We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place with nice pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Regal Resort
Ranked #44 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at Regal, while diving with Crystal Dive. They are apparently owned by the same owner, hence the ease of coordination and booking. The booking was very efficiently done via email (great service from Lee), and we were picked up from the pier. The rooms are decent, I wouldn't call them luxurious, but compared to the rest of the housing in that stretch, Regal are probably one of the newest resorts. Pool is very nice, and staff are helpful. Only minor issue is that diving with Crystal means you have to be at the dive shop ( a 5 minute walk away along the beach) at 7am, and Regal only starts breakfast (ie someone opens the kitchen) at 630am. One would figure that with the same operator, better coordination would be possible, so hopefully someone pays attention to this. Other than that, a pleasant stay. Location is good enough, a short walk to the main village where there is plentiful options for food and grocery.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Relakjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel twice during my trip to Koh Tao and despite a discount the second time around - they could still offer better value for their room rates. I wouldn’t use the word ‘luxury’ to describe this place, but it was nice enough and has potential. They do, however, have the best swimming pool on that side of the island.

PROS:
Good-sized swimming pools with impressive views of the sunset
Decent mattress (for Thailand)
In-between Mae Haad and Sairee, away from the bustle but close enough to stroll to either in 5 minutes
Helpful reception and hotel staff

CONS:
Two cockroaches in room one night (to be fair, they dealt with this quickly)
Very noisy in the mornings from 6am, mostly cleaners banging around
Rooms were cleaned daily, but not dusted –nice dust blizzard when aircon comes on!
Restaurant food - limited in choice, many items on menu were never available

If they overhauled the menu to be more competitive with other resorts along the same area and practiced some noise control at the crack of dawn, this hotel could be tons better. Having said that, the staff were great and well-informed - handy if you're new to the island.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dilsdidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Met our expectations based on other Tripadvisor reviews. It is 300m walk along the beach to the piers. Hotel provide free transport to/from pier - but for some reason on arrival we missed this point and walkede. We stayed for 6 nights April 6th-12th, family of 6 in 3 rooms (not facing the pools). The rooms were fine for us - although they are a little dilapidated and in need of an upgrade. Staff were friendly and helpful - and fixed things in our room promptly: light bulbs, shower head spray etc. No safety deposit boxes in the room so we used the one at reception. WIFI was free and worked OK once computers had been adjusted by the staff to connect. Did not eat or drink in the hotel.

Room Tip: non pool rooms on higher floors are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandBettyBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel is much better than the acomodations provided by Crystal Dive. The hotel is in good shape and next to the dive center. The pool is big and its by the beach. I recomend to stay here and dive with Crystal dive. Ivan, Amy and Josh are very good at what they do and they will make sure you have a safe dive

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seabass305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Did my PADI open water diving course at Crystal Dive and opted to stay here for 5 nights. I need my living comfort as I really cannot take the condition of the lodging provided by Crystal Dive. Less than 5 minutes walk to Crystal Dive each day. It was a low peak season and we got to stay in the Pool View room, paid about Baht 2000 per night. Nice size with large bathroom and the balcony opens to the pool. No breakfast but free wifi and daily room service. The pool is nice and it opens until 9pm. I also tried the massage across from the pool, superb for the price that I paid. Did not try the food at the cafes so can't comment. Overall, I felt I got what I paid for, not luxurious in any sense, just comfort and decent amenities. I thought the hotel next door Amerset or something seems more romantic and interesting. But then I came to learn diving not to chill and enjoy the resort.

Room Tip: Ask for the ground floor rooms facing the pool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kleeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I booked our stay via their website which was easy enough. You email them the dates and room type you would like and they comeback straight away with conformation of availability along with a link to the payment site. Your payment gets dealt with via Crystal Dive. This worked very smoothly for us.

We stayed in a superior room (without pool view) for 1900 bht per night. The room consisted of a comfortable double bed, aircon, TV, fridge with 3 bottles of water per day, towels including separate towels for the pool/beach, private bathroom with hot water shower, tea and coffee, hairdryer, and a balcony. The rooms get cleaned each day. Our room didn’t have a view of the pool, these rooms cost more. However, the rooms with pool views don’t get the sun on the balcony whereas the rooms without pool views do, our balcony had the sun from around 2pm thru 6pm, which made it a nice place just to sit for a few hours in peace and quiet if you wanted to.

The resort has a number of pools, which are indeed the best on Koh Tao, although most days a couple of them are in use by Crystal Dive school. Alongside the pools are sun loungers although these get taken pretty quick each day however, the resort faces onto Mae Haad beach plus Sairee beach is only a 10 min walk away.

We didn’t use the restaurant or have breakfast included in the cost of our room so cannot comment on these.

As per commented in a couple of the other reviews the cleaners do start early (around 8.30am) and can drag furniture across the tiled floors making noise however, this is also true of the guests which we found to do the same either late at night or before the cleaners got to work.

Overall, we found this to be a good choice for accommodation on Koh Tao and worth a visit.

Room Tip: If you are chossing a superior room go for one without a pool view..you get the sun on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truthtelleruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at Regal Resort for 6 nights i february 2012. Beeing a family with two adults, one six years old and one one year old kids, we were offered a familyroom. It was two large rooms with an opening in between, and a big bathroom inside + a toilet and bathtub out on the terrasse. It was all new and stylish, two flatscreens and cofee/tee-makers (great for making a children milkbottle). The price was 3000 bath per night, but we got a deal of 2500 if we stayed a week. The room was cleaned everyday, and two sets of towels. The resort has the best pool in Koh Tao, and they also have a swimschool witch our 6 year old participated in.

What's so lovely about Koh Tao, is that everything is in walking-distance, and the Regal is situated right between Mae Hat and Sairee. There's a nice path for morning runs, even with a joggerstroller, and mums yogaclasses are just a 20 min stroll away.

So, we really would recommend this place if you are planning to go to Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moccadocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.1 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
475 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,289 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Regal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Regal Resort

Address: 7/1 M2, Mae Haad, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: £33 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Regal Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Koh Tao Regal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Regal Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing