We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Fish Dive Resort
Ranked #107 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

The room are overpriced and my sheet was not clean. The woman manager is unfriendly and talk to you only about money. Never one smile, and rude with her employees. Wifi is not free. Restaurant is overpriced also. The only good point is the inner garden with tropical trees and the direct view on the beach.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank lauryathailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

I wonder if the staff at this place ever read the reviews people put onto TA! We echo much of what has been said by others. The setting is grand, the rooms basic but fine. Plenty of hot water and the only place we had a choice of two movie channels in English. It was also the only place they wanted paying for wifi, (don't pay - almost all the cafes offer free wifi), and the only place with staff who would act as though you weren't there! We stayed for a week, and right up to our departure the staff never once smiled or said "Hello" to us - and frequently didn't respond when we said it - even though we were using their language! We've travelled a lot in Thailand over the years and this attitude is so atypical. As is their strange way of charging - we suspect that they look at you and make up a number! It's as if they don't expect people to chat to each other, comparing rates. However, if you accept that that's how they are, the setting is very good.

Room Tip: Not a tip about the room, but if you need any tickets or advice about travel plans, we strongly recc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twotravellingseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stunning location, beautiful bay, great outdoor seating area, lovely sunset views, plenty of lovely wooden sun loungers, clean, comfy beds...why do they have to spoil it by being so rude?
Everything about this place would be perfect if the staff would turn on a smile and be a bit more in tune with what people expect when they are on holiday/travelling.
We were originally told 1500B for the room, but then when they found out we had kids, they put the price up to 2500B for the same room, on the grounds that we would 'use more water' (this is in a cold shower room...). So at almost £50 a night it was a total rip off, £30 would have been fine. However, it was the only room available in the whole bay so we ended up taking it, and we did have a lovely time, but it made it hard for us to afford to eat that week on our travel budget.
Come on guys, just lighten up and be nice to people who stay with you. They might even come back that way.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LS6JAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in December 2013. I got to know the girls from reception and the owner and rented a scooter for around a week.

Firstly rooms were fine, no fridge or hot water, but the Fan was fine, and in Thailand, I personally didnt mind the lack of hot water for a few days!

location is great! Right on Ko Tao's best beach, Chalok Bay.

I met several people who were also staying here and everyone seemed quite pleased with their room(s).

I didn't eat in the restaurant during my stay here as timing never worked out for me.

I've since read a lot of negative reviews about this place and the staff, but I personally didn't experience any negative stuff, and certainly didnt hear about anyone being ripped off. "Treat as you find" I guess. For me the staff were polite and friendly and after I moved to another, cheaper resport just a stones throw away, I kept the scooter I'd hired for another 5 or 6 days. When I returned it, no problems at all.

I'll be coming back to Ko Tao soon and I would certainly consider staying here again.:)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ispoono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Ridulously over priced for the below standard accomadation. But to top off the day light robbery. I have never come across hotel staff so rude and unhelpful in all my travels, have been to 6 parts of Thai land in the past 5 weeks of travelling, and the are the worst people I have had to deal with by a long stretch. The manager of the hotel is by far the rudest. And won't help you even if you have the smallest problem. Oh and if you do fancy a lie in on your holiday this is definitely not the place for you. Every morning of our 3 day stay they woke us up at 6:45. With 4 members of staff sweeping gravel out side out door to pick up the leaves. That could easily be done at 10:00. All in all. Stay away!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Nice hotel, very simple and wild. We got a room on the second floor with our balcony see view. It was spectacular sunset every day. The service in the hotel is very standard. Close to the hotel we had a breakfast in a local coffee shop. Guys if you go there please keep Koh Tao clean..it is tiny island with no drinking water. So all the water they have comes from rain seasons.And drinking water of course comes from main land.
Generally do not expect much of a service from Big Fish, but it is nice place to stay and take rest from every days routine.

Room Tip: the best room in front of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alijan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel is nice located in Chalok beach, walking distance to some bars, restaurants & diving schools. The price of the room is ok (in low season we paid 1000b). However the room has never been cleaned. I agree what other people are writing about the owner. The lady is really tricky with the prices of any additional services (loundry- we paid 60 bahts/kg, while every else it was 40bahts, the trip to Krabi was about 300bahts more expensive than in other agencies). The restaurant is expensive and not good (we had there breakfast only once) The funniest thing happened to us on the last da. We had to check out on 10am, but our bout was leaving at 9pm, so we asked the reception to leave there our bags (it was for free :-) ) & we asked for possibility to shower. The price was ok, 50 bahts/ person...but later it turned ou that the price didn't include towels....not a big money, but leaves some bad impression...

Room Tip: Generally it is ok to stay in Big Fish for sake of good location, however try to avoid any additiona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 700Jezabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.3 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
537 reviews
2.0 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 50 in Koh Tao
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
1.7 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Bubble Bungalow
Bubble Bungalow
#60 of 79 in Koh Tao
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Dive Resort

Address: Chalok Baan Kao Bay, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: £17 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Fish Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Fish Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing