We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You pay for what you get”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Arriving on Koh Tao with no accommodation booked, we got lured to a resort on the far side of the island (from the ferry stop) with the promise of a free taxi ride to check out the resort. When we got there the resort wasn't much chop after a storm had come through the night before. The taxi driver then drove us to Freedom Beach Resort. We took the last Family Sea Front Room available. The room was very basic. A double bed and two singles; shower; air con and TV. The mattresses were hard and the pillows were lacking. Each bed was only given a light sarong type sheet to cover. For the price we paid, we didn't expect much more. We spent of time out and about. However, the beach and the views are spectacular! The staff were friendly enough. It is a very quiet resort. If you are looking for somewhere with a pool, gym etc then this is not your place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    60
    56
    58
    83
See reviews for
29
131
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in a Sunset Sea View bungalow for four nights in August/September and I can't recommend this resort highly enough. The bungalow was VERY reasonably priced, clean and air conditioned and was an absolutely divine spot to catch the sunset with a book and beer in hand.

The staff here are just lovely, in the main restaurant/bar or at the bar at the end of the second beach/cove in particular. Very laid back yet attentive to your needs, even to the point of signalling you whether you wanted a beer when paddling around in the water!

The food was fabulous: non-Westernised Thai, fresh and delicious and with minimal a wait.

One of my highlights of three weeks in Thailand covering 5 star resorts through to basic bungalows in Phuket, Koh Samui, Koh Phangan and Koh Tao.

Can't wait for the day to return and hopefully catch up and swap reggae tunes with the bar staff!

Room Tip: The Sea View Bungalows are fairly basic but still air conditioned and had arguably the best view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The Good:
Staff in Restaraunt really lovely
Food was good/fairly priced
views to die for
quiet, peaceful and I think good location
Laundry was done so nice :) best so far though more expensive
Free taxi service to pier twice a day
Good internet in restaraunt

The Bad: (bearing in mind we didn't complain about anything, so I can't fault service)
Room not sealed that well (wooden bungalow) - Being picky too many bugs (really not that many!!)
Long old walk to bungalows (it killed me- weak!!)
Bungalow very basic - too highly priced for what it was
Couldn't lock door from inside so had to tie a piece of string from the door to our fan pole!

Basically, not the best in terms of value for money...... not terrible though

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizardoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2011

if you are looking for a beautifull view and calm area to stay in ko tao this is the place.
they have great prices. hot water a/c great lovely stuff.
the best food in their restorant.
we've enjoyed the great water tempratore at the beach

I think it's the best place to stay in Ko tao.
we took the beach view villa and it was amazing to see the sunset from our balcony.
I'll defenately come back here...
warmly recommanded

Room Tip: the rooms that are most farther from the restorant since they have the best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yarit o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We reached koh tao and had no confirmed hotel bookings. Being high season we didnt get rooms any where which were well priced and had access to the beach. We walked for a good 2 hours before we reached freedom beach resort. Its far from the noise but has a spectacular private beach. The rooms were quite basic but clean and had a great view with a balcony. They have a great restaurant with amazing Thai food. The staff is very helpful. They arranged a snorkelling trip for us in 10 min and we didnt leave the breakfast table. The boatman they organized was very good and knew all the great spots off the tourist trail for snorkelling. I have his number and will surely call him for my next visit. The hotel is secluded and you should choose this only if you want a nice quiet time. If you want to visit bars etc then this might not be the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rishi_des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of a 6 month RTW trip, beautiful views, average room ( more expensive than others of like for like) major factor was that we went out for dinner & our bungalow was ransacked & our possessions stolen. There was no signs of forced entry, all doors & windows locked- how did they get in? The door is locked by padlock & we think a spare key was used. We alerted night staff who told us to go to bed, the next day no one said sorry or broached the subject with us! I could go on but fact is we have had hundreds of pounds worth of valuables stolen & 6 months of pictures gone. Stay here at your own risk!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Teawhitewithone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

When I say "pay for the location" I don't mean it's in the center of everything going on. Just the opposite. We wanted peace and quiet for a weekend and this was great.

My husband and I are teachers in Thailand and went to Koh Tao for a 4 day weekend with a friend. This place was suggested to us by a Thai woman who is from Koh Tao because of it's location. It is about a 10 minute drive from the ferry port, and not near the main dive/party strip. While this may be a downside for some, it was just what we wanted. Taxi rides are 100 baht each way so we opted to rent motorbikes for 150 a day since we'd have to go back and forth into town. Definitely do this if you are a good rider.

We got the most basic bungalow that they offer. Just a bed and a bathroom with a cold shower. Nothing spectacular, but it was clean. The amazing part of it was that it was raised up and we had a deck looking over the bay that it is situated on. They have their own beach and if you are willing to splurge, or if you have a big group, you can get a nicer/bigger bungalow almost on the water.

OK snorkeling right off the beach. Restaurant was decent although Koh Tao has some of the best western food we've had in Thailand (when you live here, that's what you want when you go on vacation).

We stayed here for 3 of our 4 nights and then decided to ditch the motorbikes and stay our last night on the main strip so we could check out the town. There are other restaurants within a few minutes walking on the beach (farther if you take the road), so if you don't mind getting a motorbike or paying for a taxi every time you want to go to town, then definitely check this place out. On a final note, they do offer a free morning taxi to take you back to the docks.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmberRiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
JP Resort
JP Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#30 of 49 in Koh Tao
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort

Property: Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort
Address: 20 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Freedom Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the last quiet beaches on Koh Tao. Friendly family atmosphere. Two private bays. Reasonable priced accommodation. well maintained, comfortable bungalows and friendly and attentive staff hopes to make your holiday an unforgettable and carefree time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing