We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort
Ranked #47 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The room was not great accept for the tiles...it was clean but thats it...curtains didnt fit and were "fixed" with tape.
bathroom too small...one of those places where you shower and use the toilet at thesame time....not convenient at all...
It is quite a walk from town uphill.
Staff seemed quite uninterested.
I moved to another place soon....
Beach is nice, food too.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Hanneke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

Even if the location is perfect with unforgettable view and beautiful beach, I do not reccomend this place. Staff, especially lady at the reception desk was extremely rude, arrogant and aggressive and had no idea about the customer service. Not helpfull at all. We booked online 2 bungalowas for 4 people. The day we arrived they did not have the reservation we made. They had reservation for 1 bungalow and 2 people only. Apart of the fact that we had a booking confirmation and we have been charged already for the whole stay, they had no idea how to solve this problem. After a HUGE argument, they gave us 2nd bungalow which we had to change after 2 days...

Rooms OK, clean but not finished.
Tasty food, nice drinks.

Tu sum up: This place is not worth the price we paid. Looks like noone cares what is going on there. I DO NOT recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MilenaH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We found this resort on a whim and decided to take it for 3 nights. Its a little ways from the town center about 3 km but up and down some very big hills... its an island I guess. We got a very nice bungalow up from the beach from $30 a night which seemed very fare to us. The bathroom however was smelly and there isn't any internet in the rooms. The staff seemed to be rather short at times and only interested in taking your money, rather then giving you a nice experience worth paying for.. The beach was spectacular, highly recommend renting a snorkel set and going for a swim. All together we enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We got to the resort for our honeymoon because we wanted agood quite place with great view and great food and mandatory request is that the room has to be clean... as soon as we got to the room which takes alot of up and downs and not suitable for people with dissabilities, when we got to the room it was full of ants the door nobs where rusty and the room asnt been clean for what seems to be along time (bird craap and stuff) . When we told about the ants they gave us abug spray and wanted us to use it(?!)... the day after we told about it to the manager who said that all the rooms has ant and its ok because its a resort (?!) We asked othet friends in the near by Ok bongalo and they said there are no ants.
.. the Thai food was ok the western food not( do not eat the burger its insulting... the view is great, and so is the Snorkling... yet the other hotels around has better price better view and much better service.. i dont reccomand to go to this hotel. I ADDED FEW PICTURES.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zivn6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend were originally staying at the top of the island and found this hotel when we visited freedom beach to see the amazing view. We liked the look of this hotel so decided to move from our hotel to this one. The only room they had left was one of their more expensive rooms at £50 per night. It was slightly over out budget but was impressed with the views and room itself.
We dropped our bags in the room and went on a day trip. We returned later that day to the most awful smell in the room, it was so overwhelming I couldn't stand to be in there.
We reported the problem to the guy at reception who extremely ride and dismissive! We asked if he could move us but couldn't as the hotel was full! He then sprayed some air freshener in the room and said the problem was sorted! We asked for a discount to which he refused. He also refused to give us a refund. After an hour of arguing he refunded us for the room but left us stranded with nowhere to stay! Both men in duty were extremely rude, arrogant and aggressive to both me and my boyfriend. I wouldn't stay here if they paid me! I recommend a visit to freedom beach but do not waste ur money and stay here!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StefanieDaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I booked a bungalow with bathroom by a smartphone app and seems that i did a very good deal.
The price was really good, just 7€ per night per person and the position of the room was just in front of the garden immediately above the beach.
The cleanliness of the room was not the best but towels and bed sheets were ok and i would not say that the place was dirty. In general i thought that this is absolutely acceptable by looking at the price.
The place is really good and the beach i think is one of the best of the entire island.
The staff is ok and in general polite. I would recommend this resort to all easy people. I don't know about rooms with higher price and best position.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzssound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

we stayed at Freedom beach for two nights in our beach hut overlooking the sea. The view was amazing. The room a good size with a balcany around the hut. the huts are set away from each other up hills overlooking the bay. Lynn and Sam warwick

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwarwick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#13 of 50 in Koh Tao
480 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
704 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#31 of 50 in Koh Tao
289 reviews
2.6 mi away
Asia Divers Resort
Asia Divers Resort
#26 of 50 in Koh Tao
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort

Address: 20 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Freedom Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: £17 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the last quiet beaches on Koh Tao. Friendly family atmosphere. Two private bays. Reasonable priced accommodation. well maintained, comfortable bungalows and friendly and attentive staff hopes to make your holiday an unforgettable and carefree time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing