We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cheap place to stay, clean but authentic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koh Tao Regal Resort
Ranked #46 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great cheap place to stay, clean but authentic”
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

800bht per night to stay in a lodge (no air con but we didnt find it too hot for this time of year) clean, nicer than staying in a western style hotel room. Close to the ferry point and town centre. Great scuba diving and snorkelling on koh tao, a must while you are here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimthenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    65
    61
    41
    28
See reviews for
26
97
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheffiled
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed as a couple (in our 50’s) at the Regal Resort, Mae Haad, Koh Tao from 23 December 2012 to 10 January 2013.
We were met at the pier by a hotel 4 x 4 pickup, and transferred with other guests to the hotel, about 5 minutes drive away. Check in was quite quick, and our room was ready when we got in. We had a superior pool view room on the first floor. This had a double bed, fridge, TV, DVD player, aircon, hairdryer, kettle plus tea and coffee balcony, en-suite bathroom with hot water, plus we were provided with complimentary drinking water and showering products each day. We asked for a fan in addition, and the staff went out and bought us a brand new one within an hour!
The maintenance chap repaired a minor plumbing problem within an hour of reporting it, although he could not do anything with the non-working bedside lights, as he said he could not get replacement bulbs on the island.
The room was cleaned daily and really was spotless, our only problem was operating the electronic door lock, but the staff were very happy to help.
The pools are very nice, and the hard-working maintenance man cleans the pool twice a day.
We ate in the restaurant a couple of times, but found it a little expensive and ate locally.
Mae Haad can be accessed via a block paved path, past the police station, or a nicer (and quicker) route is via the beach – about 5 minute walk away. We were diving with Crystal Divers so just walked along the beach. Just for the record, it is a pleasant walk along the block paved path in the other direction to Sairee Beach, about 15mins to the southern end.
We were not disturbed by any noise, both from inside and outside the hotel, even though the hotel was pretty full over Christmas and New Year.
Overall a really nice place, right on the beach, with probably the best swimming pool in the area. Would we return? Yes we would.

Room Tip: the pool view rooms have the best view - the other side of the hotel overlooks a patch of rough grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordiediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here after moving from crystal dive resorts (terrible) beach bungalows. Crystal dive company owns this hotel and they made the transfer quick and painless.

We paid 1500B a night which was about right for the time of year and hotel accomodation but the service we received was exemplary.

I had a nasty accident while in koh tao and the hotel arranged for my transport to the medical centre and helped gf with insurance. Receptionist even offered her private mobile. The staff also helped us arrange onward travel arrangements by phoning other hotels and speaking in Thai.

The hotel is right on beach and yes it is still getting built in part but you don't really notice it. The pool is great and the bar and spa offer great services. I didn't try the restaraunt.

Minor power cuts were frequent but this is normal on koh tao I believe.

Our room was cleaned daily and I have no complaints.

Overall I would certainly return to this hotel. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beattle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in December. Looking at the pictures and location we thought it seemed ok. We were wrong. The rooms are dirty, seems as though they have not been cleaned properly in a long time. There is dirt over everything and cockroaches in the bathroom crawling all over our toiletries. The pool is nice enough with a view of the ocean, but the grounds are a mess and you feel like you are sitting in a construction site. Our experience with the staff was basically non existent. They never say hello, never offer advice or tips, they just look at you and grunt. A family must run and live at the hotel because the are continually using the reception area as their living room and we felt very uncomfortable walking through each day. The location is ok, a bit away from the main town. They told us it was a 5 minute walk, it is actually more like 20 and not very well lit at night. This place has potential, but it seems the owners just don't care enough to make small improvements to make their guests stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you do stay, choose an ocean view room, the rest of the rooms are in a dark and long grotty hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Pompey, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

staff at reception are rude, miserable and unhelpfull. we waited at reception to check in for ages while the staff were on the customer computers watching youtube. the walk to our room set the tone for our stay, the walkways are dark, and the gardens and surrounding areas look like a building site/tip. room cleaners did not change the bed sheets, they simply just made the bed and hoped we wouldnt notice, theres no safe in the rooms, and money went missing from my girlfreinds purse. the building is having work done and there was drilling and banging all hours of the day, so no alarm clock required. me and my girlfreind were caught in a storm one night as we walked back from the main village (about a 20min walk from hotel) staff simply laughed and joked about us because we were wet. power cuts are common also, expect about 3 a day.
now i would expect this from a hostel or a very cheap hotel but in my opinion we payed good money for this hotel and trust me, we wont go back and we urge anybody not to stay here. please dont give them your hard earned cash

Room Tip: dont choose any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We got the room for last minute as we extended our trip for one more day and it was pretty reasonable price, the room was ok and clean but the best thing of this hotel is the beautiful beach and sunset location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillRika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Koh Tao is an amazing place, and our stay was hampered only by this awful hotel. Staff was unfriendly, unhelpful, and generally unavailable. The rooms were OK, except for the terrible shower and the many dead ants that no one had bothered to clean up before we arrived. The beach by the hotel is not very nice, the grounds are scattered with debris, and there was loud construction during the day. The beachside "bar" reported they had "no cocktails." Other promised amenities, such as a fitness center and restaurant, did not exist. The hotel appeared unfinished and the staff/owner seemed to treat it more as their personal residence than a hotel - screaming children were often in the pool, and one night the owner even had an onsite birthday party with loud, amplified music that kept us awake.

It's not worth putting a damper on one of the best places you will ever visit by staying here. If I had to do it over, I would definitely stay right by Sairee Beach in one of the many friendly and nice places I saw there.

Happy travels and definitely go to Koh Tao if you are visiting Thailand- it is the best island I visited!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank femalenomadwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Beach Club
Koh Tao Beach Club
#12 of 139 in Koh Tao
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simple Life Talay & Divers Resort
0.2 mi away
Ananda Villa
Ananda Villa
#15 of 139 in Koh Tao
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Clear View Resort
Clear View Resort
#36 of 77 in Koh Tao
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Regal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Regal Resort

Property: Koh Tao Regal Resort
Address: 7/1 M2, Mae Haad, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Regal Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Tao Regal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Regal Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing