We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple place fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Family Tanote Bay Resort
Ranked #54 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Simple place fantastic location”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Great location on Tanote bay... Rather simple rooms ... Not for those searching for comforts ... Nice hammocks on each room veranda and perfect view. Restaurant is simple and decent value. If you wish your room to be cleaned daily you have to ask for it. Two dive ships on the same beach. Taxi service to Mae Had for 100 baht pp and 150 to Sairee

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianni966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    51
    32
    28
    31
See reviews for
25
79
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Had bungalow no. 14 for 800 baht a day (high season)
Overall very clean although they don't clean the rooms during your stay - pretty sure they do nowhere if you rent a bungalow. Disagree with previous reviews on the service. Very nice young staff who play the guitar in the evening. Sure they sit around if there is nothing to do and temperatures are above 30 degrees. The only reason i give that place an average rating is because the mirror in my bathroom was pretty disgusting. A woman would have passed on that. Try to get another bungalow (they also appear nicer from the outside) Also the food was a little more expensive and below average. Go somewhere else for dinner.
In general it is more a place for couples as there is nothing going on at night. However no problem to go with the scooter at nite to chalock or sari beach (20-25 min). The roads are better than previously described here (i managed drunk and without regularly going by scooter). If you want to see bad roads drive to mango bay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabiangermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We went to saree beach first and was disgusted by the sewage and hoards of backpackers.
In low season, we were charged 600 bht instead of 800. The room had a fan and balcony- basic but adequate.
Food was a bit dodgy, both my wife and I got food positioning from here.
The bay and snorkelling was amazing, beautiful!!
The staff were generally cool, manager was really odd though.
Overall, I would recommend it however be prepared for expense but then that koh tao.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruadhanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

After our stay at " Freedom beach" with very bad hospitality we decide to move the place we want to TANOE BAY and stay in "Family Tanoe bay" managing by Myanmar citizen. Room 205 is really great with a beautiful view and gorgeous garden with good smell a flower . The hotel staff are very helpful and smiling always!

Thank you very much and hope to come back again in 4 months.

Room Tip: The best room for the beautiful view for me is 203, 205, 206, 207 and the one behing 204 is not yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Tanote family Bay is locates on one of the most beautiful spots in Thailand, but the accomodation is horrific!

It's all about earning your Bahts, not about customerservice. My room was never cleaned, I didn't have toiletpaper, my bed was dirty and had bugs :(, the reception wouldn't help me plan for my next trip, the restaurant was dirty and sticky, the waiters were angry if you wanted to order anything. If you ask for service the general answer is: 'that is not our problem!'

When I checked out, they told me I had to pay cash. I couldn't pay with creditcard. And a couple that was checking out with me couldn't pay cash, they sweared at them, wouldn't help them to get to an ATM and send them away by foot. (The pier is about 7 km's away over a very bad road.)

But the view is stunning!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackinthebox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Sattledt, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2013

found the Tanote Family Bay Resort over the Calypso DiveBase situated on the Beach nearby, where greeted by friendly Staff and brought to a clean bungalow, and enjoyed our meals (although they are a bit more expensive,but my opinion tastier than others on the beach) in the Tanote Restaurant.
Stayed in a Bungalow with Fan, and an awsome view from the hammock on the terace. Rooms are cleaned and sheets changed on request (worked perfectly).
great diving with the Calypso guys, relaxed and "off the beaten track"

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zulu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thun
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

On Kho Tao we spent three nights at Family Tanote Bay. The bungalows are situated on the rocks in one corner of the bay, where you have a nice view on the beach and the sea. The bungalow is with 1500.- BATH per night very expensive. There is no room service in this price included and for toilet paper you have to ask separately. Even you have air-condition, the price is not justified. The owners (a family) is very lazy and all the time hanging around in the restaurant, playing with their i-phone and i-pad.. The only men working are the Burmese people in the background. The food in the restaurant is good, but expensive. There is a diving school (Calypso) next to the bungalows. You get 20% on the price for the bungalows, when you go diving with Calypso (a very good diving school!). We were diving twice with Calypso, but the owners of Family Tanote Bay didn't wanted to give us the 20% reduction on the price of the bungalow! At the departure, we wanted to pay by credit card (what should be possible corresponding to booking.com) but they only accepted cash (this would be new since 2013, because they had lost 2 Million BATH, when people were paying with credit card, they said...) Finally, we were looking forward on our departure from Family Tanote Bay...unfortunately they don't know what a friendly and good hospitality is.

On Kho Phangan we fortunately learned at Sabai Beach Resort, where the owning family is very nice and friendly and the prices are not so expensive, that it could be different.
Anyway, if you want to go to Tanote Bay for diving (what we can recommend), there are other resorts like Poseidon, that would be the better choice than Family Tanote Bay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipp b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
#37 of 139 in Koh Tao
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#71 of 139 in Koh Tao
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Diamond Beach Bungalows
Diamond Beach Bungalows
#90 of 139 in Koh Tao
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanote Villa Hill
Tanote Villa Hill
#22 of 77 in Koh Tao
228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Poseidon Resort
Poseidon Resort
#69 of 139 in Koh Tao
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Tanote Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Tanote Bay Resort

Property: Family Tanote Bay Resort
Address: 40/1 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Family Tanote Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Family Tanote Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Tanote Bay Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing