We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
skien
1 review
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

It was a very nice hotel and they`ve got a helpful staff. They`ve got a childrens pool and that was great for us, we had 3 children with us.

The bad thing about this hotel was the laundry, make up room and the restaurant.
When we got back our clothes from the laundry, it was still dirty...that was not so great! The make up room were very slow, they didn`t make up our room until 3-4 pm and that`s late. It was many flies in the restaurant and that`s was very anoying. Beside all that it was great to stay there, and we`re defintly going back there!!:)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siri85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simplelifetao, Owner / Manager at Koh Tao Simple Life Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2010
Hi Siri85 - thanks very much for the feedback.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend Koh Tao Simple Life Resort.

The resort was completed during late 2008, and during 2009 we were applying the finishing touches (opening our bar-restaurant, swimming pool etc).

Now fully operational, overall we feel that we're doing a good job (which I think is reflected in the other comments on TripAdvisor). However, clearly there are going to be a few small issues that we have to work to 'iron out'.

Our aim is that everyone that stays here at Simple Life Resort has a great experience, and as such the feedback that we get in reviews such as yours is invaluable in helping us strive for perfection.

Looking at your points, for most of the year we don't experience this fly problem (which for sure was also experienced elsewhere across Koh Tao). We think it's a result of seasonal weather conditions - lately we've had very hot weather and very little breeze, which seems to create the problem. For most of the year we're fine as a breeze blows into Sairee Beach - the air movement seems to solve the issue, but we'll obviously look into how we can prevent this problem when we encounter the same weather conditions during early 2011.

As you may have realized whilst staying here, compared with much of the accommodation available on Sairee Beach Koh Tao, Simple Life Resort offers a high standard at very affordable rates.

Since opening we've been pleasantly surprised with how popular the resort has become. During early 2010, we've been pretty much completely full, every day.
A consequence has been that our cleaning staff have been feeling the strain. Again this is something which we're addressing, increasing the number of cleaning staff and the efficiency with which we're turning the rooms around each day. (Laundry is part of the same issue). This is one of the main issues drawing our attention and we're doing what we can to make sure the service we provide meets expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    365
    163
    66
    27
See reviews for
91
436
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Lovely accommodation, really nice & clean, really big bathroom, the only fault was it would of been nice to have tea & coffee facilities in the room otherwise couldn't find anything wrong, the owners & staff are really friendly & helpful, simple life is in a brilliant location just across the road from the beach, it was really quite at night as you set back just off the main road so no noise at all. Sairee beach is lovely & sandy & the water is really clean.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC41Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

My wife and I stayed at the simple life resort for our honeymoon. First planned to stay 2 days but the resort was so enjoyable that we ended up staying 10 days.
We stayed at the superior room. The room was beautiful, very big, very very clean (the staff cleaned it everyday, even if we didn't ask for it...). The bed was huge and comfortable, A/C was efficient and silent, huge decorative bathroom (with both a toilet and a urinal, so no "lines" to use in the morning). The safety box in the room was a big plus.
We had a private terrace which overlooked the pool and beautiful garden. the room is actually 2 steps from the pool, which is a great place to chill out in quiet during the hot hours.
The resort serves a fabulously rich breakfast buffet with western and Thai cuisine. In addition, the resort's restaurant serves very good, high quality and tasty food, from a large and diverse menu.
The staff was an important part of our good experience. Always smiling, ready to serve and keen to help with any question or need. We were really sad when we had to leave to our next destination and say goodbye to these guys.
Location is perfect. 2 minutes walk to the Sairee beach promenade (which gets really noisy at night, as it accomodates most restaurants & bars, and naturally motorbike noise), but far enough to be completely quiet and peacful so you get a good night's sleep.
The resort operates with a dive club bearing the same name (Simple Life Divers). We had some fun dives with the club, and were pleased, with both service and dive masters.
To conclude - great place, great value for money, lovely staff. we are already planning our vacation there next year :)

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetManta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

Perfect room that was very nice and frech and had a big balcony. The staff was very helpful at any time of the day. Breakfast included the most and was great. It was our first visit at Koh Tao and if we come back we will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TompaLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

My review is for the suprior room my son and his wife was upgraded to, not the standardroom I got as we had booked. I reccomend to book the superior, the standard was ok but no more, I did not like the bathroom at all. But for my nex visit to Koh Tao I will stay at Simple Life SUPERIOR room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sezleka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jevington, Sussex.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

The resort is still in the throes of extending its facilities but some simple steps could be taken to improve its value. Hand towels in addition to bath towels, a hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, maintenance of plugs in hand basins and locks on windows , stones in the bathroom channels designed for floor drainage - the stones were present in the superior rooms but not in the standard rooms although that was obviously the design intention. Bedside lights and switches at least five feet from the side of the bed - all very small concerns but rather irritating.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and there is a pleasant swimming pool - a pity they have not caught on to the idea that the addition of sun loungers - there were two but one was broken - and a poolside drinks service would have been profitable

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitpik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Lovely hotel, right in the heart of Koh Tao. 2 minutes to the beach and diving resorts/bars/internet/shops ect. Was only there for two nights, but really wanted to stay longer. You MUST stay at the simple life resort!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iheartibiza25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Property: Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing