We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Regal Resort
Ranked #48 of 74 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed on Koh Tao for 2 nights as part of a month long trip to Thailand. We stayed at the Regal resort and found it to be a very pleasant stay. Having got a good deal on price online, whilst in Koh Tao, we checked in and were very impressed by the rooms (we had opted for superior).

The bathroom was lovely, with a glass panel between it and the bedroom. The balcony was a pleasure to sit on and we had a beautiful view of both pool and sea. The bed was also very comfy!!

The pool was freezing but still enjoyable and the location was pretty good. We took a short boat taxi to the bars etc but could be walked although roads potentially dangerous.
There is a quiter area near the port with shops, bars and restaurants too.

I am shocked on my return that there has been such bad reviews about this place. Admittedly not the best hotel I've ever stayed in but for the money we paid I thought it was terrific value and really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: go for superior/pool view - with a pool view you will also get sea view so no need to pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren90_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    65
    60
    41
    28
See reviews for
26
96
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We only stayed for a night TBH we ended up here via Crystal Diving as they were ful and have an arrangement with the resort for their dive customers wanting a bit more luxury.

From the outside the rooms look nicer than they are a pretty pool tho n as I say balconies look nice from poolside however maybe we were unlucky we were meant to get a garden view room but all I could see was a staff block some washing on a line and a building site the place simply has zero gardens well certainly not as I write this in Jan 2012 n sandbags as walls around it and this is peak season

Room was clean AC was cool furnishings ok if a lil tired halls not v nice

Would not stay again especially not at 2250 THB a night

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparxta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Nice pools and pretty good location between Mae Haad and Sairee. The rooms doesn't offer anything special, which also is pretty much what you can say about the place as a whole.

Some paint and restoring/refurbishing wouldn't hurt either... at all.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legendinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

we stayed here in september there was 9 of us all together we were to stay for three nights but checked out after two. boh morning we were woke at 8.30 from noisey staff shouting at each other while they cleaned rooms(pulling furniture back and fort).resturant was a diaster as what a few was us order was not what we got and when we told them they were not happy as if it was our fault....it then took another half hour before we got our food. The bar i the hotel opend for 2 hours in the evening which was so sill.y as we would have to get a taxi to a nearby pub.I dont think i would eer stay here again

Room Tip: Massage area was under constrution whil we stayed here but this was not stated on there wedsite when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieandpaulIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

The beach bungalow's dividing walls have large gaps, which allows your neighbours and yourselves to hear the slightest noise.
The beach was filthy from rubbish being washed up from the ferry port, which is just 5 mins walk down the beach.
There was not enough sun loungers, only 8 for the whole hotel.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were booked in for two weeks, but checked out after one night.

Room Tip: Don't stay in beach bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here during august 2011 before the full moon party. The hotel is absolutely wonderful, the rooms are lovely, comfortable beds, beautiful large, clean and spacious bathrooms. The inifinity pool is amazing, and the views are great, right on the beach overlooking the sea! The hotel is a 10 minutes walk down into the main town, with shops, bars, and of course the famous lady boy show, a must see for anyone visiting! Would definitely return to the hotel and would 100% recommend to anyone visiting the island. The staff are helpful and friendly! Wish i was back relaxing on the beach!!!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

My friends and I went to Koh Tao and stay at the hotel with beach front for 3 nights during the 2 weeks vacation in Thailand. This place is one of the best hotels we stayed in the trip. Staffs are very friendly and helpful with good service. Thai food at the restaurant is real good and very tasty. The most wonderful part is the swimming pool which make our trip to be the greatest one. We also tried the massage and foot scrub there...very good for relaxation. You should try !

Room Tip: Ask for pool view or ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallykuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Beach Club
Koh Tao Beach Club
#14 of 137 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simple Life Talay & Divers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clear View Resort
Clear View Resort
#34 of 74 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ananda Villa
Ananda Villa
#12 of 137 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Regal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Regal Resort

Property: Koh Tao Regal Resort
Address: 7/1 M2, Mae Haad, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Regal Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Regal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Regal Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing