. The hotel staff is friendly, helping you with anything you need. The pool area is good, with about 8 sun loungers, it's not really a problem as many people prefer to go to the beach as it is so nearby. They also have free wifi included, accessible in the room.

We hired a scooter from a guy near the 7 eleven (which is opposite the hotel). We have never driven a scooter before, so it was a bit terrifying, but as the island is not overcrowded like other places we've been to, it was quite good to practice. The guy even gave my boyfriend a quick 10 minute lesson. It cost us £3 (150bht) for 24hrs which we found to be really cheap. We gave them our passport as deposit and returned the scooter with no problems the next day.

We loved the Office Bar along the 'main' stretch of Sairee Beach. It looks like a little wooden hut, but the owner is ever so friendly, and the drinks are so so cheap. It was definitely the place to be in the evening, as when we walked along the beach to find a good busy bar, it seemed this place was the busiest, and the places along the beach were actually empty (despite having fire throwers to attract customers). As for food- breakfast at the Brothers restaurant (sister of Simple life) is actually really good. We waited a little bit long on our first morning, but when the food came, it was yummy. You can choose either a full English or 2 items from a list of things such as toast with jam, French toast, rice with chicken {or congee as otherwise known}, plus some more. The Thai restaurant opposite from the Brothers (the one on the left as there are two) is absolutely delicious and cheap. We tried here due to a recommendation from a review on here. The owner (can't remember his name) was so friendly and chatty, and it's such a nice family run restaurant that we came back the next day. 'Bans' along the beach is also a nice one, facing the sea. Very cool and relaxed atmosphere and again, very cheap food. Would recommend again. This place seems to be very popular during the day and then in the evening they have live bands and is once again packed full of people. As for other restaurants, we realised that pretty much all of them stop serving food after 10pm, so make sure you eat early.

Finally, a visit to Koh Nang Yuan is definitely worth it and unforgettable! Please don't miss this one out!! We did a boat trip with Diamond tours (prices were the same everywhere) and got picked up the next day. However, perhaps it was due to low season, our trip wasn't full, so they combined our trip with the other boat trip organisers to make it a fuller boat. A lot of waiting around (for what???) but when we finally left it was brilliant. The water was extremely choppy and we felt rather sea sick so perhaps take some tablets with you. But when they dropped us off at Koh Nang Yuan it was just in time as it helped us recover. You have to pay a fee (100bht- £2 each) to land as it's a National Park. They leave you here for 2hours-ish and you can snorkel around or just relax and enjoy the amazing scenery, before picking you up again. Really, really amazing island, you have to see it to appreciate it! Alternatively, you can hire a long tail boat for about 300bht-£6 which you pay when they return to pick you up.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catty-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

I will start by saying that I was expecting something completely different from the island of Koh Tao. It is very underdeveloped and I assumed that there would be some infrastructure, which there is not. The roads are still very primitive, close to the point of it being impossible to drive on them at certain parts of the island. The Simple Life "Resort" had very basic standard rooms. I was hoping that since we had planned to stay there for 10 days and it was their low season, they might have given us an upgrade. There clearly were not many guests at the resort the entire time we were there. We were glad the few days that we got up early enough there was free breakfast at the Brother Restaurant, it was a good breakfast too! Generally, we have been traveling all over Thailand and SE Asia for months now, but the people on Koh Tao just didn't seem very hospitable. I would not recommend renting a moped, dirtbike, or quad on the island, because they will tell you it is damaged when you bring it back to them and force you to pay them a ridiculous price in order to get your passport/deposit back, despite it being damaged or not. The police are more crooked than the scam-artists too, so don't look to them for any help, ever. The resort just didn't seem at all like a resort. It is not someplace that I would ever consider bringing kids. Just not what we expected.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddhaBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.7 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.0 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Property: Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing