We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average, overpriced, bad bad shower!”

Narakaan Boutique Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Narakaan Boutique Hotel
Ranked #50 of 74 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average, overpriced, bad bad shower!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Don't get me wrong, the hotel is in a great location but you pay for it.
We had a sea view room with a good view of the beach, but that's where the pros end. The pillows are as hard as rock, just a bit softer than the bed.
The shower pressure was temperamental at best, the basin didn't have a U-bend in the drain, which meant we got a raw sewerage smell constantly emanating from the basin. Not good first thing in the morning when you're brushing your teeth.
The staff didn't seem to want to know you after taking you money at the beginning of our stay which I thought was strange.
They did clean the room regularly, but they really didn't need to because they used some kind of industrial bleach which left the room stinking for at least half the day.
The breakfast is a joke, after the first day we found a lovely coffee shop just outside the door where you can sit and watch the world go by.
All in all, an average hotel priced as a resort. Visit if you're feeling generous!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
isle of man
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had also read the reviews on here and were unsure what we were going to find! But were very pleasantly surprised,we had a seaview room which was well worth the extra price,lovely balcony to sit on and watch the sunsets. Room cleaned daily, well furnished and hot shower. Though the staff didn't fuss over your every move (as in some of the other hotels which we found a little too much) they were helpful when we asked for anything.We found the little cafe downstairs on the beach where you have breakfast to be really relaxed, evening meals there and beers anytime were also excellent and there was a very relaxed atmosphere. It was very much a family run business and this made it quite a personal touch. The massage /manicure family run business attached was great and so cheap! Would definitely recommend and couldn't be nearer to all facilities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is absolutely not what you see on the website. The manager doesn t want to clean the room.
Breakfast is a joke 2 eggs and 1 toast.
The toilet is not separated with the shower. The shower doesn t work at all.
This hotel is extremely expensive for the prestation.
Do not go to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

At the beginning of our honeymoon we stayed at Narakaan for 5 nights. We had a room on the street and not seafront but it was very spacious, clean and welcoming. Beds were fine, bathroom was OK and breakfast was also nice. There is free wifi for guests.
The only one drawback consists in a little overpricing: 2.000THB for that kind of accomodation in Koh Tao are a little bit too much but, overall, not crazy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristiano_ITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I'm not entirely sure why there are so many bad reviews of this place....

I booked 5 nights here and I thought it was great. I thought the staff were friendly, the location is awesome - on the beach, and further up Sairee to be away from the really crazy bars, but close enough to be in walking distance to everything - good facilites, good rooms.

People are saying it's not value for money - I paid 2200B a night and I think that's fine. I got a huge, clean room, TV, double bed, safe, fridge and bathroom with a hot shower. You would be pretty pushed to find all of that for a better price in Ko Tao that's on the beach.

Maybe I was overly impressed because I came to this hotel from an attic dorm room in Koh Phangan where every night at least 1 person threw up or had sex in the dorm. Maybe others were expecting a 5 star hotel. It's a simple hotel, nice, clean, affordable. Would recommend to anyone with a midrange budget.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubble132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Having read the other reviews on this site I was quite close to cancelling my reservation but I have to say I',m so glad I didn't.

I paid the extra 500 Bhat for a deluxe sea view room and I was really pleased I did - to wake up to that view each day really was stunning and the sunsets were out of this world. I had no issues with the noise (again this may be related to be on the beach side of the hotel).

The room was large, clean and exactly as it appears on the website. It's also in the perfect location on Sairee beach.

I had friends staying at a variety of resorts. Some stayed in decent, simple air con rooms for 1/3 the price but others paid much the same for fancier resorts but with smaller rooms and without the view.

I have recommeded this place to friends but pay the extra for the view!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJM_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S.A
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

This place is the worst place i have ever been to, we arrived and took one look at the rooms and bathrooms and left, there is no way i would stay in a dump like that. It smelt like a hospital and the rooms where ugly, the bathrooms were disgusting. I cannot belive that people can be such thieves trying to charge for this dump. They did not give us back our deposit so i hope they will loose all their business because people like this should not run a business.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,086 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narakaan Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narakaan Boutique Hotel

Property: Narakaan Boutique Hotel
Address: 3/40-43 Moo.1 ,Koh Tao | Aumpher Koh Phangan,Suratthani, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Narakaan Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing