We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location for snorkelling BUT …”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort
Ranked #46 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Brilliant location for snorkelling BUT …”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

the rooms are extremely average. Our room was right on the beach, but the room left a lot to be desired. No sheet on the bed (had to ask, twice), they only clean the room every alternate day, holes in the wall, bathroom is very bad state (rotting wood, etc.), no beach towels provided, etc. Felt our bungalow was dirty and tacky. The staff don't make any effort at all, and the reception/eating area is very noisy. However, if you want a brilliant location for snorkelling - you have got it at Freedom Beach. So we managed to endure two nights here, but then moved on to a nicer & cleaner & quieter resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbowenpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    60
    55
    58
    83
See reviews for
29
130
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Don't get attracted by any low price, this is just a HUGE RIP OFF for what it is. Bungalows are dirty and far before reconstruction, resort also stupidly dirty and full of concrete, staff at the counter rude and overlooking. Just don't understand how they can still offer it. Please don't spend any minute thinking this could be your next place to stay. We booked 3 nights and just ran away the morning after we arrived. SHAME ON OWNER!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jiri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The room was not great accept for the tiles...it was clean but thats it...curtains didnt fit and were "fixed" with tape.
bathroom too small...one of those places where you shower and use the toilet at thesame time....not convenient at all...
It is quite a walk from town uphill.
Staff seemed quite uninterested.
I moved to another place soon....
Beach is nice, food too.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanneke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Even if the location is perfect with unforgettable view and beautiful beach, I do not reccomend this place. Staff, especially lady at the reception desk was extremely rude, arrogant and aggressive and had no idea about the customer service. Not helpfull at all. We booked online 2 bungalowas for 4 people. The day we arrived they did not have the reservation we made. They had reservation for 1 bungalow and 2 people only. Apart of the fact that we had a booking confirmation and we have been charged already for the whole stay, they had no idea how to solve this problem. After a HUGE argument, they gave us 2nd bungalow which we had to change after 2 days...

Rooms OK, clean but not finished.
Tasty food, nice drinks.

Tu sum up: This place is not worth the price we paid. Looks like noone cares what is going on there. I DO NOT recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilenaH89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We found this resort on a whim and decided to take it for 3 nights. Its a little ways from the town center about 3 km but up and down some very big hills... its an island I guess. We got a very nice bungalow up from the beach from $30 a night which seemed very fare to us. The bathroom however was smelly and there isn't any internet in the rooms. The staff seemed to be rather short at times and only interested in taking your money, rather then giving you a nice experience worth paying for.. The beach was spectacular, highly recommend renting a snorkel set and going for a swim. All together we enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We got to the resort for our honeymoon because we wanted agood quite place with great view and great food and mandatory request is that the room has to be clean... as soon as we got to the room which takes alot of up and downs and not suitable for people with dissabilities, when we got to the room it was full of ants the door nobs where rusty and the room asnt been clean for what seems to be along time (bird craap and stuff) . When we told about the ants they gave us abug spray and wanted us to use it(?!)... the day after we told about it to the manager who said that all the rooms has ant and its ok because its a resort (?!) We asked othet friends in the near by Ok bongalo and they said there are no ants.
.. the Thai food was ok the western food not( do not eat the burger its insulting... the view is great, and so is the Snorkling... yet the other hotels around has better price better view and much better service.. i dont reccomand to go to this hotel. I ADDED FEW PICTURES.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zivn6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend were originally staying at the top of the island and found this hotel when we visited freedom beach to see the amazing view. We liked the look of this hotel so decided to move from our hotel to this one. The only room they had left was one of their more expensive rooms at £50 per night. It was slightly over out budget but was impressed with the views and room itself.
We dropped our bags in the room and went on a day trip. We returned later that day to the most awful smell in the room, it was so overwhelming I couldn't stand to be in there.
We reported the problem to the guy at reception who extremely ride and dismissive! We asked if he could move us but couldn't as the hotel was full! He then sprayed some air freshener in the room and said the problem was sorted! We asked for a discount to which he refused. He also refused to give us a refund. After an hour of arguing he refunded us for the room but left us stranded with nowhere to stay! Both men in duty were extremely rude, arrogant and aggressive to both me and my boyfriend. I wouldn't stay here if they paid me! I recommend a visit to freedom beach but do not waste ur money and stay here!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanieDaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#32 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.4 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.6 mi away
Asia Divers Resort
Asia Divers Resort
#23 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ko Tao Resort
Ko Tao Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort

Property: Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort
Address: 20 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand (Formerly Freedom Beach Resort)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the last quiet beaches on Koh Tao. Friendly family atmosphere. Two private bays. Reasonable priced accommodation. well maintained, comfortable bungalows and friendly and attentive staff hopes to make your holiday an unforgettable and carefree time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taatoh Resort & Freedom Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Freedom Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing